$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 1, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Mac56
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 17, 2014

Great Deal .

Rooms are very clean. I would definitely stay here again ,only minutes away from down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working Exec
Business
Orange County
Sep 14, 2014

Quick LA Business Trip

The Shelter is great its convenience to get to most anywhere in the Downtown LA area. Its easy to get in and out and has free parking which perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

LA Live

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Camper 12
Business
Fullerton
Sep 3, 2014

Safe and Clean

Just spent one night for work but it was clean, safe and nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working Exec
Business
Orange County
Aug 21, 2014

Convenient Location Nice Friendly Staff

This is a good hotel value for the price in Los Angeles

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OsmoseSound
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

A Days Inn disguised as a shaby boutique hotel

The outside of the hotel looks pretty good. Entering is a little weird as you have to go thru the parking deck or small door beside the deck and take elevator to 2nd floor looby. The were 2 guys at the front desk that I only dealt with slightly. They seemed very nice. The majority of the time I dealt with a lady who is basically punching a clock...nothing more nothing less. The halls are quite narrow and kind of dark. I didn't really mind this, but if I was a female staying alone that could be different. Also on that note pretty much anyone on the street could get on the elevator in the parking deck and go to any floor they want during the day and early evening. Otherwise the door is locked around 11pm and you have to call a phone number to get in. The room itself was decent but runned down. It badly needed a paint job and most of the furnishing outside of the bed & TV have seen their day. I do want to say that the bed was quite comfortable and the curtains blacked out the room nicely ( I was working nights). The bathroom is another story altogether. The toliet was loose (not bolted down very well) and there was misc "who knows what" all over the walls. A light burned out during my stay and I didn't bother letting the hotel know as I didn't really want to be able to see the bathroom walls any better than I needed too. The pool seemed to only get cleaned on Friday and it was quite cold as it only see's a couple of hours of direct sunlight a day. It was very hot weather wise while I was there to and that didn't seem to affect the pool temp. Prior to the Friday cleaning I only stuck my legs in. In the elevator you can see that the license is for The Days Inn. This is basically an apt complex that has been purchased and made to look like a boutique hotel. Outside looks good...inside different story. I would not stay here again, but it did serve it's purpose as a very very basic place to sleep and hold my belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jollygoodsir
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 19, 2014

Great for a Night in LA

Convenient location for downtown and Hollywood. The free parking is a huge plus for this part of town. The room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was more spacious than I've seen in comparable hotels. The front staff couldn't have been more friendly. The only downside was no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to the bars and restaurants in Hollywood.

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Khrysta
Business
Riverside, CA
Aug 4, 2014

Birthday getaway in LA

This hotel was a good deal for it's value! I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into the Shelter Hotel, which says a lot because I'm pretty picky when it comes to my comfort level in hotel rooms. It was located in a great place, which made it easy to get in and out of downtown LA, the hotel was cute and contemporary in style, the room was clean and spacious, and the room I stayed in even had an awesome view of the beautiful LA palm trees and the city! Not to mention it was pretty affordable! The only thumbs down I would have to admit would regard the Middle Aged African American man that was watching the front desk overnight. He wasn't very friendly, in fact he was pretty rude when I asked him about the closing of the pool area during the evening hours, after I was clearly told the area was available for use, so long as hotel guests and their company remained quiet during late hours. He needs to find another job if he hates the one he's in... Just sayin! Anyhow, the hotel overall was great! I plan on staying here again if I ever need a room in LA again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Coastus
Business
Auburn, California
Aug 2, 2014

Helter Shelter

Decent and clean accommodations, no frills. Secure parking provided, which is very nice. Seems like a residential neighborhood, quiet. I stayed here for a night's stay during a conference in Hollywood, and it met my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're tourist inc in Hollywood, the public parking at Highland Center is a great deal ($13 all day) and close to everything!

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cookie9484
Business
Los Angeles Ca
Aug 2, 2014

Relocating

The hotel is just as described. The shelter. The hotel was dirty. The room smelled like bleach and was a little box. I had my small kids with me and we didn't even bathe because of condition and nasty room. Seemed as if I was in a shelter for the homeless. Don't recommend hotel to anyone with family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Base1
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 1, 2014

Good value for the price

Hotel is not high end but is clean and have all you need. Good location. Near a lot of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top