$92 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

2 stars
813 S. Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
45 reviews
Business Audition

Great location, nice continental breakfast, normal amenities, fax, copier, etc. Would recommend and... See full review

  • Great Job
  • Mar 28, 2014
Good Location, Nice Staff

It's not the Ritz Carlton, it's the Ritz Milner- if you are not picky there is nothing wrong with... See full review

  • Riffleforce
  • Jan 13, 2014
The Ritz Milner Hotel, at 8th St. and S.Flower St. in downtown Los Angeles has been restored to it's original grandeur throughout the interior and exterior of this stately building and now joins the list of "boutique" properties operated by Milner Hotels. A full service restaurant and Pub are on the premises and are scheduled for restoration later this year. The new "boutique" Ritz Milner Hotel is proud of it's long standing reputation for having an experienced client-friendly staff and providing consistently clean, comfortable guest rooms at reasonable rates. The average tenure of the workforce at this Milner property is fourteen years, making our staff both well versed in the hotel's operation and downtown Los Angeles' many attractions for guests. It's prime location, a few blocks from the Los Angeles Convention Center and Staples Center, makes the Ritz Milner Hotel an ideal property for all reasons and any season. The Milner Hotel is also convenient to the subway with connections to Long Beach and Hollywood. In addition, the hotel arranges tours to various places of interest such as: Universal Studios, Disneyland, Los Angeles city tour of the homes of the stars, Six Flags Magic Mountain, J. Paul Getty Museum, Various beaches, Knott's Berry Farm and even Sea World in San Diego. Whether visiting Los Angeles for business or pleasure, the Ritz Milner Hotel will provide the perfect stay. Please note: All ADA compliant rooms are being renovated and are unavailable at this time.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Full
Rooms with 1 double bed include Premium TV channel(s), Cable/satellite TV, Pay movies, Climate control, Complimentary newspaper, Coffee/tea maker, Wake-up calls, Complimentary toiletries, Hair dryer, Iron/ironing board (on request), Clock radio, Desk, Rollaway beds.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Fitness Center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.2 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • The Grove: 5.8 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 5.9 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.1 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.1 mi
  • Kitson: 7.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.1 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.4 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.4 mi
  • University of California: 10.5 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.5 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
China
Jul 28, 2011

A Very Nice Location

As all other travellers said, the room is not big, but big enough for one person. It is fairly clean too, but just one thing I need to point out is the smell of the room, don't know where it comes from, maybe a bit from bedsheets (the smell of pretty strong kind of detergent or something) or from carpet? no idea. And the window is very hard to open, so I suggest the staff there should open the window while they are doing the room service to allow some fresh air to come into the room. Other than the smell, it's a pretty good place to stay for its price and great location if you just a traveller who needs a bed to rest at night, hehehe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro rail station is just one block away, it's very convenient, you can also get some maps and metro instructions from the Downtown Guide near the station on 7th Street, it's very useful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LukeStackwalker
Business
Exeter, RI
May 20, 2011

Six Foot Two and I Still Fit:)

Was in town for a symposium/exhibits at the LA Convention Center so I just needed a good bed for the tired dogs after walking the show floor and a hot shower to get me going in the morning. The Milner (not really sure why the Ritz is in the name) gave me all that and more for about $100 per night (vs $200 and up for other local hotels). I WAS worried after reading some reviews about how small the rooms are. I'm 6'2 but the room fit me just fine. I had a room (#503) with a queen bed (firm but not too hard, and 3 nice pillows) that overlooked Flower Street. 5th floor was fine for road noise, though if the A/C had been needed, it was RIGHT next to the bed so I'm not sure how loud it would have been. Shower and sink were in a small bathroom. No issues other than the toilet was tight against the wall and the tub. Good water presure and no issues with getting hot water for the shower. Continental breakfast was included, and there is the "Back Door Bar" on the first level. It was a nice place to have a nightcap without having to worry about walking back when bedtime called. There is a Subway and an IHOP within 50 feet so there are alternatives if needed. And, of course, all the LA-Live places are a few blocks away. Bottom line is that I would go back there is I ever have a convention in LACC. It's more than adequate for a trip where you just need a bed and shower. But, I wouldn't do a vacation stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

LOTS of good food within a 5-block radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
one time
Business
norwalk
Jan 30, 2011

not anymore

the room was soo small i couldn't make it work..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

the sushi place (octopus) was the only convinience place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sf
Nov 19, 2010

not good

Not safe. I walked out of my hotel room and two random people were sleeping in the hallway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
May 14, 2010

Location, Location, Location in LA

I was in LA for The Cable Show 2010; the R-M was within walking distance of both the LA Metro and the Convention Center and surrounding facilities. There are a lot of little nice things the humble hotel does; free breakfast, warm cookies in the afternoons, friendly staff. And if you are worried about food, the IHOP across the street and Subway next door are both open 24 hours a day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are flying into LA, take the LA Flyaway bus from the airport to Union station ($7.00 one way). Then take the Union Station Red/Purple line to the 7th Street station. Walk about a block or so down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 17, 2010

just fine with me

This hotel is definitely just average and the room was definitely small, but it was just fine with me. Great location for most everything downtown especially a good deal for being close to Staples Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheapest hotel that is closest to Staples Center on the east side of Figueroa St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nottheritz
Business
los angeles, ca
Nov 8, 2009

awful

Double charged me for parking. Rude staff. tiny unclean rooms. If you are clausterphobic, you are screwed. Showers are nasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mpls Dave
Business
Minneapolis MN
Aug 31, 2009

Very reasonable and excellent location

The complimentary breakfast was nice. The room was very small. My reservation had not been recieved before I got there. When I checked in they requested photo ID which they forgot to return and left no message in my room about having my ID, When I asked at the desk if they had it, they asked me several questions before giving it back even though it was taped to the edge of counter right in front of them and in line with me - not a very funny game! The bed was comfortable. The nite table blocked the closet door and the bathroom door was one step from the bed. The AC worked well in spite of the 100 degree heat outside. The parking ramp required your ticket to get in and out. The ramp was very secure. There were security people patrolling on bikes in addition to the LAPD. Parking patrol was very vigilant. It is two blocks from the light rail and was within walking distance of several very nice resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Jewels, fashion and groceries (Ralphs) was very close. Nice dining required a guide to find a place as most of the dining is not advertized on the street - no menus in windows; no sign out front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
natashka
Business
long beach, ca
Jun 29, 2009

not that great

service was horrible, when i called prior to my stay and also in person

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ignitexkiss
Business
san diego , CA
Jun 28, 2009

Ritz Milner Hotel Review

It was pretty good except parking all over in all the hotels in the area is expensive. Also, the elevator took 10 minutes. We stayed there during the electric daisy carnival and it wasn't bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

subway is right next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top