$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BigCityTraveler
Louisville, KY, USA
Mar 21, 2012

Great place to stay in LA!

I like this hotel because I can walk to the metro train station, 2 blocks. It is clean, quiet and affordable. I wanted to be in the city since I didn't have a car. They are helpful in getting directions to places in LA. It's not a typical hotel in that theres no coke/snack machines. They do have internet access and nice rooms. I walked around and never felt scared in the neighborhood, the heart of Koreatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro train station will get you anywhere in just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Keira nightingale
Business
Sa bernardino
Apr 24, 2014

Not worth the cheap price

Wifi is so slow I beefed up using my mobile hotspot. If you want ice you have to go into the lobby and ask the receptionist. They bring you a bowl with some ice in it. I would never stay here again. I'd rather pay a higher rate. Oh and the receptionist is really rude with a cheeky, condescending attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

West Hollywood gateway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Richard rocketman
Business
San Diego CA
Mar 31, 2014

Perfect for a downtown get away

I had a conference in Korea town and this hotel was a perfect choice. It was relaxing and quite and the beds were so comfortable. The hallways were a little dingy but the rooms were clean and new and the neighbored was clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigperf
Business
Santa Barbara, ca
Mar 20, 2014

Ehhh

Arrived to property and after checking in, no wifi! Front desk agent says router broken on 4th floor so I ask for a room on another floor, they provide it after a while. Decided to go check out the pool while waiting, filthy, it doesn't get cleaned and it isn't heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The metro purple line is a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Polish prince two
Business
Calgary
Mar 3, 2014

Wonderful location

It was my second time staying at the shelter. It is nothing special but great location and free parking. The staff are very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ari H Levy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Jan 23, 2014

Thrashed!!!

I had to change rooms 3 times. The first room had a shower valve and water temperature control system that was beyond broken. The room I was given did not have a closet or drawers for clothing. The phone had a flashing light but no instructions on how to access. I found that it contained voice mail messages dating back 1 year. The second room had poor water pressure, a toilet that was so loosely attached to the floor that it rocked the first time I sat down on it, and I thought it was going to fall over. This room had an armoire, probably from an Ikea style/quality manufacturer, with broken doors and a broken drawer. At the coffee station in the lobby, they put out stale donuts with their coffee. Seriously?? Youth hostels are run better. This is not even worthy of a vintage 1950's 1960's Hojo motor hotel, never mind a hip, boutique hotel. I would never stay here again, period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Ross Dress For Less for LA themed souvenirs including LA Lakers/LA Dodgers/LA Angels/Kings official merchandise (hats, shirts, pants, socks, glassware, etc)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan Kim
Business
San Diego
Dec 3, 2013

It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan Kim
Business
San Diego
Dec 2, 2013

It was great hotel in LA

Shelter hotel was comfortable and very clean and it is close to Korea Town. So it is easy to move in Korea Town and the metro station is located near of the hotel. If you want to stay reliable hotel, it is good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado In LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 8, 2013

Fine in a pinch

Lackluster at best. It's an old apartment complex masquerading as a high quality hotel. I did not enjoy the hammering at 9:00A, nor did I enjoy being charged a deposit without at least being told (customary to do so, but left a bad taste in my mouth not to be told).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EmilyRN
Business
San Diego, ca
Nov 2, 2013

Simple, but friendly

The hotel itself seems like it is most likely a converted apartment building. The entrance is small and nondescript and only contains an elevator off the garage. The lobby itself is on the first floor and sparsely furnished. The staff is friendly and eager to meet guests needs. The rooms are decent size and recently updated, but the bathroom was still slightly grimy. The bed was large and comfy. The neighborhood is residential and it would have been nice to at least have local info in the room to help find restraints, stores, and bars nearby. Overall, the hotel was a decent place to stay for a night, but not the classiest place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel to eat
Business
San Jose, ca
Oct 22, 2013

Decent room

The room was huge with modern decor. Bathroom was pretty. Problem is there's a crack on the top of our door, walls are thin and missing iron/iron board.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Korean food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top