$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

O Hotel

3 stars
819 S Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Get away

Staying here was great. Staff gave us everything we needed. My girlfriend and I drink a lot of... See full review

  • Sim Sima
  • Aug 23, 2014
Perfect stay

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food. Wonderful driver. Great design. See full review

  • Berlin Architect
  • Nov 19, 2013
Welcome to the O Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles! The O is an independent boutique hotel, featuring 67 modern rooms in a unique, historic setting. Built in 1925, The O was completely renovated in 2007, and now presents a warm, sophisticated experience, with a bit of vintage flair. Located on Flower St. between 8th and 9th streets, in the heart of the Financial District, we're within easy walking distance to most of Downtown's major attractions, including the Staples Center, L.A. Live, the Convention Center, Pershing Square, Disney Concert Hall, and the Music Center. The 7th Street Metro Center is one block away, and offers the quickest, most affordable transportation to Universal Studios and the heart of Hollywood. Located on the lobby level, Bar | Kitchen is a seasonal American restaurant open for Lunch, Happy Hour, and Dinner, as well as room service. Also in the lobby, Oasis City Spa offers massage, manicure, pedicure, facial, and waxing services in a modern, unique, and relaxing environment. The O Hotel also offers a variety of intimate event and meeting spaces for your next corporate function, birthday, or social gathering.

Hotel Map

34.0471 -118.2609
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport 17 miles (LAX), Burbank Airport 15 miles.
Area description
Located in the heart of the city's Financial District and part of the ongoing revitalization of downtown Los Angeles, O Hotel is across the street from shops and dining at Macy?s Plaza, only a few blocks from the sports arena Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center. It is an easy stroll to the Fashion and Jewelry Districts and a good-distance walk up to the Arts District, in the vicinity of the Civic Center and the Los Angeles City Hall.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

O Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Room with 1 queen bed include flat-screen Samsung Smart TV, high-speed internet access, ergonomic chairs, mini bar, alarm clock with iPod docking station, personal safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • The Grove: 5.8 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 5.9 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.1 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.1 mi
  • Kitson: 7.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.4 mi
  • University of California: 10.5 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.5 mi

Dining

Bar | Kitchen
Located inside the O Hotel in downtown LA, Bar | Kitchen is a seasonal American restaurant rooted in the tradition of market fresh cuisine, small production wines by the glass, craft beers, and classically inspired cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The O Hotel offers unique meeting and event spaces for intimate groups, conferences, and private dining parties. Catering can be provided in most areas by Bar | Kitchen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for O Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Labor lawyer
Business
Massachusetts
Nov 14, 2014

Comfortable but additional $14 fee and active bar downstairs on weekends

The staff was very nice. However I was very annoyed at the $14 per NIGHT MANDATORY FEE for amenities that I did not have time to use. The breakfast was nothing special but it was well done. The room was small with a view of the building next door, but it was very comfortable and everything worked. The next building is so close, I could not see down to the street or up to the sky. I just kept the drapes closed. It was very quiet during the weekdays but there was loud music and loud people in the bar downstairs on the weekend late into the night. I easily walked to the Convention Center and felt safe doing it. Over all, I really liked the place, but I felt deceived about the price and I left feeling that I had paid too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dezology
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 5, 2014

It'll do.

If you're looking to stay in a central location downtown, this isn't a bad option. The breakfast is pretty basic; bagels, toast, Cheerios/Raisin Bran, Danishes and juice. Yes, the room is small, but most folks generally spend most of their time out of the hotel so it doesn't matter much. All in all, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I avoided paying the $18 per night in parking by using Uber/Lyft to literally go EVERYWHERE! Much cheaper than a taxi and quick too! If you're unfamiliar, definitely take a second to google them. Huge money saver!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dodger love
Business
los angeles
Oct 6, 2014

Customer service can ruin it all

I am torn between 1 or 2 stars because Chris who checked us in was great, but Javie at the front desk the day we checked out, was horrible! Good location in downtown, located very close to a ton of places. Clean hotel and decent price for its location. We tried to check in early because we had an even to attend but unfortunately the type of room we had paid for was unavailable. Later on we checked in easily but unfortunately we were given the wrong room. We had paid for a King City view room which is a higher priced room yet we got a Queen bed facing the wall of the building next door and 2 clubs/bars below us. The room did not have double pane windows either so we got to listen to the crowd & music until 2 am. When I contacted the front desk upon entering the room, Chris was very apologetic and said they were overbooked but offered to immediately work on getting us a discount on the room since we had already paid in full plus waive their $14 hotel fee. Chris soon after let us know he was able to get a partial refund for us and that when we checked out we would get some type of confirmation. When we went to check out, I asked Javie regarding the partial refund and waiving the hotels $14 service fee. Javie immediately (with attitude) said to me he had no idea what I was talking about and I needed to contact the company I used to book the hotel. I told Javie that the hotel messed up my reservations and that Chris tried to handle it with getting us a partial refund and waive the $14 fee. I asked him if he saw any notes in the computer at which time he decided to look. He said that yes they waived the $14 but that since he wasn’t there last night he had nothing to do with the situation and I needed to contact them myself. I tried to tell him what Chris had told us and Javie cut me off in the middle of speaking to “remind” me again that he wasn’t there and I needed to handle it or contact Chris later to figure it out. I understand Javie wasn’t there but no need for the attitude, to cut me off or tell me I need to handle it. I am a paying customer, the company he works for screwed up and whether or not he was there or had anything to do with it, he needs to not be rude and maybe suggest getting a manager involved or offer to have the manager contact me when available. I asked for his managers name and said I would just take care of it myself, thanked Javie for his "pleasant attitude" and we left. Those 5 minutes of interaction with such a rude front desk person ruined the whole experience. Yes were not happy about the downgrade and the fact that there were two veryloud bars/clubs underneath us but Chris tried to make it better immediately. Javie on the other hand needs some more training on how to handle paying customers or may be not be at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel charges an additional $14 service fee that you are charged for at check out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianaT
Business
Denver
Sep 30, 2014

Convenient boutique hotel

The hotel was nice, the restaurant was good, the location was great. The room was small, but nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We weren't at the hotel much except at night to sleep so I think the main downfall of O Hotel was that we could hear the bass and music from the club below until after 1pm. Overall, a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Sugarfish Sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ibodnar
Business
Ohio
Sep 1, 2014

Great Downtown Location

The O Hotel is in a great location right in Downtown LA. There are plenty of great local attractions (LA Live), restaurants, and bars within walking distance. The staff was incredibly friendly and our room was always clean. The rooms are a little darker, even with all the lights, but it was not too much of an issue for us. Also, you will not necessarily get a view of the city, our room had a view of many windows next door, which we were aware of as a possibility when booking a room with "city or limited view." Do keep in mind that there is a $14 service fee per day that is added to your bill at the end. This fee includes WiFi, breakfast, bottled water, the newspaper, access to Gold's Gym a block away, and many other things. The complimentary breakfast includes a variety of pastries, bagels, cereal, coffee, tea, milk, and juice. It was just perfect for the morning. The downstairs features a restaurant that is open for lunch and dinner. Parking is available via a third-party garage right next door. It is first-come-first-serve, but we never had an issue finding a spot. It was about $18 for 24 hours, but you can get in-and-out privileges for 24 hours for $30. Because so many things are within walking distance, we found we didn't have to drive much anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sim Sima
Business
New York
Aug 23, 2014

Get away

Staying here was great. Staff gave us everything we needed. My girlfriend and I drink a lot of water so they provided us with bottles when we asked for extra. They gave bad aids when I got a cut, they let me print out documents. The place was modern, clean. The price was very good compared to everything else that looked as good. Parking in the area was very easy and cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brizzle from bakersfield
Business
LA
Aug 4, 2014

On point with price

The price was very reasonable for the hotel. Much cheaper than other places in dtla but what more do you need? A good secure place to stay and a fair price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElFloridaResident
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jul 16, 2014

LA Getaway.

Great value and location for a cool boutique hotel. Next door parking is a big plus. I will stay at this hotel again during my next trip to LA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli at Ralph's Supermarket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
3000
Business
Laguna hills
Jun 30, 2014

Overpriced dump

The only thing good about this hotel was the location I thought it was way overpriced for what I got I much rather stay at the luxe hotel same price for a nicer newer room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teeori
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 6, 2014

O Hotel

The O Hotel room was very nice, appealing, clean and comfortable.I liked the security to use the elevator. The Bar/restaurant had a nice ambience although the bar was limited on the variety of alcohol, they did make substitutions. I felt the desk clerk was not very friendly. He had a rough tone of voice. The view out my window was a brick wall. I had to pay $18 for garage parking per day which I think they should have mentioned in their hotel advertisement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The parking garage is $18 per day even on weekends. You need to figure this in on the day rate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top