$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BigCityTraveler
Louisville, KY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great place to stay in LA!

I like this hotel because I can walk to the metro train station, 2 blocks. It is clean, quiet and affordable. I wanted to be in the city since I didn't have a car. They are helpful in getting directions to places in LA. It's not a typical hotel in that theres no coke/snack machines. They do have internet access and nice rooms. I walked around and never felt scared in the neighborhood, the heart of Koreatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro train station will get you anywhere in just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Logical D
Business
La Jolla, CA
Dec 9, 2012

Some surprises but overall OK

No blankets on the bed but staff brought a great cotton one. Tub lever failed to block drain - took a shower instead. Garage ceiling height very low. Our Land Rover with roof rack was .5" too high in one spot - big noise but no damage. Lobby is under construction. Street vendors ply their wares in early evening with clown horns and musical ice cream truck music. But this did not run late. Easy walk to 6th Street and restaurants and Korean market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Korean BBQ all over the place. One Pricey Sushi place, too. Buy food at Korean market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
keylo
Business
midwest
Dec 6, 2012

Looking for basic, it's perfect

Value on this hotel was fantastic... The room was nothing fancy but better than most chain hotels I have stayed in. It offered a comfortable bed, Direct TV and free wireless. I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GabeM.
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Nov 17, 2012

Simple, clean, inexpensive.

Just needed to stay one night near the Staples Center. The Shelter was perfect. It was clean, comfortable, had parking, and all at a good rate. If you just need a place to crash, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lexipullin
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 29, 2012

Great clean stay

We loved this boutique hotel. The rooms were nice and clean. Walls were paper thin. The area isn't bad but you're right in Korea Town. Easy access to metro and public transportation. Free parking! Great cheap place to stay highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jana R
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 15, 2012

You get what you pay for....the good and the bad.

The good - It's cheap! The bed was pretty comfortable! The room was clean. The staff was helpful. Free bottles of water coming in and going each day. Free internet and free parking. The channel line up was great. If you don't have a car, it was close to the train station. If you don't want to take the train, taxis are pretty reasonable averaging us about $13 each way in Hollywood. If you are NOT going to spend tons of time in your hotel, it is a value. The bad-It was cheap. The building was very poorly ventilated. My bathroom ceiling had what appeared to be mold and a kind of musty smell throughout the property. The hallways were clean but dark and emergency stairwells were kind of suspect looking. There were no amenities which you don't miss until you don't have them. No pool. No place to lounge. No bar (which there is room for in the very sparsely decorated lobby). The only perks were bath products in the room. I could hear every footsteep made by the guest above me but after a while I got used to it. The hotel is in the middle of a neighborhood with tons of dog walkers; their furry friend's droppings attracted tons of flies while we waited outstide for taxis.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carl P.
Business
New York, NY
Sep 2, 2012

updated, no fuss hotel

This hotel was clearly going through a transition at the time we visitied, but the staff was very attentive, the rooms were clean and modern, and the location was ideal for sightseeing around downtown Los Angeles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Candie23
Business
phoenix, arizona
Aug 27, 2012

Good stay

The staff were nice and friendly, the room needs more decor and there was no ice machine or iron in the room. We felt like we were bugging the staff (although they were nice about it) when we had to ask for ice every few hours. It would be nice to get a machine. Also im glad parking is free because the lot is so small and the cars have to be double and triple parked. I think the room was nice just too plain. Very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skip of the Inland Empire
Business
San Bernardino, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2012

A place to park and take the Metro

It is a good hotel to have a place to park the car and take the Metro. This modern and boutique hotel is in a bit of an antiquated building, but it was served it's purpose. It was clean and staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Child of the Sun
Business
Saint Paul, MN
Aug 6, 2012

Great LA budget hotel

This hotel was perfect for an affordable 3 night stay while visiting LA for the first time, as long as you realize it is not going to have a ton of amenities. For example, you need to request items like a hair dryer or mini fridge and they may not be available if they are fully booked. This was not a big deal to us but it may be to some. It is located close to the freeways and many major streets. The section of Koreatown it is in felt very safe, fairly quiet, and was close to some coffee shops and good restaurants. We had a corner room on the top floor and it was very quiet most of the time. The room was reasonably clean, bed was very comfortable, service was fantastic, parking was easy and free! We also really liked the modern and minimal style of the rooms. Overall, we would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cam604
Business
Vancouver, BC`
Jul 26, 2012

Needs Improvement

The rooms were very bland. The phones were outdated and not close to the bed. The tv boxes for cable are behind the tv for some bizarre reason which makes it very hard to click to change the channels. The showers dont have good preassure. It needs a lil fridge in the room which are super spacious and super empty. The lobby NEEDS updating ASAP. Very hard to get food delivered there. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were spotless, and the AC worked perfectly. For the amount of time I was in the room it was good but if it was a longer trip- non work related I wouldnt recomend it. Not the best area in the middle of a ressidential area. Too far for my liking to the Downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Best way to get food delivered there is grubhub.com

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top