$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 29, 2014

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
146 reviews
Clean, Comfortable, and Convenient Location

Just like the title says, the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The spa looked... See full review

  • Chunks
  • Nov 13, 2014
Very clean hotel with a great location

It's located in the center of Japan Town in LA which you can access to great Japanese restaurants... See full review

  • Hyunbbayi
  • Sep 23, 2014
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location
The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.
Rooms
A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.
Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.
  • The spa is closed for maintenance until 6 Dec 2014.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0496 -118.2403
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
LAX - Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in Downtown Los Angeles in the Historic District of Little Tokyo. The Miyako Hotel Los Angeles is next to the Japanese Village Plaza and right across the street from the Japanese American National Museum, the Go For Broke Monument, MOCA, LAPDs Headquarter (Parker Center). We are also only three blocks south of Amtrac/Union Station. Walking distance to many Government offices, The JACCC (Japanese Cultural Community Center), The Japanese American Theatre, East West Players, The Music Center and The Walt Disney Concert Hall. We are also one of many hotels near the Los Angeles Convention Center, Staples Center and Dodger Stadium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.6 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Live to eat and travel
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2014

A bit pricey but overall worth it

The location of this hotel is great if you want to explore Japantown or Koreatown or Downtown LA. Parking is of course pricey, but anywhere you stay in this area, it's going to be and Miyako was on the slightly more affordable side for valet. Staff is very friendly, helpful, and responsive right away for requests. The little Tokyo Village behind the hotel is great for shopping for knick knacks or getting a snack. Rooms are clean and a good size. One downside is the tour guide info desk was not that helpful. We inquired about a couple things: LA garment district, and bus tours. The desk agent didn't speak much english so we guessed it was mainly for Japanese tourists...so that was a downer that they couldn't answer anything for us. If you have a rough plan or idea of what you want to do, and a map (or phone w/ GPS) you'll be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For Japanese (or other Asian cuisine) there are a lot of options within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florraine
Business
Honolulu, HI
Mar 3, 2008

Vacation before going back to real life

At Miyako Hotel my first thought was WOW I am in Los Angeles Little Tokyo for the first time. My thought about being in little Tokyo was this is small. Being from Hawaii my idea about Japan was put in shock. At night I was afraid to be out after dark because there was homeless people asking for money and there was not to much light to brighten things up. The Hotel itself was SO So. The thing that was great was the sauna and the message area. The one thing that will be stamped in my memories is the toilet, I have never used a beday, but it was great. My under side was given pure treatment. You did not here must about the resterant at all. I went to the tour section and she could not help me because I was not Japanies. Yes, I understand you are in Little Tokyo but at least they could have helped me instead of sending me to the Porter or front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are about a mile from China Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Returning LA native
Business
Big Oak Valley, CA
Aug 17, 2009

Charming, well maintained, older hotel

I chose the Miyako for its central location in downtown Los Angeles as I was visiting several people in various directions. Although I mostly ate with friends, the dining in and around Little Tokyo is unlimited in type and price. Valet parking was their only option, at $19 a day plus tax and tip. After one night I parked for $14 in next door public garage, but the elevators were so unreliable that I turned to walking up the ramps. But this situation would by no means prevent a future visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Railfans
Business
Sonoma County, CA
May 10, 2010

Close to LA Union Station

Reasonable value and close to LA Union Station (rail), which is located in a section of downtown with few accommodation options. Miyako Hotel is older, but well maintained and clean, with attentive staff, and located in a neighborhood you can explore on foot. Room in which we stayed could of used a remodel, but aside from minor wear & tear it was perfectly fine and good value. Only complaint was a false fire alarm on one of the nights we lodged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Japanese restaurants every which way you look! Super for Sushi and Udon lovers, but not so great for kids who just want hamburgers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chico, CA
Aug 15, 2010

Nice location

Miyako Hotel is a well-known hotel chain in Japan. So I was excited to stay there before the trip. But the hotel was nothing different from any other hotel that I could stay paying the same amount of money. I don't mean that something was bad. It's just that it was too ordinary. The building seemed a little old and so were the amenities. I liked that I could buy a bottle of water right in the room for $1, since it was difficult to find convenience store around. The location was perfect, at least for me. I enjoyed the Little Tokyo. Plus, it was close to a metro and Union station. The service was ok. I didn't use the spa, since it seemed a little too expensive. I didn't use the restaurants, but my mother said that the panini sandwich from the cafe was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eafy
Business
Roanoke, VA
Nov 2, 2011

Trip to LA

Overall, our stay at the Miyako went very well. The staff was very friendly and helpful--I actually had a package delivered there and they were prompt about letting me know of its arrival. The location is good for driving in LA--not too much of a drive to anywhere. The only thing I would place in the negative column is the parking. They offer valet for just a bit more than the standard parking in their lot, but both seemed expensive for an already pricey room stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nbrown
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 16, 2011

Cheap and Nice

The location of the hotel is in the heart of little Tokyo. It's close to city transit, city hall, a farmers market and an underground strip mall. A short 10 minute walk and you could be on the train to the hottest spots in Hollywood in 20 minutes. It's surrounded by great restaurants, if you love Japanese cuisine. It cost about 62-65 bucks to get to and from LAX by taxi, but once you figure out the city transit system you don't have to worry about that. The only pitfall is, it 's in the middle of a major renovation, but you can't hear anything from the rooms. The staff is very courteous and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Drivers in LA are horrible, and traffic is horrendous. If you feel comfortable with taking public transit do it! saves time and money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chow H
Business
California, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Good value

Good location and not too far from civic centre metro train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bbwape22
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Jan 1, 2012

Good value hotel

Located right at little Tokyo where there are tons of Japanese restaurants. Overnight valet parking is expensive, but found free parking on 2nd st from 8p to 8a. Hotel is pretty dated but got what our basic need. Wifi works on lobby but slow on/off at room. A future renovation and upgrade is a must for this hotel. Nice staffs. Overall very good comfortable hotel right at dt area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "d" ramen place across the street line up till midnight not worth the wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rev. H
Business
Fresno, CA
Dec 28, 2011

LA Trip

Was very nice for the price! Room was clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed some good food at nearby Japanese restuarants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top