$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 457 South Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JL1693
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 17, 2014

Good for my needs

I wanted something close to K-Town, so for me, the location was spot on. It was within walking distance to everything I needed access to. The room was comfortable, clean, and had everything I needed during my stay. I'm easy to please. A microwave would've been nice, given that I stayed for 5 days, but it wasn't a huge deal. They arranged for a mini-fridge to be put in the room upon my request, so that was nice. Bathroom was really nice too. Overall, it's pretty comfortable hotel that gets the job done. Awesome for anyone looking for easy access to K-Town and Wilshire Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining - There are restaurants everywhere. Korean and non-Korean. Fresh Produce - There's a Korean grocery store and small shopping mall down the block. Coffee - Coffee bean and Starbucks also down the block at Wilshire and Mariposa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parksp
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Oct 13, 2014

Great location

I've stayed at Shelter a couple times now when staying in LA. For the location and free parking, you can't get a better deal. Amenities are very basic so don't expect high end toiletries and other services in luxury hotels. The neighborhood can seem sketchy, but I've never had any issues while staying here. The beds are large and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dato18
Business
phoenix, az
Oct 11, 2014

great location

Location is great but hotel is not kept up. Floors were dirty and place felt dingy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay Mercado
Business
Taylorsville, Utah
Oct 5, 2014

Good stuff

The hotel was great. Very clean and very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Universal studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daehee lee
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 24, 2014

Simple but very modern.

It was a fresh expirience than expected. Everthing is differnt than any other hotels. Not fancy but very pleasant. I would definately stay for another business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

City center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working Exec
Business
Orange County
Sep 14, 2014

Quick LA Business Trip

The Shelter is great its convenience to get to most anywhere in the Downtown LA area. Its easy to get in and out and has free parking which perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

LA Live

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Camper 12
Business
Fullerton
Sep 3, 2014

Safe and Clean

Just spent one night for work but it was clean, safe and nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Working Exec
Business
Orange County
Aug 21, 2014

Convenient Location Nice Friendly Staff

This is a good hotel value for the price in Los Angeles

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OsmoseSound
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 20, 2014

A Days Inn disguised as a shaby boutique hotel

The outside of the hotel looks pretty good. Entering is a little weird as you have to go thru the parking deck or small door beside the deck and take elevator to 2nd floor looby. The were 2 guys at the front desk that I only dealt with slightly. They seemed very nice. The majority of the time I dealt with a lady who is basically punching a clock...nothing more nothing less. The halls are quite narrow and kind of dark. I didn't really mind this, but if I was a female staying alone that could be different. Also on that note pretty much anyone on the street could get on the elevator in the parking deck and go to any floor they want during the day and early evening. Otherwise the door is locked around 11pm and you have to call a phone number to get in. The room itself was decent but runned down. It badly needed a paint job and most of the furnishing outside of the bed & TV have seen their day. I do want to say that the bed was quite comfortable and the curtains blacked out the room nicely ( I was working nights). The bathroom is another story altogether. The toliet was loose (not bolted down very well) and there was misc "who knows what" all over the walls. A light burned out during my stay and I didn't bother letting the hotel know as I didn't really want to be able to see the bathroom walls any better than I needed too. The pool seemed to only get cleaned on Friday and it was quite cold as it only see's a couple of hours of direct sunlight a day. It was very hot weather wise while I was there to and that didn't seem to affect the pool temp. Prior to the Friday cleaning I only stuck my legs in. In the elevator you can see that the license is for The Days Inn. This is basically an apt complex that has been purchased and made to look like a boutique hotel. Outside looks good...inside different story. I would not stay here again, but it did serve it's purpose as a very very basic place to sleep and hold my belongings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Shelter Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jollygoodsir
Business
San Francisco, California
Aug 19, 2014

Great for a Night in LA

Convenient location for downtown and Hollywood. The free parking is a huge plus for this part of town. The room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was more spacious than I've seen in comparable hotels. The front staff couldn't have been more friendly. The only downside was no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy access to the bars and restaurants in Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top