$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
130 reviews
It was Great!

It was Great! I recommend this hotel for traveler to LA. See full review

  • Ryan Kim
  • Dec 3, 2013
Great location with Cleanliness

I stayed Shelter Hotel several times due to its location. If you have a plan for visiting Korea... See full review

  • GanzyMJ
  • Mar 26, 2013
A tranquil, stylish sanctuary in a central location
The fun, comfortable and fashionable Shelter Hotels Los Angeles prides itself on its sense of soul and community. Shelter Hotels Los Angeles features 48 spacious and soothing rooms set in the heart of the city. Look out for the hotel's luxurious interiors, designed by Lisa Strong. Take pleasure in nestling in luxurious bedding and treading on polished dark hardwood floors. The hotel provides modern and fully equipped bathrooms that are welcomed by guests wishing to refresh themselves after a dip in the pool to cool off from the heat.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • A modern hotel located in close proximity to popular tourist attractions

  • Luxurious in-room interiors specifically designed for the hotel

  • Close to fine restaurants and nigh

Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Rooms

Spacious, cozy and warm rooms await at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles. All 48 rooms feature elegant, custom-designed furniture, dark hardwood floors, stylish bathrooms and pillow-top beds. Guests enjoy a choice of over 100 television stations, courtesy of their 32-inch LCD flat screen TV with individual high-definition receivers. iPod alarms and docking stations make use of the latest technology, while individual work desks assist business travelers preparing for meetings. Complimentary high-speed wired and wireless internet access allows guests to keep in contact while on vacation. Business guests continue to work and communicate with ease; alternatively, leisure guests can simply relax in the snug in-room seating areas. The Shelter Hotels Los Angeles is the perfect base for sightseeing trips to nearby Hollywood, the LA Convention Center, the Staples Center, Beverly Hills or Universal Studios.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Studios (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Hollywood (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Downtown Los Angeles (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Beverly Hills (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Santa Monica (14 mi/22.5 km)
  • Disneyland (28 mi/45.1 km)
Policies and fees
  • Pets allowed (contact hotel for more details)
  • Incidental charges, such as room service, not included in the nightly hotel fee

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0656 -118.2996
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
LAX and Burbank
Area description
Centrally located in Los Angeles, blocks to Hollywood, LA Convention Center, Staples Center, Beverly Hills, Universal Studios, the finest restaurants and night spots, and two blocks to metro station.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Shelter Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guest room features Luxurious Pillow Top Beds, Hardwood Floors, 32" LCD Flat Screen Televisions, Complimentary Wireless and Wired High Speed Internet, Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels and I-Pod Docking Stations.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 2.4 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.8 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 2.9 mi
  • Pershing Square: 2.9 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3 mi
  • Music Center: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.1 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 3.2 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 3.2 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 3.2 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.3 mi
  • The Grove: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 3.5 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 3.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.6 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3.6 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 3.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Kitson: 4.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 4.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 5.9 mi
  • University of California: 8.1 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 8.4 mi
  • UCLA: 8.8 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 15.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Colorado In LA
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 8, 2013

Fine in a pinch

Lackluster at best. It's an old apartment complex masquerading as a high quality hotel. I did not enjoy the hammering at 9:00A, nor did I enjoy being charged a deposit without at least being told (customary to do so, but left a bad taste in my mouth not to be told).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EmilyRN
San Diego, ca
Nov 2, 2013

Simple, but friendly

The hotel itself seems like it is most likely a converted apartment building. The entrance is small and nondescript and only contains an elevator off the garage. The lobby itself is on the first floor and sparsely furnished. The staff is friendly and eager to meet guests needs. The rooms are decent size and recently updated, but the bathroom was still slightly grimy. The bed was large and comfy. The neighborhood is residential and it would have been nice to at least have local info in the room to help find restraints, stores, and bars nearby. Overall, the hotel was a decent place to stay for a night, but not the classiest place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoRestNancy
Washington, DC
Nov 1, 2013

Worst hotel name EVER for a pretty nice hotel

Lets be real-I didn't expect much from a place called Shelter and the fairly low rate. I was pleasantly surprised indeed! I have only two items that I feel need improvement: (1) Fix lock on room (it has to be pulled/pushed lightly to ensure proper lockage). (2) Please please please add towel bars/hooks in bathroom. They don't cost much at all at Home Depot. Otherwise parking was great-very accessible located directly underneath hotel. Check-in was a breeze, we checked in late (~7p) and they allowed us to check out late as well. They give you WIFI pwd without even asking! "Lobby" is not a typical lobby, which took me back at first (its a person sitting at a lonely desk in middle of room-imagine the 'meeting God' scene from Bruce Almighty) but hey, it does the job just fine. Very nice/clean room, bathroom was the same-things looked just like the preview pics (b/c don't I know it that sometimes they don't). Location was great too...2 blocks from wilshire ave with a few good coffee shop and food options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel to eat
San Jose, ca
Oct 22, 2013

Decent room

The room was huge with modern decor. Bathroom was pretty. Problem is there's a crack on the top of our door, walls are thin and missing iron/iron board.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Korean food

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bewwy
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 8, 2013

Not that clean

I saw a huge cockroach at the parking lot too and also under the carpet. There's a lot of tiny little bugs. The bed is comfy though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bewwy
San Francisco, CA, USA
Sep 27, 2013

Bad Vacation

The hotel used to be a good one when it first started but service have declined. Parking is free but you are not guarantee a spot since it's pretty small. You can double park but you'll have to drop off your keys at the front desk and I was uncomfortable in doing that. The room itself is pretty clean but they never clean the floor, so make sure you wear a flip flop in the room or else your socks will turn black. They now allow pets which I found it as a bad thing because pets might bring fleas to the room. I didn't like how the room didn't have any hair dryer or microwave or fridge. I like how it is close to koreatown where I can get snacks and food but it's an hour away from Disneyland. Some staff are nice and some are not. One staff gave me an attitude when I was asking for a do not disturb sigh since there was none in my room. I was uncomfortable with leaving my keys at the front desk, one staff was nice about it and offer me a spot by the gate that wouldn't block any cars and another staff lied and told me that the car that was at that spot, he had to leave it since that person had to leave early. However, by the time I left at almost noon, the car was still there. So I guess, he just didn't want to move it for me so I was force to leave my keys at the front. They didn't ask for verification when I was asking for my keys and that bothered me.They do close the gate and lock the door at 11pm. This is my 4th time staying here and each time I am more and more disappointed. I think the next time I go to LA, I will try to find somewhere else. I paid $99/ night and I didn't feel like it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jockyjohnson
seoul
Aug 19, 2013

everything is bad.

bad wifi. bad room why this hotel did not place hair dry machine? I don`t want to recommend this hotel anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fillup my cup
Bay Area
Jul 1, 2013

Could use a little extra help

Overall the experience was good and some not so good. They don't have towel hooks or somewhere to dry your towels.. The elevator might need some better air circulation. The gentleman during the day was very nice and accommodating. I think they were going for a very simple clean look for the rooms. But it doesn't help when you need certain common things like..hair dryer (you can request for one and they will bring one up) no place to hang your clothes. TV was definitely on the smaller side. The cleaning crew kept knocking on the door in the morning to check if we need towels and to ask if we were going to check out 10 minutes before the check out time which was pretty annoying (Wish there was a do not disturb tag we could have used) The hallways do need some work. Not a very pleasant feeling or look. Very cold and kind of eerie feel. Bed was comfy, location was great, so so experience overall. A few little changes will make me book my next stay here but for now I might look to see what my other options are for my money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Soonwon Korean BBQ is some of the best I've had. Try the house special bbq meat. Not cheap but it was worth it.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fenceguy
Business
Sonoma County, California
Jun 24, 2013

Funtuional

No clock radio in room. No ice machine. Not enough parking room in garage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hammster
Riverside, Ca
Jun 22, 2013

Concert Stay

My husband and I went to a show at the Greek Theatre and stayed at the Shelter Hotel. Wasn't exactly what I expected but in the end it served our needs. Checking in was easy once we realized you have to go up the elevator to get to the lobby. The room was clean and so was the bathroom.There were some maintenance issues ( tear in the carpet, loose tiles in the bathroom , and windows didn't lock properly) but none that truly affected our stay. The bed was extremely comfortable and roomy! Parking was very tight and when we came back from the concert, we had to double park and leave our car key with the front desk. That was kind of weird , but it worked out. The MALE front desk attendants were very pleasant. Overall, the experience was fine, but the hotel website really makes the hotel look much better than it actually was. Hotel needs much updating but it was okay for our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search