$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
154 reviews
Overnight Business Trip

I enjoyed my stay. The staff is prompt and welcoming. The café is great. Walking distance to the... See full review

  • Tiffany W.
  • Mar 4, 2015
friend

Very good and I will book next time and it is a very good place that you can go shopping See full review

  • Yawan Xiong
  • Jan 19, 2015
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location
The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.
Rooms
A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.
Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Universal Studios: 9.1 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 154
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sick traveler
Business
San Diego
Oct 9, 2009

Poor customer service

Hotel will not refund your money or give you a credit for a future stay if you cannot keep your reservations due to a medical emergency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
catherine l.
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

whack

for how much it cost money was a waste would not recommend to to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Oct 26, 2008

Avoid Room 309

I had room 309 which was awful! Peeling wall paper, broken bedside lamp, desk ceiling light, and coffee maker (they did replace the coffee maker!). The carpet was starting to look a little warn. The room had a terrible view of the hotel's roof and it's venting/mechanical systems. We did spend quite a bit of time in the room so this was particularly bad. I called the front desk and the person on duty said there were no other rooms available to switch. The room was clean and the cleaning staff very nice. We asked for an extra coffee packet and we got it everyday after we asked which made the coffee satisfactory. The location is great. My family lives about a mile away so I had a quick commute. Similarly, there are tons of Sushi restaurants, two museums, shopping and freeways. If my room wasn't so awful, I would have given a better review. I hope your stay is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants. Pinkberry is close as well and open late. Japanese American Museum is across the street and down the block as well as the Geffen Contemporary which is part of the LA MOCA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Japan
Jun 25, 2009

So so・・・

That room was stinky. so We'd like to cheange a room but We could not change! I don't wanna stay. Never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chow H
Business
California, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Good location

Location close to subway and a lot of Japanese restaurants around..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BonnieDee
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Los Angeles

The hotel was clean, the location was fantastic, I did not like the fact that they didont offer room services like wine and dine 24/7 I asked for a wine glass and they gave me little coffe cups. Also I don't know if it's an LA thing, but I had to pay 230 dollars for valet parking because they don't offer parking.another day I asked for two towels and the cleaning lady asked me to bring out the towels and garbesh I couldn't believe it . Other than that the rooms are clean except the smoking room those look like seaside hotels gross. But everything else was great the staff was really friendly and the valet guys were great. I made the best of the hotel. We overall had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down a few blocks towards the standard hotel you will find more nightlife;) or you can go to Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrPA
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 26, 2012

Ordinary Accomodations

Nothing special distinguishes the Miyako Hotel as Japanese in terms of service or flair. Many staff did not speak Japanese. Room was average. Surface items such as lobby and shower have been upgraded, but overall flavor is old and in need of refurbishing. In terms of cost -- overpriced. Its redeeming virtue is being next to the Little Tokyo neighborhood, but that has faded and much of Japanese culture has migrated to other parts of Los Angeles. We will choose a motel, or something, in one of these other areas next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time in MB
Business
SF, CA
Nov 18, 2013

smoking floors smell lke ashtrays

stay away from the smoking rooms/floors. the smell is pervasive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S.F Bay Area
Mar 29, 2011

Not Bad

Can't say the staffs are helpful, but they are doing their jobs. Hotel location is good, right across a restaurant that we are long to try out, and the hotel is literally in Japan Village, walking distance to city center, and 5 minutes driving to Staple Center. Overall, the stay of this hotel is at the average in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to wait in the line 5-10 minutes before the restaurant opens

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don guru
Business
burnaby, BC Canada
Jun 25, 2014

fabulous service

The staff were very friendly! Everything was very clean and the location was great too! Also a very safe neighbourhood and very quiet at night no trouble

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Gen

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top