$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 26, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
uncel sam
Business
miami
Feb 17, 2013

jewel that called little Tokyo.

Nice area of down town LA, the hotel location right in the heart of little tokyo.nice young croud, resturants, very safe, definetly rediscovering this jewel that called little Tokyo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

next to open walk mall

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fey Saechao
Friends
San Jose, CA
Aug 5, 2009

Great hotel for the price!

I stayed here with my bf and several friends during our trip to Universal Studios and Six Flags Magic Mountain. For the price we paid, it's well worth it! The rooms were very clean and nothing needed fixing, which is always a plus. The bed was nice and I LOVED the white comforter they had. It was sooo comfortable! The staff were friendly and helpful. Also, there are a lot of Japanese restaurants within walking distance. We tried Daikokuya across from the hotel. It's a small, but very delicious restaurant that opens late. Their prices cannot be beat! Overall, a wonderful experience. I would definitely come back to the Miyako Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chula Vista, CA
May 27, 2011

Nice, quiet, and clean

We've stayed at the Miyako before and found it be clean, attractively-furnished, and quiet. Our room was a non-smoking one, and it smelled clean and fresh. There is a $20 parking fee for valet parking, but we didn't mind paying it because most L.A. hotels charge for parking. We had spent the whole day at the Los Angeles Zoo, so we were so glad that we didn't have to make the long drive back to San Diego. The hotel is right in the middle of Little Tokyo, so we were within walking distance of MANY restaurants and shops. We had a great stay, although the older woman receptionist was not very friendly. She did not crack a smile! We dealt with her the last time, too; they should get someone else to give that first impression of their hotel. The hotel breakfast buffet was pretty good. It had both American and Asian dishes, but it's rather pricey-- $16 per person. All in all, we would definitely stay again because of the location, cleanliness and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Francisco
Aug 21, 2010

Great location- reasonable price

Can't beat the location for visiting Little Tokyo, Japanese American National Museum, the Geffen Contemporary at MOCA, and lots of restaurants & shops. Friendly, accomodating staff and clean rooms. Spa located in the hotel. About 3 blocks from City Hall. Less than a mile to Los Angeles Opera, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Ahmanson Theatre, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Mark Taper Forum, Museum of Contemporary Art, Pueblo de Los Angeles, Olvera Street and Union Station. A little further for Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daikokuya, across the street from hotel, has the BEST ramen...the lines outside prove it! Ebisu, on E 2nd Street, a great izakaya! Be sure to try the different flavored mochi ice cream treats at Mikawaya in the Japanese Village Plaza, entrance just down the street from the hotel.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinia
Single
DC
Jun 1, 2011

Nice hotels, good location

Perferct location for individual travellers cause near the interesting places have to visit in downtown LA and very close to restaurant, supermakret(Japanese Village) and walking distance to Civic Centre station. The staff very helpfull and the gift shop within the hotel is cheaper than other gift shop in hollywood, Santa Monica and Japanese village

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 29, 2009

Favorite hotel in L.A.

There are many reasons to love the Miyako. The rooms are very comfortable, meaning you get nice fluffy beds and duvets, free DSL and WiFi and Japanese toilets that have more buttons than most cellphones. I wish it had a pool, but the location more than makes up for it. It's right across the street from Daikokuya, one of the best ramen joints in the country. There's karaoke close by and some great Japanese markets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daikokuya, right across the street, has fantastic cheap ramen with unbelievable broth. $8.95 for the house ramen.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Quiet Place to retreat from a busy city.

Nice, friendly staff, quiet area away from the busy downtown and close to central public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station for public transportation all over the city, to the airport and state.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Jul 24, 2011

Nice Place

We are members of several art museums in LA so finding a reasonably priced hotel right in the middle of LA that has contemporary, spacious, and clean rooms was great for us. We arrived in LA at noon went to the Watts Towers, MOCA on Grand and MOCA at the Geffen. We were really tired but the Miyako Hotel was only blocks away. Next morning we were ready for LACMA. LACMA opens at noon and check out time for the Miyako is also noon so no gap with no place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Morning Flight
Couples
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Jan 26, 2011

Reasonably priced hotel in LA

The Miyako hotel is conveniently located a block from the Metro yellow line and less than a block from a very cute little Japanese shopping plaza and the Japanese American National Museum. Although I would not have wanted to wander around LA in the dark, I felt reasonably safe walking within the hotel area in the evening. The hotel itself was reasonably priced, the staff were all attentive and very courteous, and the lobby was quite nice. The room felt a bit worn and in need of a renovation (some bathroom fixtures leaked and the tiles and carpet looked a little tired). The walls were also a bit thin so it was easy to hear people watching TV or talking next door. Although we were initially told that there would be no charge to check into our flights and print out boarding passes, when we went to the business center, we were charged for both. However, given the prices of other hotels in the area, my husband and I found that the convenient location and reasonable cost for this hotel outweighed most of the negatives, which is why I have decided to give it a four-star overall rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Japanese food, the restaurants in the nearby shopping plaza had the BEST Japanese meals and sushi we have ever had. (and yes, we have eaten sushi at some major cities) One of the restaurants here actually invented the California roll. How cool is that?

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
CA
Jun 20, 2009

Good

Near the union station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget friendly couple
Couples
Orlando, FL
May 8, 2009

Great priced hotel in a unique location

I was very satisfied with our stay here. The hotel is in a fantastic location -close to downtown L.A. and in the great Little Tokyo area. Hotel was within walking distance to lots of Japanese restaurants and shops. The room itself was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and there's a great cafe and gift shop inside. The only downside was the parking. You can have valet parking for like $20 a day or you could do the self parking for about $17. The self parking was a bit annoying b/c you have to take an elevator to the garage and the elevator was soooo slow. You could take the stairs but they are dark and smelly. Other than that, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top