$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

O Hotel

3 stars
819 S Flower St., Los Angeles, CA 90017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Get away

Staying here was great. Staff gave us everything we needed. My girlfriend and I drink a lot of... See full review

  • Sim Sima
  • Aug 23, 2014
Perfect stay

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food. Wonderful driver. Great design. See full review

  • Berlin Architect
  • Nov 19, 2013
Modern, independent boutique hotel near Staples Center in L.A.
The O Hotel is stylish and provides 67-rooms in a five-story building in downtown Los Angeles. Punctuated on the outside with black-and-white glass, and on the inside by a brick-walled restaurant and bar (whiskey drinks are a specialty), this hotel is a marker of the exciting millennial renaissance of downtown. A service charge provides guests of the O Hotel with high-speed wireless Internet access, bottled water and access to a nearby Gold's Gym.
Highlights
  • Refurbished 1920s building
  • Renovated in 2007
  • iPod docks
  • High-speed wireless Internet access
  • Non-smoking property
Location
The O Hotel is located in the Los Angeles financial district between Eighth and Ninth streets within walking distance of the Staples Center, L.A. Live, Nokia Theatre and Los Angeles Convention Center. 
Rooms
O Hotel rooms are for individuals, couples and business travelers with either one full bed, queen bed, King bed or two twin beds. Minimalist decor includes crisp white linens and flat-screen smart TVs mounted on walls above writing desks. Sleek washbasins are raised and supplied with eco-friendly products. Amenities at the O Hotel include mini-bars, in-room safes and coffee makers. Wi-Fi Internet access is provided.
Features

Meet up before Staples Center events in the geometrical lobby of the O Hotel. Return for continental breakfast and morning newspapers (covered by a resort fee, which also includes Wi-Fi, bottled water and Gold's Gym access). Relax, Revive and Rejuvenate with massages and facials in the brand new Oasis City Spa. Socialize downstairs with California market fresh lunches and dinners, creative whiskey and bourbon drinks and global wine list at the Bar | Kitchen restaurant. The front desk of the O Hotel is staffed 24 hours a day.

Transportation
  • Los Angeles International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)
  • Burbank Airport (17.5 mi/28.2 km)
  • 7th Street Metro stop (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Union Station (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
Attractions
  • Los Angeles Convention Center/Staples Center/L.A. Live (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Fashion district (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Courts and government offices (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • University of Southern California (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Dodger Stadium (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Bright conference space accommodates up to 15 people
  • Banquet space accommodates up to 100 people
  • Desks with ergonomic chairs in all rooms
Policies and fees
Parking is available next door (fees apply). High-speed wireless Internet is included in the hotel service charge of $14 USD per night stay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0471 -118.2609
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport 17 miles (LAX), Burbank Airport 15 miles.
Area description
Located in the heart of the city's Financial District and part of the ongoing revitalization of downtown Los Angeles, O Hotel is across the street from shops and dining at Macy?s Plaza, only a few blocks from the sports arena Staples Center and the Los Angeles Convention Center. It is an easy stroll to the Fashion and Jewelry Districts and a good-distance walk up to the Arts District, in the vicinity of the Civic Center and the Los Angeles City Hall.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed O Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

O Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Queen Room
Room with 1 queen bed include flat-screen Samsung Smart TV, high-speed internet access, ergonomic chairs, mini bar, alarm clock with iPod docking station, personal safety deposit box.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.4 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.8 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Music Center: 1.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.2 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 2.6 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 2.8 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.4 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.5 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5.6 mi
  • The Grove: 5.8 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 5.9 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.1 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.4 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 6.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.1 mi
  • Kitson: 7.3 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.1 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.4 mi
  • University of California: 10.5 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.8 mi
  • UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.5 mi

Dining

Bar | Kitchen
Located inside the O Hotel in downtown LA, Bar | Kitchen is a seasonal American restaurant rooted in the tradition of market fresh cuisine, small production wines by the glass, craft beers, and classically inspired cocktails.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The O Hotel offers unique meeting and event spaces for intimate groups, conferences, and private dining parties. Catering can be provided in most areas by Bar | Kitchen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for O Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slickd
Business
Encino, California
Jan 22, 2013

Woken Up at 6am By Garbage

Overall, the hotel is nice and it's location is nice. The problem is that we were woken up at 6am by the sounds of the garbage truck and this went on for about 2 hours. I still don't know where all that garbage could have come from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not Telling
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Not a fan of Flower Street Suite

I brought the girlfriend here to stay in our flower street suite and before we even got to our room we were met with a hot floor where the maids were doing laundry and had stuffed hundreds of towels into the corner of the hallway where we had to get to our room. Subsequently we walked in and it was muggy and humid in the room so we opened the window until we were done getting ready to go to nokia theater. I got in the shower and it was as if whoever designed the shower forgot that you actually had to take a shower in there and the glass fixture was about a foot and a half to short and the shower head didn't help. When I got out my gf pointed out all the stains on the bed cover we were to sleep under. I grabbed the remote for the AC (no central air) that was held on the wall with velcro and tried to remember that I was staying in a $250/night room. So we closed the window and decided to turn the A/C on before we left for our show and set it to 75 degrees to match the ambient air temperature outside. We got back and walked into a hot room again, so we opened the window and fiddled with the A/C some more but it wouldn't go below 81 degrees. We were woken by moving trucks at 7 am on saturday and decided it was time to leave. I'm not sure if they purposely stuck us in the room because we had booked with orbitz but it's worth finding out since we only had to pay $165/night instead of their ridiculous rate. Although I wouldn't stay there again for either of those rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
southwestdove
Business
southern california
Jul 14, 2009

Never again

Will not return to this hotel. Room was painfully austere, minimal to the nines. Not even enough room in bathroom for a towel rack. It is mosquito infested. The air conditioner unit is noisy, and during the day, the steam rises from other showers, presumably from lower floors, and the humidity is unbearable in the room. No shampoo in room, had to ask twice for it to be delivered by housekeeping. There was a large concrete block that rose above the carpeting, and was dangerous to the foot, on entry to the bathroom. The heat in the elevator was terrible. The lobby is nice, and the staff tries to be helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bfuddled
Business
San Diego
Apr 5, 2010

L.A. Laker weekend getaway

They call this a "boutique" hotel. What that really means is that the rooms are small, service isn't good and the staff are trying to be too hip to be friendly.While the decor was upgraded, it was not suitable unless you're travling alone and don't need much. We couldn't get local channels and the staff did nothing to accommodate us. Spend a few more dollars and stay at a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
3000
Business
Laguna hills
Jun 30, 2014

Overpriced dump

The only thing good about this hotel was the location I thought it was way overpriced for what I got I much rather stay at the luxe hotel same price for a nicer newer room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dodger love
Business
los angeles
Oct 6, 2014

Customer service can ruin it all

I am torn between 1 or 2 stars because Chris who checked us in was great, but Javie at the front desk the day we checked out, was horrible! Good location in downtown, located very close to a ton of places. Clean hotel and decent price for its location. We tried to check in early because we had an even to attend but unfortunately the type of room we had paid for was unavailable. Later on we checked in easily but unfortunately we were given the wrong room. We had paid for a King City view room which is a higher priced room yet we got a Queen bed facing the wall of the building next door and 2 clubs/bars below us. The room did not have double pane windows either so we got to listen to the crowd & music until 2 am. When I contacted the front desk upon entering the room, Chris was very apologetic and said they were overbooked but offered to immediately work on getting us a discount on the room since we had already paid in full plus waive their $14 hotel fee. Chris soon after let us know he was able to get a partial refund for us and that when we checked out we would get some type of confirmation. When we went to check out, I asked Javie regarding the partial refund and waiving the hotels $14 service fee. Javie immediately (with attitude) said to me he had no idea what I was talking about and I needed to contact the company I used to book the hotel. I told Javie that the hotel messed up my reservations and that Chris tried to handle it with getting us a partial refund and waive the $14 fee. I asked him if he saw any notes in the computer at which time he decided to look. He said that yes they waived the $14 but that since he wasn’t there last night he had nothing to do with the situation and I needed to contact them myself. I tried to tell him what Chris had told us and Javie cut me off in the middle of speaking to “remind” me again that he wasn’t there and I needed to handle it or contact Chris later to figure it out. I understand Javie wasn’t there but no need for the attitude, to cut me off or tell me I need to handle it. I am a paying customer, the company he works for screwed up and whether or not he was there or had anything to do with it, he needs to not be rude and maybe suggest getting a manager involved or offer to have the manager contact me when available. I asked for his managers name and said I would just take care of it myself, thanked Javie for his "pleasant attitude" and we left. Those 5 minutes of interaction with such a rude front desk person ruined the whole experience. Yes were not happy about the downgrade and the fact that there were two veryloud bars/clubs underneath us but Chris tried to make it better immediately. Javie on the other hand needs some more training on how to handle paying customers or may be not be at the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel charges an additional $14 service fee that you are charged for at check out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JC mom of 3
Business
Alabama
Jan 9, 2014

Needs a bit more

The O Hotel seemed to have a good location to the Staples Center, for the price. Negative- parking. There is no parking so you have to park in the lot next door, which was pretty reasonable. Total negative- bathroom. Although modern and clean the shower was an absolute nightmare. It is a wand which does not have a direct stream and gets the floor a lot more wet than it does the individual showering. It was truly awful. Overall it was an average hotel. Nothing fancy. Reasonably priced. Will probably not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kris G.
Business
Merced
Feb 10, 2014

Great location, room needs improvement

Very short walking distance to Staples Center (about 5 minutes) and to local restaurants. Parking is fine, 15 dollars per day. The inside lobby is small and continental breakfast the next morning. They have a bar but I didn't use it. The elevator is red, which is different. I was on the 5th floor and the hallway is very small and our room was facing another side building, which I already knew about when I booked it. There is a 14 dollar charge for additional services but when I asked for a list/flyer they didn't have any and the only one they had was the one they point out to customers. The room and bathroom had a weird smell and the paint on the walls seemed like it needed a lot of touchup. Bathroom is really small and the shower is made to be modern I guess but it didn't hang from the top but instead from the side and it was hard to wash the top of my head or bottom of my body. It also splashed water outside of the shower so cloths that were on the floor got wet. My friend would stay again because it was only for one night and not a week long stay but I wouldn't. Location is the best but overall I would rather pay extra for a higher end hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Randyinsf
Business
San Francisco
Jun 22, 2013

Basic, Served the purpose

Looks better than it is. The hotel lacks attention to detail in the facilities. Room smells damp and musty. Hotel book was stained from water damage and had duplicate pages. The staff was friendly enough and accommodating. The view from my room was the space between buildings so a lot of AC units and duct work. If you sacrifice a view the room should sparkle. it didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

LA Fashion District

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of O Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 25, 2008

LACKS BASIC ACCOMEDATIONS

NO BOTTLE WATER OR VENDING MACHINES FOR LATE NIGHT THIRST. AC NOT AS COLD AT ALL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top