$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

O Hotel

3 stars
819 S Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
84 reviews
Get away

Staying here was great. Staff gave us everything we needed. My girlfriend and I drink a lot of... See full review

  • Sim Sima
  • Aug 23, 2014
Perfect stay

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food. Wonderful driver. Great design. See full review

  • Berlin Architect
  • Nov 19, 2013
Modern, independent boutique hotel near Staples Center in L.A.
The O Hotel is stylish and provides 67-rooms in a five-story building in downtown Los Angeles. Punctuated on the outside with black-and-white glass, and on the inside by a brick-walled restaurant and bar (whiskey drinks are a specialty), this hotel is a marker of the exciting millennial renaissance of downtown. A service charge provides guests of the O Hotel with high-speed wireless Internet access, bottled water and access to a nearby Gold's Gym.
Highlights
  • Refurbished 1920s building
  • Renovated in 2007
  • iPod docks
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • Non-smoking property
Location
The O Hotel is located in the Los Angeles financial district between Eighth and Ninth streets within walking distance of the Staples Center, L.A. Live, Nokia Theatre and Los Angeles Convention Center. 
Rooms
O Hotel rooms are for individuals, couples and business travelers with either one full bed, queen bed, King bed or two twin beds. Minimalist decor includes crisp white linens and flat-screen smart TVs mounted on walls above writing desks. Sleek washbasins are raised and supplied with eco-friendly products. Amenities at the O Hotel include mini-bars, in-room safes and coffee makers. Wi-Fi Internet access is provided.
Features

Meet up before Staples Center events in the geometrical lobby of the O Hotel. Return for continental breakfast and morning newspapers (covered by a resort fee, which also includes Wi-Fi, bottled water and Gold's Gym access). Relax, Revive and Rejuvenate with massages and facials in the brand new Oasis City Spa. Socialize downstairs with California market fresh lunches and dinners, creative whiskey and bourbon drinks and global wine list at the Bar | Kitchen restaurant. The front desk of the O Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)
  • Burbank Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • 7th Street Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Union Station (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Angeles Convention Center/Staples Center/L.A. Live (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fashion district (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Courts and government offices (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of Southern California (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Dodger Stadium (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Bright conference space accommodates up to 15 people
  • Banquet space accommodates up to 100 people
  • Desks with ergonomic chairs in all rooms
Policies and fees
Parking is available next door (fees apply). High-speed wireless Internet is included in the hotel service charge of $14 USD per night stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0471 -118.2609
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport 17 miles (LAX), Burbank Airport 15 miles.
Area description
Located in the heart of the city's Financial District and part of the ongoing revitalization of downtown Los Angeles, O Hotel is across the street from shops and dining at Macy?s Plaza, only a few blocks from the sports arena Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center. It is an easy stroll to the Fashion and Jewelry Districts and a good-distance walk up to the Arts District, in the vicinity of the Civic Center and the Los Angeles City Hall.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

O Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Room with 1 queen bed include flat-screen Samsung Smart TV, high-speed internet access, ergonomic chairs, mini bar, alarm clock with iPod docking station, personal safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • The Grove: 5.8 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 5.9 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.1 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.1 mi
  • Kitson: 7.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.4 mi
  • University of California: 10.5 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.5 mi

Dining

Bar | Kitchen
Located inside the O Hotel in downtown LA, Bar | Kitchen is a seasonal American restaurant rooted in the tradition of market fresh cuisine, small production wines by the glass, craft beers, and classically inspired cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The O Hotel offers unique meeting and event spaces for intimate groups, conferences, and private dining parties. Catering can be provided in most areas by Bar | Kitchen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for O Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
suitland md
Oct 12, 2009

cozy vacation spot

- didn't like that I had to pay to park after i paid for my hotel should be included in the price. - FYI- shower needs door. water spills out onto floor when you shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aunt Fred
Business
DC
Oct 4, 2009

Great Location, Super price!!

Great location - downtown LA; and prices were so good I upgraded on the room! Rooms can be small but I knew that going in, very European and that doesn't bother me. Nice alternative to corporate hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NashvilleStar
Nashville, TN
Sep 7, 2009

Ok at best

Great first impression in the lobby! However, the guys at the front desk (although very nice) are all but interested in working and servicing guests. Be prepared to wait until they get done gabbing with each other or showing friends their "art" on their laptops in the back. The rooms are very modern, but also very small. Good size for one person, but they were a little too cramped for my husband, me, and our luggage. The showers look great but very impractical for taking showers, unless you want to hold the shower head attachment the entire time. Water ends up spraying all over the tiny bathroom. The sink leaves no room for setting your toiletries and good luck trying to get ready in the morning using a mirror. No vent means the mirrors stay fogged up, inside and outside of bathroom. There is a long desk across from the bed that I ended up using in the mornings to get ready (good thing I brought a handheld mirror!). No wi fi, you have to plug in an ethernet cord (ask the front desk for one). Final say: Good-looking hotel, but very impractical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The location of the hotel is great for quick stops like Coffee Bean (there are two around the corner)and Ralph's grocery store. Also, park in the garage next to the hotel. Ask the front desk about the unlimited parking ($18/day, which is entirely affordable when you consider the low rates at the hotel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oklahoma Sooner
Oklahoma City, OK
Aug 22, 2009

Wonderful Getaway

The hotel was in a very central location to what I want to do, go and see. For Downtown it was in a very pleasant area and central located for traveling the metro rail system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance from Sprint Center where all sporting events are. Centrally located to Metro Train travel from and to airport which is alot cheaper than a taxi need to have more information on how to connect with the FlyAway bus that goes into the Union Station and then train stop to downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
content
los angeles
Aug 16, 2009

nice hotel, great location

The staff was not unnfriendly but could have been friendlier and a little more helpful. everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

la cita bar, bar 105, and hanks are all small local bars that seemed to have good music and younger crowds. they're located a short cab ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Aug 10, 2009

Funky, but in a good way.

I went there for a convention. The hotel was about 5-6 blocks from the convention center. A short, pleasant walk each day. The hotel is small (about 65 rooms), but great care was taken to remodel an old building to make it cool, hip and funky (in a good way). They have succeeded. The staff was very friendly & helpful, the free continental breakfast was nice (note that there are 3 breakfast-type places within a 3 block walk that are open 24 hours/day). The only complaint I have is with the shower. They put super futuristic showers in these rooms. They look beautiful -- works of art, really. Unfortnately, they aren't that useful for taking a shower. Actually though, that is a minor complaint. This hotel offers a good experience and a good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cicada Restaurant -- about a block away. Excellent Italian; moderate to expensive. Many, many other good dining choices in the area - all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Aug 7, 2009

Good location

Close to public transport just as well as there isnt much to do in downtown LA. Staff were quite good but not brilliant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

public transport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg's travles
Chicago, IL
Aug 2, 2009

The building has a lot of charm

It's walking distance from the Staples center and very easy access to the 110,101, and 10. Great stay for singles. The staff was welcoming and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

So, close to LA live. Many new and old places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
USC College Mom
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 18, 2009

O Hotel - Modern and Fun

My USC college Freshman and I were in L.A. for his orientation. The first night we were there, he roomed with me in our one queensized bed room. The second night, he stayed on campus and I was by myself. The hotel is a couple of miles away from USC, and thus, we had to get creative with traveling back and forth from the school to the hotel because we did not have a rental car. The DASH bus system was right outside the door and easy/cheap to use, but they don't operate after 6:30 p.m., so getting back to the hotel later in the evening is complicated. This was a little limiting and discouraging. I made the reservation at the O Hotel as part of a flight/hotel package through Cheap Tickets. I called the hotel a few weeks after making the reservation to confirm the room. They did NOT have a reservation in my name, and I had to call Cheap Tickets to straighten it out. They did so, and when I called the second time, a few days later, the room reservation was there. I would recommend confirming, as well, if making the reservation through someone else besides the hotel. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly. We checked in quickly. The room was very contemporary, pleasant to the eye and very clean. There is wireless internet available, but only four or five television stations. Two items of interest: The room is very small. The bathroom, too, is very small. No counterspace whatsover in bathroom, and only one sink. The shower is modern and a bit tricky to figure out. Otherwise, it is beautiful and up-to-date with slate and marble everywhere. The lobby is refined and comfortable, with a fireplace area, bar and restaurant therein. There was live jazz one evening, and I took advantage of listening over a couple of drinks and light dinner. The wait staff was efficient and the food was delicious. Menu offers a good variety with unique preparation, which I appreciated since I'm a bit of a food snob and don't want run-of-the-mill meals I can get anywhere. The restaurant experience was very satisfying, with way too many delish dishes to decide from. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in small parties. This is not a hotel for families with small children (under 14). The rooms are too tight to accomodate more than two (3 max) people comfortably. If you are traveling with small children, I would recommend not staying here more than a night or two unless you will be out of the hotel for the majority of the day. There is no pool and little to keep the younger kids entertained. Perfect accommodations for business, single, or couple travel. I will definitely stay here again when in Los Angeles. Only a few blocks away from the Staples Center on one end, and the Disney Hall cultural business area in the other direction. Many good restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DASH bus system. It takes you everywhere in the immediate area for only 25 cents per ride. Evening hours are limiting though. Pick up a brochure from DASH to map out your destinations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
southwestdove
southern california
Jul 14, 2009

Never again

Will not return to this hotel. Room was painfully austere, minimal to the nines. Not even enough room in bathroom for a towel rack. It is mosquito infested. The air conditioner unit is noisy, and during the day, the steam rises from other showers, presumably from lower floors, and the humidity is unbearable in the room. No shampoo in room, had to ask twice for it to be delivered by housekeeping. There was a large concrete block that rose above the carpeting, and was dangerous to the foot, on entry to the bathroom. The heat in the elevator was terrible. The lobby is nice, and the staff tries to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search