$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 8, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
153 reviews
friend

Very good and I will book next time and it is a very good place that you can go shopping See full review

  • Yawan Xiong
  • Jan 19, 2015
Clean, Comfortable, and Convenient Location

Just like the title says, the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The spa looked... See full review

  • Chunks
  • Nov 13, 2014
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location
The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.
Rooms
A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.
Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Universal Studios: 9.1 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (153)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
153 out of 153
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Very nice hotel

The hotel room was very nice, with all the amenities (including a flat screen TV bigger than my one at home). The room's slightly crowded just because they put a lot of useful things in it. Nice size desk, hidden mini fridge (that really gets cold fast), chair and ottoman, 2 beds, etc. The hotel and room had many Asian decorator touches that I liked. The room was a great price and valet parking is only $18, but public parking is next door if you prefer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trucha
Business
Oakland, CA
May 31, 2010

Great Find!

The hotel came recommended by a friend and I can see why. I was in town for a wedding and drove from the Bay Area. I arrived early and was greated by the valet staff. They suggested I try and check in early, otherwise offered to park my car and hold my things until I could check in. Luckily I was able to check in early! The front desk staff were not as friendly and a bit "indifferent" but was provided good service. The room was on the 10th floor, clean, and it was well equipped with all the amenities. Free DSL (no wifi), great view of downtown, large comfy bed, flat screen TV, etc. The bathroom was clean and had an electric bidet! The hotel is conveniently located close to shops, restaurants of all types (not just Asian food), bars and public transit. I even checked out the kareoke bar in the hotel and had a good time. The bell and parking staff were all super nice and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back should I need to stay in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Far Bar is right across the street and has a great happy hour menu with outside seating and live entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berkeley
Dec 27, 2008

Convenient but stupid

Miyako hotel was pretty good, it is very convenient as it is close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Curry house, Orochon, Pinkberry

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Dodgers!
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Apr 4, 2010

Clean, solid service, reasonably priced

We came into town for the Dodger game and to see the zoo. The location is great for both - no more than 10 minutes. Valet parking with unlimited in and out was just $2 per day more than self park and the attendants were dressed well, spoke English, and were polite and helpful. Lobby staff was equally polite and check in was a breeze. We were on our way to our room in just a few minutes. Our room was quite clean and had a nice view. Although the building is around 30 years old they have maintained it well. The bedsheets were beautiful and super clean as was the bathroom. No stray hairs, smells, etc. Just clean. We had a nice flat screen TV with a working remote, the refrigerator is a nice touch, and the in-room safe is a must these days. The spa was small but relaxing. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Authentic Japanese restaurants to the right as you leave the building. A nice little mall right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Feb 16, 2010

Good Location

If you're in LA you need a car. Park at the tokyo mall parking lot, it's cheaper than the hotel valet and just a few steps away from the hotel. Save big if you overnight park after midnight, only five bucks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brasil
May 1, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We use to go to the hotel only for sleep but it has good things to do there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Malibu, CA
Mar 15, 2011

Nice and Clean

Very nice friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Also very close to the Dorothy Chandler Music Center and Disney Hall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angelas, CA
Apr 5, 2011

Miyako Hotel Review

- Room is very clean - Friendly staff - Good location in downtown - Great Japanese restraunt opposite the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dakua Original Noodle ( right opposite the hotel), food was great with reasonable price, seems to be very popular with the locals as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Jun 26, 2011

Good experience

I had an enjoyable experience. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. We had a problem with the air conditioner not working well, and the hotel fixed it promptly. The hotel room itself was okay, though not luxurious. The hotel bar was somewhat pricey, however. They have a $6 cover charge and 2 drink minimum, so I would recommend going elsewhere for drinks. It would be nice if the hotel had a swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fey Saechao
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 5, 2009

Great hotel for the price!

I stayed here with my bf and several friends during our trip to Universal Studios and Six Flags Magic Mountain. For the price we paid, it's well worth it! The rooms were very clean and nothing needed fixing, which is always a plus. The bed was nice and I LOVED the white comforter they had. It was sooo comfortable! The staff were friendly and helpful. Also, there are a lot of Japanese restaurants within walking distance. We tried Daikokuya across from the hotel. It's a small, but very delicious restaurant that opens late. Their prices cannot be beat! Overall, a wonderful experience. I would definitely come back to the Miyako Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top