$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
206 reviews
Great :)

Its was a great location because there are alot restaurant around. See full review

  • kiki882
  • Jul 9, 2014
excellent location

The hotel is clean and nice with lots of restaurants around. Metro station is nearby. I like this... See full review

  • Global traveler Hiromi
  • Jun 18, 2014
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location

The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.

Rooms

A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.

Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.
  • The spa is being renovated from May 16 through September 1, 2011. During this time, all spa areas, including the exercise room, will be closed. The only spa amenity offered will be the massage room, available at the following times: Monday to Friday (3:30 pm-11 pm); Saturday and Sunday (1 pm-11 pm); last admission: 10 pm.
  • Please be informed of the following street closures:

    06 August (LAPD 30th National Night Out) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM: First street between San Pedro and Alameda streets
     
    11 August (73rd Nisei Week Parade) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM and 18 August (73rd Nisei Week Closing Ceremonies) at 11:00 AM to 7:30 PM: Few streets in Little Tokyo area including First Street where Miyako Hotel is located
     
    Guests need to inform the hotel in advance if cars need to be taken in/out during these times.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0496 -118.2403
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
LAX - Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in Downtown Los Angeles in the Historic District of Little Tokyo. The Miyako Hotel Los Angeles is next to the Japanese Village Plaza and right across the street from the Japanese American National Museum, the Go For Broke Monument, MOCA, LAPDs Headquarter (Parker Center). We are also only three blocks south of Amtrac/Union Station. Walking distance to many Government offices, The JACCC (Japanese Cultural Community Center), The Japanese American Theatre, East West Players, The Music Center and The Walt Disney Concert Hall. We are also one of many hotels near the Los Angeles Convention Center, Staples Center and Dodger Stadium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.6 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dinia
DC
Jun 1, 2011

Nice hotels, good location

Perferct location for individual travellers cause near the interesting places have to visit in downtown LA and very close to restaurant, supermakret(Japanese Village) and walking distance to Civic Centre station. The staff very helpfull and the gift shop within the hotel is cheaper than other gift shop in hollywood, Santa Monica and Japanese village

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chula Vista, CA
May 27, 2011

Nice, quiet, and clean

We've stayed at the Miyako before and found it be clean, attractively-furnished, and quiet. Our room was a non-smoking one, and it smelled clean and fresh. There is a $20 parking fee for valet parking, but we didn't mind paying it because most L.A. hotels charge for parking. We had spent the whole day at the Los Angeles Zoo, so we were so glad that we didn't have to make the long drive back to San Diego. The hotel is right in the middle of Little Tokyo, so we were within walking distance of MANY restaurants and shops. We had a great stay, although the older woman receptionist was not very friendly. She did not crack a smile! We dealt with her the last time, too; they should get someone else to give that first impression of their hotel. The hotel breakfast buffet was pretty good. It had both American and Asian dishes, but it's rather pricey-- $16 per person. All in all, we would definitely stay again because of the location, cleanliness and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chula Vista, CA
May 27, 2011

Nice, quiet, and clean

We've stayed at the Miyako before and found it be clean, attractively-furnished, and quiet. Our room was a non-smoking one, and it smelled clean and fresh. There is a $20 parking fee for valet parking, but we didn't mind paying it because most L.A. hotels charge for parking. We had spent the whole day at the Los Angeles Zoo, so we were so glad that we didn't have to make the long drive back to San Diego. The hotel is right in the middle of Little Tokyo, so we were within walking distance of MANY restaurants and shops. We had a great stay, although the older woman receptionist was not very friendly. She did not crack a smile! We dealt with her the last time, too; they should get someone else to give that first impression of their hotel. The hotel breakfast buffet was pretty good. It had both American and Asian dishes, but it's rather pricey-- $16 per person. All in all, we would definitely stay again because of the location, cleanliness and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brasil
May 1, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We use to go to the hotel only for sleep but it has good things to do there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brasil
May 1, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We use to go to the hotel only for sleep but it has good things to do there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Room good

Room was clean and interior was good. Internet speed was also fast enough. But in the coffee maker pod, there was a hair, is it cleaned everyday?? I didn't use other facilities, restaurant, spa. The imminent environment is not safe area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angelas, CA
Apr 5, 2011

Miyako Hotel Review

- Room is very clean - Friendly staff - Good location in downtown - Great Japanese restraunt opposite the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dakua Original Noodle ( right opposite the hotel), food was great with reasonable price, seems to be very popular with the locals as well.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angelas, CA
Apr 5, 2011

Miyako Hotel Review

- Room is very clean - Friendly staff - Good location in downtown - Great Japanese restraunt opposite the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dakua Original Noodle ( right opposite the hotel), food was great with reasonable price, seems to be very popular with the locals as well.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
S.F Bay Area
Mar 29, 2011

Not Bad

Can't say the staffs are helpful, but they are doing their jobs. Hotel location is good, right across a restaurant that we are long to try out, and the hotel is literally in Japan Village, walking distance to city center, and 5 minutes driving to Staple Center. Overall, the stay of this hotel is at the average in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to wait in the line 5-10 minutes before the restaurant opens

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
S.F Bay Area
Mar 29, 2011

Not Bad

Can't say the staffs are helpful, but they are doing their jobs. Hotel location is good, right across a restaurant that we are long to try out, and the hotel is literally in Japan Village, walking distance to city center, and 5 minutes driving to Staple Center. Overall, the stay of this hotel is at the average in my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to wait in the line 5-10 minutes before the restaurant opens

Back to menu Return to top