$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

O Hotel

3 stars
819 S Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
127 reviews
Perfect stay

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food. Wonderful driver. Great design. See full review

  • Berlin Architect
  • Nov 19, 2013
LA Getaway.

Great value and location for a cool boutique hotel. Next door parking is a big plus. I will stay at... See full review

  • ElFloridaResident
  • Jul 16, 2014
Modern, independent boutique hotel near Staples Center in L.A.
The O Hotel is stylish and provides 67-rooms in a five-story building in downtown Los Angeles. Punctuated on the outside with black-and-white glass, and on the inside by a brick-walled restaurant and bar (whiskey drinks are a specialty), this hotel is a marker of the exciting millennial renaissance of downtown. A service charge provides guests of the O Hotel with high-speed wireless Internet access, bottled water and access to a nearby Gold's Gym.
Highlights
  • Refurbished 1920s building
  • Renovated in 2007
  • iPod docks
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • Non-smoking property
Location
The O Hotel is located in the Los Angeles financial district between Eighth and Ninth streets within walking distance of the Staples Center, L.A. Live, Nokia Theatre and Los Angeles Convention Center. 
Rooms
O Hotel rooms are for individuals, couples and business travelers with either one full bed, queen bed, King bed or two twin beds. Minimalist decor includes crisp white linens and flat-screen smart TVs mounted on walls above writing desks. Sleek washbasins are raised and supplied with eco-friendly products. Amenities at the O Hotel include mini-bars, in-room safes and coffee makers. Wi-Fi Internet access is provided.
Features

Meet up before Staples Center events in the geometrical lobby of the O Hotel. Return for continental breakfast and morning newspapers (covered by a resort fee, which also includes Wi-Fi, bottled water and Gold's Gym access). Relax, Revive and Rejuvenate with massages and facials in the brand new Oasis City Spa. Socialize downstairs with California market fresh lunches and dinners, creative whiskey and bourbon drinks and global wine list at the Bar | Kitchen restaurant. The front desk of the O Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)
  • Burbank Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • 7th Street Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Union Station (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Angeles Convention Center/Staples Center/L.A. Live (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fashion district (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Courts and government offices (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of Southern California (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Dodger Stadium (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Bright conference space accommodates up to 15 people
  • Banquet space accommodates up to 100 people
  • Desks with ergonomic chairs in all rooms
Policies and fees
Parking is available next door (fees apply). High-speed wireless Internet is included in the hotel service charge of $14 USD per night stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0471 -118.2609
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport 17 miles (LAX), Burbank Airport 15 miles.
Area description
Located in the heart of the city's Financial District and part of the ongoing revitalization of downtown Los Angeles, O Hotel is across the street from shops and dining at Macy?s Plaza, only a few blocks from the sports arena Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center. It is an easy stroll to the Fashion and Jewelry Districts and a good-distance walk up to the Arts District, in the vicinity of the Civic Center and the Los Angeles City Hall.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

O Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Room with 1 queen bed include flat-screen Samsung Smart TV, high-speed internet access, ergonomic chairs, mini bar, alarm clock with iPod docking station, personal safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • The Grove: 5.8 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 5.9 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.1 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.1 mi
  • Kitson: 7.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.4 mi
  • University of California: 10.5 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The O Hotel offers unique meeting and event spaces for intimate groups, conferences, and private dining parties. Catering can be provided in most areas by Bar | Kitchen.

Dining

Bar | Kitchen
Located inside the O Hotel in downtown LA, Bar | Kitchen is a seasonal American restaurant rooted in the tradition of market fresh cuisine, small production wines by the glass, craft beers, and classically inspired cocktails.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for O Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterville, Ohio
Feb 23, 2011

Disappointed

I usually seek out boutique hotels in my travels because of the unique character of the hotel and location. Unfortunately this hotel came up short on both measures. The location was a reasonable walk to convention center and area activities. Front desk service was fair, once you got their attention in the back office. The greatest disappointment was the room. It was dated & tired looking. Out my window was a marvelous view of another building only a few feet away, which is why they always closed the drapes. Coulld not get the A/C to function properly which disrupted sleep each night. I expect some quirkiness in these types of hotels, its part of the adventure. But this hotel is nothing but an old building with a lot black, white and red paint covered over it. What a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Wacth for panhandlers; they can be aggressive.

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stevevrporter
Business
Winnipeg, MB
Jan 15, 2011

Funky space, great location

I was in LA for business, but ma sure I got out at night to enjoy LA. The location is great for accessing the Staples Center and other near by destinations. The hotel had a great restaurant and lounge. Very hip with wonderful food. The Internet was fast (a big deal for me and something I don't often see), the gym was passable, the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have a meal in the lounge. Food is excellent and reasonably priced.

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stevevrporter
Business
Winnipeg, MB
Jan 15, 2011

Funky space, great location

I was in LA for business, but ma sure I got out at night to enjoy LA. The location is great for accessing the Staples Center and other near by destinations. The hotel had a great restaurant and lounge. Very hip with wonderful food. The Internet was fast (a big deal for me and something I don't often see), the gym was passable, the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have a meal in the lounge. Food is excellent and reasonably priced.

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Very Good!

Very clean and modern! Can't really beat it for the price. I stayed at the marriot a couple weeks before and this was BY FAR better/nicer and a LOT cheaper. I loved that it was near Ralph's grocery store, but also nearby all the good restaurants downtown and LA live. The bar downstairs was also really nice and looked like it had great food (I didn't look at the menu until after I was leaving and was bummed that I didn't eat there the night before). Only thing I didn't like was that there was NO sink space, which made it a little bit difficult to get ready in the morning - in fact, I dropped my straightening iron in the sink. All in all, VERY nice and clean hotel. I will definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Nov 10, 2010

Very Good!

Very clean and modern! Can't really beat it for the price. I stayed at the marriot a couple weeks before and this was BY FAR better/nicer and a LOT cheaper. I loved that it was near Ralph's grocery store, but also nearby all the good restaurants downtown and LA live. The bar downstairs was also really nice and looked like it had great food (I didn't look at the menu until after I was leaving and was bummed that I didn't eat there the night before). Only thing I didn't like was that there was NO sink space, which made it a little bit difficult to get ready in the morning - in fact, I dropped my straightening iron in the sink. All in all, VERY nice and clean hotel. I will definitely book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tx
Oct 27, 2010

Hidden Service Fees

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convention center is close by.

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, tx
Oct 27, 2010

Hidden Service Fees

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convention center is close by.

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami fl
Oct 12, 2010

it was ok

the day staff was pretty rude, one specific girl in particular, didnt want to deal with her at all. the night staff super sweet and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we ate at Chaya downtown and the Standard hotel is across the street.

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami fl
Oct 12, 2010

it was ok

the day staff was pretty rude, one specific girl in particular, didnt want to deal with her at all. the night staff super sweet and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

we ate at Chaya downtown and the Standard hotel is across the street.

Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA One-Nighter
Business
Huntington Beach
Oct 11, 2010

O My What Fun

Needed an upscale, business hotel for one night in LA in order to make an early studio call. Over the weekend, hotels in the financial district tend to have great rates, and this one cost me about $125. Not bad for a modern, boutique hotel. The only issue was the party going on downstairs, which was on the floor below me at the club. That ended around midnight, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food here, and a nice bar. Why go out?

Back to menu Return to top