$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

2 stars
View map of 813 S. Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trojan Engineer
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Aug 18, 2014

Not worth the money

The staff was great, but the room itself smelled of mold, was visibly dirty, and extremely cramped. The air conditioning window unit was literally 4 inches from the head of the bed, and emitted its own foul odors independent of those already emanating from the carpet. The soap and towels provided were extremely low quality, and honestly I have had better experiences at a budget chain motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
superwoman on the go
Business
Surrey, BC
Jul 11, 2014

great location and value

Staff are very customer oriented. Overall good value for rates. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alwaysworking88
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
May 11, 2014

Location and price was great. But you must manage your expectations.

The location was within blocks of where I had to be for business. I knew I would be working 20 hour days and needed a place to sleep nearby. Bonus: the free breakfast was better than most chain hotels and actually has cranberry and some type of guava juice in the dispenser. Apples, oranges, bagels, English muffins, etc. Thankfully, the small and short full size beds were comfortable enough. My sheets and towels were clean, as was the dilapidated bathroom. Had hot and good water pressure in shower. Saw the bad reviews, but the location and price made me determined to book the stay knowing, and then discovering myself, the following: 1) Old, hasn't been updated in decades (didn't care about "old" though). Lobby was nice enough. 2) Carpets may or may not be vacuumed. Can't tell because they didn't look like they've been cleaned or replaced in .... decades. Just don't walk barefoot or get too close to the ground. 3) Um, this is gross, but I did see one roach in a dresser drawer. At least it was about half an inch long instead of the 3.5 inchers I've seen in Hawaii and Mexico. I did not bring ANY food into the room and I suggest you don't either. I shook out my pj's every night just in case. 4) I got an actual non-smoking room, but I specifically re-confirmed at check-in. 5) I didn't have any loud hotel guest neighbors, but I was put in a room at the back of the building. Super loud crowd from a neighboring bar or something. Drunken loud people until about 2am every night for four nights. If you get a room at the back, you must either bring ear plugs, headphones, or be able to block out the deafening noise. I have the ability to do the latter, but it was still annoying. 6) If you are a big person, expect the weirdness of tall ceilings but munchkin sized everything else in the rooms. If you are over 6 ft tall, sleep in fetal position or let your feet hang over bottom edge of bed (haha). I will only stay there again if I have to be within a couple blocks for business only. No way I'd ever stay if I expected to spend more than my 4-hours of sleep. Also, I was traveling alone. The Queen beds are more like small Full size beds. It was spacious for one short person, but would be on the small side for a couple. I wouldn't share the standard Queen room with another person. Too cramped. Actually, the thought of having to stay there again is causing me to want to put money aside specifically so I can stay in a clean, quiet place. Finally, the "skid row" feeling on that block cannot be denied. The public bus stop is literally in front of the hotel. Directly across the street is a 24/hr iHop, and next door is a Subway. Good if cheap food is a must, but seriously, for the same price, go to the "secret" ethnic "fast food" court on the 4th floor of the Westin. I had to actively ignore all the stuff that would bother me at any other time except for a work-related trip that I know I only need a place to pass out for 4 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the best pizza with crazy generous cheese and toppings just around the corner on the same block. Huge sizes. 2 slices were more like four and includes a 20oz bottled drink of your choice $6.99. The ones with garlic feature thick baked hand-cut chunks just under the cheese.

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
superwoman on the go
Business
Surrey, BC
Apr 25, 2014

good value

Pleasant stay at the hotel. Good customer service. Ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jen cartel
Couples
los Angeles, California
Mar 31, 2014

horrible service

The economy is so bad. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. Spend a little more and get a better hotel near by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Job
Business
Illinois
Mar 28, 2014

Business Audition

Great location, nice continental breakfast, normal amenities, fax, copier, etc. Would recommend and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of food places nearby- some open 24 hrs. Short walk to them and Orpheum Theatre

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kazy044
Couples
Santa Barbara
Feb 19, 2014

LOCATION

First, we had some trouble that they didn't reconize our reservation even though we had already paid for our 2 nights stay bill. they did accept after 10 minutes confirmation . but the room was small, n smelled awful. only the location is what we were satisfied with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near metro station

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riffleforce
Single
Village Valley California
Jan 13, 2014

Good Location, Nice Staff

It's not the Ritz Carlton, it's the Ritz Milner- if you are not picky there is nothing wrong with this place. Its safe- I slept with my window- nice people and lowest price I could find. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoop
Single
Oakland, California
Jan 2, 2014

Location Location Price

This hotel is perfect for the seasoned traveler traveling alone. However, if you live to lounge at your hotel for most of the day while meeting people and enjoying its many amenities, this is not the place for you. My room had a small tube-type TV, not a flat screen. If your goal in travel is to stay in your room an watch a large flat screen TV, again, this hotel is not for you. Yes, the hotel was at it's prime some decades ago, but it is maintained and clean. When I called the front desk for towels, a friendly staff member showed up in a couple of minutes with exactly what I needed. At the Ritz-Milner you're within a couple blocks of a large grocery store and other stores, many restaurants, and public transit. This prime location combined with the low price made this hotel a winner for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to the Standard Hotel to get a drink at the rooftop bar and enjoy the incredible views of downtown LA reflected in the pool.

Review of Ritz Milner Hotel - Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
s.bell177
Couples
Sussex, England
Nov 21, 2013

Los Angeles Trip

Basic Comfort, it was once a more grander hotel.Very Central to attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese, Italian and French restaurants within easy reach

Back to menu Return to top