Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
121 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location with Cleanliness

I stayed Shelter Hotel several times due to its location. If you have a plan for visiting Korea... See full review

  • GanzyMJ
  • Mar 26, 2013
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
the lonely nomad
Business
provo UT
Jun 14, 2012

only good thing is wood floor

no iron board good bed quality spacious old elivator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food court in walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SLM1
Davis, CA, USA
Jun 4, 2012

Happily surprised

I needed a hotel for one night near West Hollywood without breaking the bank. The Shelter Hotel had a great rate with free parking. I was a little suspicious wh I entered the lobby. It obviously was a converted apartment building and the furnishings there left a bit to be desired. But the room was great. Updated with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. It was quiet and was perfect for my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Calli Sullivan
Santa barbara, California
May 30, 2012

Affordable, clean hotel

This was my first trip to Los Angeles. The hotel was really nice, everything was pretty new. The room was clean and well furnished with a big flat screen on the wall. The man at check in was super friendly and helpful, and even helped us choose a spot for dinner. This place isn't in the best location, but it's way worth the money. Nicest hotel within a 2 mile radius.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Discouraged Traveler
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 21, 2012

Good thought, poor execusion

The hotel appeared to mid - remodel. There were several parties staying in the hotel from our group. The amentities in the rooms ranged from no closet or clothes rack to a closet bar and shelf, no hangers for towels in the bath room to a vanity and multiple hangers. There were no ice makers available for guests and the linens seemed to be in short or rationed supply. The rooms were in general clean and neat condition. The staff were very pleasant with the exception of the night clerk. Most were engaging and talkative whereas he was aloof and bothered to serve. I would consider staying again, but only outside of remodel phase and with basic hotel amenities added.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tin Can
Business
Portland, Or.
May 21, 2012

Quiet, Clean Room and Free Parking

This hotel was the quietest I have ever been in and our room was next to the elevator. Plain and simply furnished hotel, no extra's like hair dryer or ironing board. The hotel guest computer was fast and I was able to print material as well as boarding passes. The staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ttfy
Business
sacramento
May 16, 2012

okay place

typical hotel. nothing wrong with it. would not stay here more than one day. free parking but limited room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uno the Businessman
Business
Taipei, Taiwan
May 13, 2012

Decent for the room price!

Overall, the hotel is clean and ordinary. Nothing fancy. But, decent for its price. The room is simple with nice. Good for pure business travelers. The location is convenient. However, there is no refrigerator. It would be nice to have one. The internet access was not very stable. Otherwise, the overall experience was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taylor Steak House is nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vdub5150
Fontana, CA
Mar 30, 2012

just right

the room and the hotel were just what we wanted. nothing big and over the top. the room was simple and modern, just great for a one night stay with the wife, we will go back to that hotel again. the workers were also great and very nice and friendly. parking was free and thats a plus. thank you guys for the great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BEKAY
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 29, 2012

Average

Staff are amazing and really go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. HOWEVER, the sound in this place is the worst I've ever experienced, I hardly slept. It sounds like they have designed it so that sound effectively runs through as much of the building as possible. I was woken up every 30 minutes or so during the night just fromt he people upstairs walking around (it didn't help they were obviously drunk and had a huge fight that left me genuinely scared). Whenever the hotel goers upstairs turned on the water a loud 'thud' would make me jump. Those next door sounded like they were talking directly into an echoey vent that led to my room. I could hear them as though they were right next to me, or perhaps somewhat amplified at times! The little necessities were missing. No hand soap for the basin, only one hook to hang towels on, when I booked there was an icon for a hair drier which did not exist when I got there. The area is fine enough but there was nothing there for me. There isn't much to see there and I found it difficult as much of the signage was in Korean and in the mornings I just wanted to get a coffee and a bite but there wasn't anywhere nearby that I could find. The noise levels were just so atrocious I would say don't stay here if you are planning on sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BigCityTraveler
Louisville, KY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great place to stay in LA!

I like this hotel because I can walk to the metro train station, 2 blocks. It is clean, quiet and affordable. I wanted to be in the city since I didn't have a car. They are helpful in getting directions to places in LA. It's not a typical hotel in that theres no coke/snack machines. They do have internet access and nice rooms. I walked around and never felt scared in the neighborhood, the heart of Koreatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro train station will get you anywhere in just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top