$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2015 Check-out: Jul 24, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morning Flight
Business
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Jan 26, 2011

Reasonably priced hotel in LA

The Miyako hotel is conveniently located a block from the Metro yellow line and less than a block from a very cute little Japanese shopping plaza and the Japanese American National Museum. Although I would not have wanted to wander around LA in the dark, I felt reasonably safe walking within the hotel area in the evening. The hotel itself was reasonably priced, the staff were all attentive and very courteous, and the lobby was quite nice. The room felt a bit worn and in need of a renovation (some bathroom fixtures leaked and the tiles and carpet looked a little tired). The walls were also a bit thin so it was easy to hear people watching TV or talking next door. Although we were initially told that there would be no charge to check into our flights and print out boarding passes, when we went to the business center, we were charged for both. However, given the prices of other hotels in the area, my husband and I found that the convenient location and reasonable cost for this hotel outweighed most of the negatives, which is why I have decided to give it a four-star overall rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Japanese food, the restaurants in the nearby shopping plaza had the BEST Japanese meals and sushi we have ever had. (and yes, we have eaten sushi at some major cities) One of the restaurants here actually invented the California roll. How cool is that?

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Jun 20, 2009

Good

Near the union station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget friendly couple
Business
Orlando, FL
May 8, 2009

Great priced hotel in a unique location

I was very satisfied with our stay here. The hotel is in a fantastic location -close to downtown L.A. and in the great Little Tokyo area. Hotel was within walking distance to lots of Japanese restaurants and shops. The room itself was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and there's a great cafe and gift shop inside. The only downside was the parking. You can have valet parking for like $20 a day or you could do the self parking for about $17. The self parking was a bit annoying b/c you have to take an elevator to the garage and the elevator was soooo slow. You could take the stairs but they are dark and smelly. Other than that, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Sep 9, 2009

good hotel for the price

This is a decent hotel for the price. Rooms could use a little upgrade. The bathroom sink was cracked, everything else was ok. It's right in Little Toyko, so there's plenty of restaurants to eat at in walking distance. You have to pay to get into the spa. The rooms were a bit lumpy, needs new mattress. Parking is 17 bucks a night, so we just drove around and found street parking. You'll just have to move your car by 8am or put money in the meter. We saved a lot of money by doing this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 6, 2008

family vacation

The first room was nice and clean. The second room smells like cigarette, even though this is a non-smoking hotel. The clerk refused to change room until the manger and the engineer both agree the room smells like cigarette. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many Japanese dinning available and prices are very resonable.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntsville, AL
Jan 9, 2010

BCS Championship Game 2010

Great location for downtown LA! Easy to get to Rose Bowl. Close to Metro Stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Metro Gold Line that goes straight to Pasadena!

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 14, 2008

Close to downtown LA

Everything okey except never experience hotel with no self parking. You have to go to Mall to park ang have to pay at least $20, very inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to restaurants and downtown LA

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 10, 2007

Good Value

This Hotel was a good value for downtown LA. The Little Tokyo Area is nice if you are Sushi Fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

LIttle Tokyo Mall

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jennietesh
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 4, 2010

Would stay again

The staff were all very friendly, and the hotel was in a safe part of town. Rooms were clean, and included a refrigerator and DVD player. Big bathroom with great water pressure in shower. Location is slightly inconvenient if you don't really like Japanese food, as there really aren't any other restaurants around (the hotel is in Little Tokyo). But overall a very nice hotel. Oh, and the karaoke bar on the second floor was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan M
Business
New York City
Mar 17, 2010

Good hotel. It's fine to stay here.

This is a solid hotel. Located in the heart of Little Tokyo it's close to the Gold line light rail, near a ton of noodle and sushi shops, and a couple of Japanese malls. It's close to Civic Center but not the CBD. The rooms are comfortable but don't expect HDTVs, tons of entertainment options or even a reliable Internet connection. But the room was a fine crash pad and I would defintely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The up and coming Arts district is nearby Check it out.

Back to menu Return to top