$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S.F Bay Area
Mar 29, 2011

Not Bad

Can't say the staffs are helpful, but they are doing their jobs. Hotel location is good, right across a restaurant that we are long to try out, and the hotel is literally in Japan Village, walking distance to city center, and 5 minutes driving to Staple Center. Overall, the stay of this hotel is at the average in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to wait in the line 5-10 minutes before the restaurant opens

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ericpasa
Business
Pasadena, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Not a bad hotel.

It wasn't a bad room, but for what I was paying, I expected more. Not much difference between the regular room and the deluxe room. Basically they scammed an extra $20 for the title "deluxe". Parking is expensive. Other than that. It's a good location to get around the downtown LA sites and there's plenty of entertaining things to do in Little Tokyo and the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daikokuya, the best ramen in all of Los Angeles, is right across the street under the yellow awning. Voted one of the 99 restaurants in LA that you have to eat at according to the LA Weekly.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 9, 2011

My review of Miyako

No free parking. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grey Duck
Business
St. Paul, MN
Aug 23, 2011

The Perfect Hotel for Nisei Week

The location along First Street in the heart of Little Tokyo (or J-Town, as we called it growing up) was perfect. The staff worked extra hard to give me a room that overlooked First Street so we could watch the parade from my room -- a plus if you have elderly parents like I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JCK traveler
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Good location

The hotel in a good location, not far from convention center. Good Japanese food around. We found $8.00 parking very close to the hotel.( Hotel charges $20.00) But the air conditioning in our room was old, the wall was broken, so it's very noisy. The bathroom sink was broken, but the Japanese toilet was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japanese food.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don guru
Business
burnaby, BC Canada
Jun 25, 2014

fabulous service

The staff were very friendly! Everything was very clean and the location was great too! Also a very safe neighbourhood and very quiet at night no trouble

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Gen

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael J.
Business
N/A
Jan 24, 2015

Adequate and capable staff

The spa was closed but with my tight schedule I wasn't able to work in a massage. The staff did everything when asked . But the service was not out of the way. This was the first time I have stayed downtown so getting around and back and forth was a new challenge for me. I probably would not normally pick that hotel and location. I chose Valet Parking. I'm glad I did. It's tight and sometimes a wait for your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
High Adventurer
Business
Singapore
May 7, 2015

great esp if you need hunger pang for japanese food

well located only a station from Union. The location in Japan is great and I feel safe walking about night unlike some parts of LA. The eateries next door is great for Japanese food and good value. Our airport shuttle took us here for $17 door to door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelingstylist
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 16, 2014

No complaints

Japanese hotel with spa services until 11pm! Quiet and comfortable. I would stay again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Live to eat and travel
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2014

A bit pricey but overall worth it

The location of this hotel is great if you want to explore Japantown or Koreatown or Downtown LA. Parking is of course pricey, but anywhere you stay in this area, it's going to be and Miyako was on the slightly more affordable side for valet. Staff is very friendly, helpful, and responsive right away for requests. The little Tokyo Village behind the hotel is great for shopping for knick knacks or getting a snack. Rooms are clean and a good size. One downside is the tour guide info desk was not that helpful. We inquired about a couple things: LA garment district, and bus tours. The desk agent didn't speak much english so we guessed it was mainly for Japanese tourists...so that was a downer that they couldn't answer anything for us. If you have a rough plan or idea of what you want to do, and a map (or phone w/ GPS) you'll be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For Japanese (or other Asian cuisine) there are a lot of options within walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top