$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
204 reviews
excellent location

The hotel is clean and nice with lots of restaurants around. Metro station is nearby. I like this... See full review

  • Global traveler Hiromi
  • Jun 18, 2014
3 Nights and 4 Days

Amazing location. In little tyoko.. A Great place to be. If I am to go back to LA I would... See full review

  • dman84
  • Jun 3, 2014
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location

The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.

Rooms

A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.

Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.
  • The spa is being renovated from May 16 through September 1, 2011. During this time, all spa areas, including the exercise room, will be closed. The only spa amenity offered will be the massage room, available at the following times: Monday to Friday (3:30 pm-11 pm); Saturday and Sunday (1 pm-11 pm); last admission: 10 pm.
  • Please be informed of the following street closures:

    06 August (LAPD 30th National Night Out) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM: First street between San Pedro and Alameda streets
     
    11 August (73rd Nisei Week Parade) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM and 18 August (73rd Nisei Week Closing Ceremonies) at 11:00 AM to 7:30 PM: Few streets in Little Tokyo area including First Street where Miyako Hotel is located
     
    Guests need to inform the hotel in advance if cars need to be taken in/out during these times.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

34.0496 -118.2403
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
LAX - Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in Downtown Los Angeles in the Historic District of Little Tokyo. The Miyako Hotel Los Angeles is next to the Japanese Village Plaza and right across the street from the Japanese American National Museum, the Go For Broke Monument, MOCA, LAPDs Headquarter (Parker Center). We are also only three blocks south of Amtrac/Union Station. Walking distance to many Government offices, The JACCC (Japanese Cultural Community Center), The Japanese American Theatre, East West Players, The Music Center and The Walt Disney Concert Hall. We are also one of many hotels near the Los Angeles Convention Center, Staples Center and Dodger Stadium.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Miyako Hotel Los Angeles also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.6 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Affordable clean and safe!

I missed that it did not have a pool at the hotel. That must be my biggest complain. But overall the hotel was really clean!! and most importantly staff was really nice! The area felt safe. And for the budget I had it was great! We were there just to sleep really so I would give it three stars overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ericpasa
Pasadena, CA
Apr 1, 2010

Not a bad hotel.

It wasn't a bad room, but for what I was paying, I expected more. Not much difference between the regular room and the deluxe room. Basically they scammed an extra $20 for the title "deluxe". Parking is expensive. Other than that. It's a good location to get around the downtown LA sites and there's plenty of entertaining things to do in Little Tokyo and the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daikokuya, the best ramen in all of Los Angeles, is right across the street under the yellow awning. Voted one of the 99 restaurants in LA that you have to eat at according to the LA Weekly.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oakland, CA
May 25, 2009

not bad, not great

Staff was helpful with parking & billing issue. Central location. Quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angela Mann
Atlanta, Georgia
Nov 30, 2012

My experience with Miyako

Staying in Miyako was very different from the lobby. However, the room design was exactly same as any other hotel. The bed was clean and I loved biden that installed in the bathroom. However, there is no fan in the bathroom. Plus I was very unhappy with a fact that I have to pay $14.00 for each day for parking. Hotel staff said there is no wave for hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Location is perfect to go around the attractions.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 26, 2010

Affordable clean and safe!

I missed that it did not have a pool at the hotel. That must be my biggest complain. But overall the hotel was really clean!! and most importantly staff was really nice! The area felt safe. And for the budget I had it was great! We were there just to sleep really so I would give it three stars overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 27, 2009

Very nice hotel

The hotel room was very nice, with all the amenities (including a flat screen TV bigger than my one at home). The room's slightly crowded just because they put a lot of useful things in it. Nice size desk, hidden mini fridge (that really gets cold fast), chair and ottoman, 2 beds, etc. The hotel and room had many Asian decorator touches that I liked. The room was a great price and valet parking is only $18, but public parking is next door if you prefer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skeetersteele
laguna niguel
Jun 29, 2014

Great for Downtown L.A.

The room was comfortable and very quiet. While they did charge extra for parking, they provided a very convenient in-and-out service that worked well for our touring and it was definitely worth the money. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We didn't try the spa on this trip, but might do so next time (and there will almost certainly be a next time).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berkeley
Dec 27, 2008

Convenient but stupid

Miyako hotel was pretty good, it is very convenient as it is close to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Curry house, Orochon, Pinkberry

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trucha
Oakland, CA
May 31, 2010

Great Find!

The hotel came recommended by a friend and I can see why. I was in town for a wedding and drove from the Bay Area. I arrived early and was greated by the valet staff. They suggested I try and check in early, otherwise offered to park my car and hold my things until I could check in. Luckily I was able to check in early! The front desk staff were not as friendly and a bit "indifferent" but was provided good service. The room was on the 10th floor, clean, and it was well equipped with all the amenities. Free DSL (no wifi), great view of downtown, large comfy bed, flat screen TV, etc. The bathroom was clean and had an electric bidet! The hotel is conveniently located close to shops, restaurants of all types (not just Asian food), bars and public transit. I even checked out the kareoke bar in the hotel and had a good time. The bell and parking staff were all super nice and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back should I need to stay in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Far Bar is right across the street and has a great happy hour menu with outside seating and live entertainment.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
amimosity
Little Rock, AR
Oct 2, 2013

Great Centrally Located Hotel

Hotel is located in Little Tokyo, central to the downtown area. The area felt very safe and walkable, although we weren't out too late at night. Hotel staff were excellent and extremely helpful. By the time we reached the hotel my friend was feeling ill and stiff. She visited the spa for a massage which was wonderful. Overall a great deal for the are and the amenities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top