$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
138 reviews
Great :)

Its was a great location because there are alot restaurant around. See full review

  • kiki882
  • Jul 9, 2014
excellent location

The hotel is clean and nice with lots of restaurants around. Metro station is nearby. I like this... See full review

  • Global traveler Hiromi
  • Jun 18, 2014
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location

The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.

Rooms

A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.

Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.
  • The spa is being renovated from May 16 through September 1, 2011. During this time, all spa areas, including the exercise room, will be closed. The only spa amenity offered will be the massage room, available at the following times: Monday to Friday (3:30 pm-11 pm); Saturday and Sunday (1 pm-11 pm); last admission: 10 pm.
  • Please be informed of the following street closures:

    06 August (LAPD 30th National Night Out) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM: First street between San Pedro and Alameda streets
     
    11 August (73rd Nisei Week Parade) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM and 18 August (73rd Nisei Week Closing Ceremonies) at 11:00 AM to 7:30 PM: Few streets in Little Tokyo area including First Street where Miyako Hotel is located
     
    Guests need to inform the hotel in advance if cars need to be taken in/out during these times.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0496 -118.2403
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
LAX - Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in Downtown Los Angeles in the Historic District of Little Tokyo. The Miyako Hotel Los Angeles is next to the Japanese Village Plaza and right across the street from the Japanese American National Museum, the Go For Broke Monument, MOCA, LAPDs Headquarter (Parker Center). We are also only three blocks south of Amtrac/Union Station. Walking distance to many Government offices, The JACCC (Japanese Cultural Community Center), The Japanese American Theatre, East West Players, The Music Center and The Walt Disney Concert Hall. We are also one of many hotels near the Los Angeles Convention Center, Staples Center and Dodger Stadium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.6 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redwood City
Nov 20, 2008

Great location

I really enjoyed the location. I loved all the Japanese cuisine in the neighborhood and the grocery store close by has amazing things. I would love to have tried out the spa in the hotel but was on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 12, 2009

I like the Miyako hotel/

I'm Japanese. I'm familiar with this hotel. I know this hotel is good before I went there. For example, all of stuff are kind, they can speak both English and Japanese, and rooms are clean anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City, OK
May 7, 2007

Unique experience for Americans

The Miyako next to downtown LA gives visitors a great experience of American quality with a Japanese twist. The rooms had DVD players and a special international style toilet. The food in the hotel and across the street is VERY authentic Japanese, so expect something cultural here. Overall it was a fun place to stay. Parking is a little expensive but convenient. Right on the edge of downtown and the highways. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Downtown's City Hall, Union Station, China Town, Little Tokyo, Staples Center, Convention Center, jewelry district, and Disney Music Center.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawaii
Apr 1, 2010

Enjoyable stay

I enjoyed the service rendered. The staff in itself were very professional, respectful and courteous. The hotel room was more that I expected. VERY neat, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Little Rock, AR
Apr 28, 2007

Great for the price

The Miyako hotel was great. It was easy to find from the airport.Everyone was so nice and respectable, the rooms were clean they have free internet.check in and out was great our plane left lax at 5am and we still had no problem with service.The parking was tough didn't seem like enough space,the attendant was very helpful eventhough his english was shakey. The parking cost as much as the room. over all my experience was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to book tours at the hotel or across the street. Theres a small shopping outlet within walking distance.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Loved it!

You walk downstairs and there is the shopping center. The hotel was really clean and elegant with the whole oriental feel. I would recomend it to anyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's no fast food or liquor stores nearby so drive around to find one.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 2, 2008

view with a room......

I was a little unhappy with the view from my hotel window and the room was a little dark. bringing up this little point to one of the hotel staff had me suddenly being upgraded and put in one of their nicest rooms! The location and (kindness) of every member of this hotel staff make staying here a joy......! I will return here on my next Los Angeles visit in May.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

this hotel is surrounded by some of Little Tokyo's best places to eat. 24 hours a day you can find something to eat and drink a short walk away.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keith Reilly
Loon Lake, WA
May 5, 2013

a rolling stone weekend

The staff gave great advice on going to the concert. Felt safe and was less than two miles to the Staples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rightfully Rested
Business
San Diego
Mar 23, 2011

Small but excellent and dependable hotel

I arrived early and they were very nice and let me use the lobby for laptop. I was fortunate and got to check into my room early without even having to ask. Though some parts of the hotel seem small to someone tall like myself, my room was an excellent size. I just got a standard room, but it was very comfortable and had great lighting. There were some very luxurious items such as European chairs and pillows that were so comfortable I am contemplating buying them for my home. All in all, a very restful stay at a reasonable price for downtown LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't waste your money on room service when there are tons of great and inexpensive restaurants around. There are also two markets and a convenience store all in the same area, so you will have everything you need and more.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bekzod
LA, California
Apr 25, 2014

Awsome place

I love the hotel. Location is good and it is in good location. If you love asian food stay here. It is right next to Little Tokyo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Tokyo village is right one block away

Back to menu Return to top

Change search