$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

2 stars
813 S. Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
44 reviews
Business Audition

Great location, nice continental breakfast, normal amenities, fax, copier, etc. Would recommend and... See full review

  • Great Job
  • Mar 28, 2014
Good Location, Nice Staff

It's not the Ritz Carlton, it's the Ritz Milner- if you are not picky there is nothing wrong with... See full review

  • Riffleforce
  • Jan 13, 2014
The Ritz Milner Hotel, at 8th St. and S.Flower St. in downtown Los Angeles has been restored to it's original grandeur throughout the interior and exterior of this stately building and now joins the list of "boutique" properties operated by Milner Hotels. A full service restaurant and Pub are on the premises and are scheduled for restoration later this year. The new "boutique" Ritz Milner Hotel is proud of it's long standing reputation for having an experienced client-friendly staff and providing consistently clean, comfortable guest rooms at reasonable rates. The average tenure of the workforce at this Milner property is fourteen years, making our staff both well versed in the hotel's operation and downtown Los Angeles' many attractions for guests. It's prime location, a few blocks from the Los Angeles Convention Center and Staples Center, makes the Ritz Milner Hotel an ideal property for all reasons and any season. The Milner Hotel is also convenient to the subway with connections to Long Beach and Hollywood. In addition, the hotel arranges tours to various places of interest such as: Universal Studios, Disneyland, Los Angeles city tour of the homes of the stars, Six Flags Magic Mountain, J. Paul Getty Museum, Various beaches, Knott's Berry Farm and even Sea World in San Diego. Whether visiting Los Angeles for business or pleasure, the Ritz Milner Hotel will provide the perfect stay. Please note: All ADA compliant rooms are being renovated and are unavailable at this time.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Full
Rooms with 1 double bed include Premium TV channel(s), Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, Climate control, Complimentary newspaper, Coffee/tea maker, Wake-up calls, Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board (on request), Clock radio, Desk, Rollaway beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • The Grove: 5.8 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 5.9 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.1 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.1 mi
  • Kitson: 7.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.4 mi
  • University of California: 10.5 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.5 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 44
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
consultmeg
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 3, 2012

Don't Stay Here

I would not recommend staying here. So many issues...we were told we would get a queen bed, only double available, 2 double beds were not available. The staff was not polite and made no effort to make us feel comfortable or welcome. Just not the place to stay. Good for those staying overnight and need a good location and free breakfast. Be tired enough to sleep anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wokcano is a short walk and their kitchen is open until 2am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrsBunnyF
Business
Kemah, TX, USA
Jun 20, 2012

Absolutely the worst place I've ever stayed

Advertised a boutique hotel, looked like an old hostile a bunch of people got murdered in and someone threw a bucket of paint on it to cover up all the stains. The website is extremely misleading and the photographer must have used photoshop a ton. It was so bad that we paid for one night, but only stayed 2 hours and they didn't seem phased at all that we didn't want to stay longer. The sprinkler system was hung from ceiling by pvc pipes, you could see the elevator shaft when entering, no central heat or air/only window units, the carpet was bunched and fraying, and the closet had no door. The bed was a small full size covered with old/gross bedding. The vanity area was at most 2 ft wide w/ a tiny sink and the bathroom was tiny and dirty. The room may have been an 8x10, you couldn't walk through the front door and shut it w/out squeezing through the space between closet and nightstand. All the window in the halls were open and the emergency exit was barred up. I have stayed in many Motel 6's and tiny little town hotel and inns where there wasn't anything else available. This hotel was so horrible I didn't feel safe, do not waste your money by thinking you'll be ok staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sf
Nov 19, 2010

not good

Not safe. I walked out of my hotel room and two random people were sleeping in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nottheritz
Business
los angeles, ca
Nov 8, 2009

awful

Double charged me for parking. Rude staff. tiny unclean rooms. If you are clausterphobic, you are screwed. Showers are nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LukeStackwalker
Business
Exeter, RI
May 20, 2011

Six Foot Two and I Still Fit:)

Was in town for a symposium/exhibits at the LA Convention Center so I just needed a good bed for the tired dogs after walking the show floor and a hot shower to get me going in the morning. The Milner (not really sure why the Ritz is in the name) gave me all that and more for about $100 per night (vs $200 and up for other local hotels). I WAS worried after reading some reviews about how small the rooms are. I'm 6'2 but the room fit me just fine. I had a room (#503) with a queen bed (firm but not too hard, and 3 nice pillows) that overlooked Flower Street. 5th floor was fine for road noise, though if the A/C had been needed, it was RIGHT next to the bed so I'm not sure how loud it would have been. Shower and sink were in a small bathroom. No issues other than the toilet was tight against the wall and the tub. Good water presure and no issues with getting hot water for the shower. Continental breakfast was included, and there is the "Back Door Bar" on the first level. It was a nice place to have a nightcap without having to worry about walking back when bedtime called. There is a Subway and an IHOP within 50 feet so there are alternatives if needed. And, of course, all the LA-Live places are a few blocks away. Bottom line is that I would go back there is I ever have a convention in LACC. It's more than adequate for a trip where you just need a bed and shower. But, I wouldn't do a vacation stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LOTS of good food within a 5-block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
May 14, 2010

Location, Location, Location in LA

I was in LA for The Cable Show 2010; the R-M was within walking distance of both the LA Metro and the Convention Center and surrounding facilities. There are a lot of little nice things the humble hotel does; free breakfast, warm cookies in the afternoons, friendly staff. And if you are worried about food, the IHOP across the street and Subway next door are both open 24 hours a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are flying into LA, take the LA Flyaway bus from the airport to Union station ($7.00 one way). Then take the Union Station Red/Purple line to the 7th Street station. Walk about a block or so down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alwaysworking88
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
May 11, 2014

Location and price was great. But you must manage your expectations.

The location was within blocks of where I had to be for business. I knew I would be working 20 hour days and needed a place to sleep nearby. Bonus: the free breakfast was better than most chain hotels and actually has cranberry and some type of guava juice in the dispenser. Apples, oranges, bagels, English muffins, etc. Thankfully, the small and short full size beds were comfortable enough. My sheets and towels were clean, as was the dilapidated bathroom. Had hot and good water pressure in shower. Saw the bad reviews, but the location and price made me determined to book the stay knowing, and then discovering myself, the following: 1) Old, hasn't been updated in decades (didn't care about "old" though). Lobby was nice enough. 2) Carpets may or may not be vacuumed. Can't tell because they didn't look like they've been cleaned or replaced in .... decades. Just don't walk barefoot or get too close to the ground. 3) Um, this is gross, but I did see one roach in a dresser drawer. At least it was about half an inch long instead of the 3.5 inchers I've seen in Hawaii and Mexico. I did not bring ANY food into the room and I suggest you don't either. I shook out my pj's every night just in case. 4) I got an actual non-smoking room, but I specifically re-confirmed at check-in. 5) I didn't have any loud hotel guest neighbors, but I was put in a room at the back of the building. Super loud crowd from a neighboring bar or something. Drunken loud people until about 2am every night for four nights. If you get a room at the back, you must either bring ear plugs, headphones, or be able to block out the deafening noise. I have the ability to do the latter, but it was still annoying. 6) If you are a big person, expect the weirdness of tall ceilings but munchkin sized everything else in the rooms. If you are over 6 ft tall, sleep in fetal position or let your feet hang over bottom edge of bed (haha). I will only stay there again if I have to be within a couple blocks for business only. No way I'd ever stay if I expected to spend more than my 4-hours of sleep. Also, I was traveling alone. The Queen beds are more like small Full size beds. It was spacious for one short person, but would be on the small side for a couple. I wouldn't share the standard Queen room with another person. Too cramped. Actually, the thought of having to stay there again is causing me to want to put money aside specifically so I can stay in a clean, quiet place. Finally, the "skid row" feeling on that block cannot be denied. The public bus stop is literally in front of the hotel. Directly across the street is a 24/hr iHop, and next door is a Subway. Good if cheap food is a must, but seriously, for the same price, go to the "secret" ethnic "fast food" court on the 4th floor of the Westin. I had to actively ignore all the stuff that would bother me at any other time except for a work-related trip that I know I only need a place to pass out for 4 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best pizza with crazy generous cheese and toppings just around the corner on the same block. Huge sizes. 2 slices were more like four and includes a 20oz bottled drink of your choice $6.99. The ones with garlic feature thick baked hand-cut chunks just under the cheese.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cool12
Business
La Crosse, WI, USA
Feb 26, 2012

conference trip

Ideal location, close to convention center and staple center. Tiny room but average however bed was not comfortable. Wasn't expecting anything fancy but mattress seems to have overran its useful days-it was in concave shape! For a very short (2 nights) trips, it was OK! Would not recommend for long trip but for a night or two: SURE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Female travelling alone
Business
Midwest
Apr 19, 2012

Safe, Central and Best Price

The hotel is at a perfect location for walking to convention center, staples center, grocery store and restaurants. Building is older but nicely redone and very clean. Walls are thinner than most (and more expensive hotels i.e. Marriott, etc.) so bring earplugs. Room is perfect if you're only there to sleep. The area is very safe and walkable. CANNOT beat the price. HIghly recommend if you're on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
superwoman on the go
Business
Surrey, BC
Apr 25, 2014

good value

Pleasant stay at the hotel. Good customer service. Ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top