$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

2 stars
View map of 813 S. Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
49 reviews
central and comfy

The Milner was super comfortable and close to all. I would come back in a heartback. See full review

  • Avi S.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Very Nice Stay

Very nice hotel and staff had a good time, no issues with the room, See full review

  • WBEMBRY
  • Mar 24, 2015
The Ritz Milner Hotel, at 8th St. and S.Flower St. in downtown Los Angeles has been restored to it's original grandeur throughout the interior and exterior of this stately building and now joins the list of "boutique" properties operated by Milner Hotels. A full service restaurant and Pub are on the premises and are scheduled for restoration later this year. The new "boutique" Ritz Milner Hotel is proud of it's long standing reputation for having an experienced client-friendly staff and providing consistently clean, comfortable guest rooms at reasonable rates. The average tenure of the workforce at this Milner property is fourteen years, making our staff both well versed in the hotel's operation and downtown Los Angeles' many attractions for guests. It's prime location, a few blocks from the Los Angeles Convention Center and Staples Center, makes the Ritz Milner Hotel an ideal property for all reasons and any season. The Milner Hotel is also convenient to the subway with connections to Long Beach and Hollywood. In addition, the hotel arranges tours to various places of interest such as: Universal Studios, Disneyland, Los Angeles city tour of the homes of the stars, Six Flags Magic Mountain, J. Paul Getty Museum, Various beaches, Knott's Berry Farm and even Sea World in San Diego. Whether visiting Los Angeles for business or pleasure, the Ritz Milner Hotel will provide the perfect stay. Please note: All ADA compliant rooms are being renovated and are unavailable at this time.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Full
Rooms with 1 double bed include Premium TV channel(s), Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, Climate control, Complimentary newspaper, Coffee/tea maker, Wake-up calls, Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board (on request), Clock radio, Desk, Rollaway beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • The Grove: 5.8 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 5.9 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.1 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.1 mi
  • Kitson: 7.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.1 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.4 mi
  • University of California: 10.5 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.5 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WBEMBRY
Business
Gaithersburg
Mar 24, 2015

Very Nice Stay

Very nice hotel and staff had a good time, no issues with the room,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TTTL
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Safe neighbourhood

Safe neighborhood than other cheap hotel. There is a Ralphs nearby, which is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Avi S.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

central and comfy

The Milner was super comfortable and close to all. I would come back in a heartback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bottega Louis is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Justin H.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Company trip

I was in town for business. Location of the hotel was perfect for where I needed to be. Hotel amenities were below average. Rooms are very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Em8875
Business
Burlington
Oct 10, 2014

Great location, older hotel

Overall we were satisfied. Hotel is very old but it was quiet and clean the free breakfast was good. It is right in the heart of downtown, close to staples center/la live.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trojan Engineer
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Aug 18, 2014

Not worth the money

The staff was great, but the room itself smelled of mold, was visibly dirty, and extremely cramped. The air conditioning window unit was literally 4 inches from the head of the bed, and emitted its own foul odors independent of those already emanating from the carpet. The soap and towels provided were extremely low quality, and honestly I have had better experiences at a budget chain motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
superwoman on the go
Business
Surrey, BC
Jul 11, 2014

great location and value

Staff are very customer oriented. Overall good value for rates. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alwaysworking88
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
May 11, 2014

Location and price was great. But you must manage your expectations.

The location was within blocks of where I had to be for business. I knew I would be working 20 hour days and needed a place to sleep nearby. Bonus: the free breakfast was better than most chain hotels and actually has cranberry and some type of guava juice in the dispenser. Apples, oranges, bagels, English muffins, etc. Thankfully, the small and short full size beds were comfortable enough. My sheets and towels were clean, as was the dilapidated bathroom. Had hot and good water pressure in shower. Saw the bad reviews, but the location and price made me determined to book the stay knowing, and then discovering myself, the following: 1) Old, hasn't been updated in decades (didn't care about "old" though). Lobby was nice enough. 2) Carpets may or may not be vacuumed. Can't tell because they didn't look like they've been cleaned or replaced in .... decades. Just don't walk barefoot or get too close to the ground. 3) Um, this is gross, but I did see one roach in a dresser drawer. At least it was about half an inch long instead of the 3.5 inchers I've seen in Hawaii and Mexico. I did not bring ANY food into the room and I suggest you don't either. I shook out my pj's every night just in case. 4) I got an actual non-smoking room, but I specifically re-confirmed at check-in. 5) I didn't have any loud hotel guest neighbors, but I was put in a room at the back of the building. Super loud crowd from a neighboring bar or something. Drunken loud people until about 2am every night for four nights. If you get a room at the back, you must either bring ear plugs, headphones, or be able to block out the deafening noise. I have the ability to do the latter, but it was still annoying. 6) If you are a big person, expect the weirdness of tall ceilings but munchkin sized everything else in the rooms. If you are over 6 ft tall, sleep in fetal position or let your feet hang over bottom edge of bed (haha). I will only stay there again if I have to be within a couple blocks for business only. No way I'd ever stay if I expected to spend more than my 4-hours of sleep. Also, I was traveling alone. The Queen beds are more like small Full size beds. It was spacious for one short person, but would be on the small side for a couple. I wouldn't share the standard Queen room with another person. Too cramped. Actually, the thought of having to stay there again is causing me to want to put money aside specifically so I can stay in a clean, quiet place. Finally, the "skid row" feeling on that block cannot be denied. The public bus stop is literally in front of the hotel. Directly across the street is a 24/hr iHop, and next door is a Subway. Good if cheap food is a must, but seriously, for the same price, go to the "secret" ethnic "fast food" court on the 4th floor of the Westin. I had to actively ignore all the stuff that would bother me at any other time except for a work-related trip that I know I only need a place to pass out for 4 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best pizza with crazy generous cheese and toppings just around the corner on the same block. Huge sizes. 2 slices were more like four and includes a 20oz bottled drink of your choice $6.99. The ones with garlic feature thick baked hand-cut chunks just under the cheese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
superwoman on the go
Business
Surrey, BC
Apr 25, 2014

good value

Pleasant stay at the hotel. Good customer service. Ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jen cartel
Business
los Angeles, California
Mar 31, 2014

horrible service

The economy is so bad. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Spend a little more and get a better hotel near by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top