Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
124 reviews
I WANTED TO TAKE THE MATTRESS HOME WITH ME!

The air conditioner really worked. The bed was sooo comfortable and I slept "like a log". I was... See full review

  • Topher
  • Mar 22, 2014
Business Trip

I will defiantly come back and stay at Miyako Hotel for my next trip See full review

  • Siga
  • Oct 16, 2013
Modern comfort meets exotic style at prime downtown Los Angeles hotel

This distinctive Asian-inspired downtown hotel offers convenience, leisure and ample comforts. Prime L.A. destinations are within easy reach thanks to local Metro and freeway access. Guests can unwind at the hotel's luxury spa, enjoy first-class fusion cuisine at the in-house sushi restaurant and chill at the premium coffee bar or at the dazzling in-house karaoke lounge. Rooms offer complimentary comforts amidst uniquely elegant East-West decor.

Highlights
  • Central downtown location near fashion and financial districts and Metro Stations
  • Exciting in-house nightlife and dining options
  • Luxurious, full-service spa
Location

The city's financial and fashion districts as well as museums, Metro Stations and Union Station are all just blocks away. The Metro and convenient nearby freeway link-ups offer smooth access to Universal Studios, Miracle Mile, Hollywood and beyond.

Rooms

A blend of elegant modern and Japanese decor welcomes guests to each of the hotel's 174 rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi access, cable TV with premium channels and DVD players provide comfort and entertainment. All rooms come with two double beds, while the deluxe and Tokyo executive rooms add luxurious duvets, executive work stations and modern Japanese bathroom amenities.

Features

Guests have a luxury spa at their disposal, with Shiatsu massage, dry and steam saunas, private Jacuzzis available. The hotel's Cafe Take 5 serves up a health-conscious selection of coffees, teas and juices, while dazzling Asian and Japanese fusions are on the menu at Tamon Restaurant. Ohjah Lounge mixes exciting cocktails with classic karaoke action in a sexy, elegant setting.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Stations: Pershing Square (1 mi/2 km) and Union Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Bob Hope Airport (16 mi/26 km)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (19 mi/31 km)
  • Long Beach Airport (23 mi/38 km)
Attractions
  • Japanese American Museum (less than one block)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (1 mi/2 km)
  • Los Angeles County Museum of Art (7 mi/12 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theatre & Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/12 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (9.5 mi/15 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/16 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (12 mi/20 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier & Third Street Promenade (16 mi/26 km)
Business
  • Business center (fee applies)
  • Meeting room and banquet facility
  • On-site event specialists
Polices and fees
  • Check-in time is 3 p.m. and check out time is 12 p.m. Spa hours are Mon-Fri from 3 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m., Sat-Sun from 12 p.m. to 12 a.m. with the last massage at 10 p.m.
  • Valet parking rate is $18.00 USD + tax for hotel registered guests. $2.00 USD each 20 minutes for visitors.
  • $5.00 USD up to 3 hours max with validation for Spa & Restaurant; after 3 hours, $2.00 USD each 20 min.
  • For late checkout after 2pm, guests will be charged $2.00 USD each 20 min up to $18.00 USD. The hours of operation are 6 a.m.-3 a.m.
  • The spa is being renovated from May 16 through September 1, 2011. During this time, all spa areas, including the exercise room, will be closed. The only spa amenity offered will be the massage room, available at the following times: Monday to Friday (3:30 pm-11 pm); Saturday and Sunday (1 pm-11 pm); last admission: 10 pm.
  • Please be informed of the following street closures:

    06 August (LAPD 30th National Night Out) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM: First street between San Pedro and Alameda streets
     
    11 August (73rd Nisei Week Parade) at 3:00 PM - 10:00 PM and 18 August (73rd Nisei Week Closing Ceremonies) at 11:00 AM to 7:30 PM: Few streets in Little Tokyo area including First Street where Miyako Hotel is located
     
    Guests need to inform the hotel in advance if cars need to be taken in/out during these times.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles Rooms

Standard Room
Our Standard Rooms are handsomely appointed with two double beds. Each room is spacious and features all the comforts and conveniences to ensure a satisfying and relaxing stay. Rooms are newly equipped with complimentary DSL Internet connection, TV (featuring channels such as CNN, HBO/HBO2, ESPN/EPSN2, Weather Channel and TV Japan), mini refrigerators, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, electronic in-room safety box, work desk, in-room guest voice mail and hairdryer. We have installed DVD machines in all of our rooms. Executive rooms have both DVD and VHS machines.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

34.0496 -118.2403
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
LAX - Los Angeles International Airport.
Area description
Located in Downtown Los Angeles in the Historic District of Little Tokyo. The Miyako Hotel Los Angeles is next to the Japanese Village Plaza and right across the street from the Japanese American National Museum, the Go For Broke Monument, MOCA, LAPDs Headquarter (Parker Center). We are also only three blocks south of Amtrac/Union Station. Walking distance to many Government offices, The JACCC (Japanese Cultural Community Center), The Japanese American Theatre, East West Players, The Music Center and The Walt Disney Concert Hall. We are also one of many hotels near the Los Angeles Convention Center, Staples Center and Dodger Stadium.

Nearby points of interest

  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.4 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.4 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.6 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.2 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.3 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.6 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Koreatown: 3.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 6 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 6.1 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 6.2 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 6.4 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.6 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.8 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • The Grove: 6.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 7 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 7 mi
  • Farmers Market: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7.5 mi
  • Kitson: 8.4 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 9.3 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.6 mi
  • University of California: 11.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.9 mi
  • UCLA: 12.3 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.6 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 14 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.6 mi

Dining

Lounge Ohjah
Located on the Mezzanine level next to the "Tamon" Restaurant. It's a great place to meet with friends or business associates after a tough workday. Karaoke starts at 9:00 PM for guests to sing along.
CafeTake5
Located on the first floor lobby of the Miyako Hotel. Delectable selections of pastries, desserts, salad, sandwiches and breakfast to the aromatic morning coffee, cappuccino or lattes, the CafeTake5 satisfies your appetite.
Tamon
Located on the Mezzanine level of the Miyako Hotel. This unique fusion restaurant combines the Asian-inspiration of the East with the California Cuisine of the West from the simple to the sublime creations from Tamon's own "Chef Nobu".

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
Rev. H
Fresno, CA
Dec 28, 2011

LA Trip

Was very nice for the price! Room was clean & comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed some good food at nearby Japanese restuarants!

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
sangwon84
VA
Dec 21, 2011

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Perfect! It Doesn't Get Any Better Perfect! It Doesn't Get Any Better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
Chow H
California, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Good value

Good location and not too far from civic centre metro train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
Nbrown
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Dec 16, 2011

Cheap and Nice

The location of the hotel is in the heart of little Tokyo. It's close to city transit, city hall, a farmers market and an underground strip mall. A short 10 minute walk and you could be on the train to the hottest spots in Hollywood in 20 minutes. It's surrounded by great restaurants, if you love Japanese cuisine. It cost about 62-65 bucks to get to and from LAX by taxi, but once you figure out the city transit system you don't have to worry about that. The only pitfall is, it 's in the middle of a major renovation, but you can't hear anything from the rooms. The staff is very courteous and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Drivers in LA are horrible, and traffic is horrendous. If you feel comfortable with taking public transit do it! saves time and money!

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
elle m.
Business
honolulu
Nov 5, 2011

Good for convenience to downtown and good eating in Little Tokyo

If you just need a place to stay that is close to downtown and the Fashion District this is a good place. The staff is great. Pretty average accommodations. A bit old but clean. And the location is superb. Close to little Tokyo, arts district and downtown. Daikokuya is right across the street. Lots of smaller shops and restaurants close by. Good find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
Eafy
Roanoke, VA
Nov 2, 2011

Trip to LA

Overall, our stay at the Miyako went very well. The staff was very friendly and helpful--I actually had a package delivered there and they were prompt about letting me know of its arrival. The location is good for driving in LA--not too much of a drive to anywhere. The only thing I would place in the negative column is the parking. They offer valet for just a bit more than the standard parking in their lot, but both seemed expensive for an already pricey room stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
Grey Duck
St. Paul, MN
Aug 23, 2011

The Perfect Hotel for Nisei Week

The location along First Street in the heart of Little Tokyo (or J-Town, as we called it growing up) was perfect. The staff worked extra hard to give me a room that overlooked First Street so we could watch the parade from my room -- a plus if you have elderly parents like I do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jul 24, 2011

Nice Place

We are members of several art museums in LA so finding a reasonably priced hotel right in the middle of LA that has contemporary, spacious, and clean rooms was great for us. We arrived in LA at noon went to the Watts Towers, MOCA on Grand and MOCA at the Geffen. We were really tired but the Miyako Hotel was only blocks away. Next morning we were ready for LACMA. LACMA opens at noon and check out time for the Miyako is also noon so no gap with no place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
AriKat
Honolulu, HI
Jul 7, 2011

Fun at Miyako!

My friends and I were attending the Anime Expo Convention this year (2011). I had been searching around for hotels near the area, but everything seemed extremely dumpy. When I looked at the Miyako Hotel, I found it to be quite pleasant, appealing and comforting. The area is old, but the restaurants and the Little Tokyo shopping center were awesome! It offered two bakeries, Yamazaki (try the Chocolate Cornos!) and Cafe Dolce (Cream Cheese bun), a small market, and many other eateries that provided delicious foods! The parking is easy. You can choose to Valet park for $18, or self park through a Miyako hotel deal for about $15. When you self park, they charge your card daily, but you may come and go as you please. If you opt out of the valet, or self parking with the Miyako hotel deal, you can park in the structure and pay the garage fee (from what the sign said, rather expensive per 15-20 mins). I recommend just self parking through the Miyako hotel deal. Save yourself some grief and just pay the $100ish. Check in was easy (a $200 hold on card required). The hotel lobby was clean and updated. It had staff on hand 24/7, as well as a small snack/newspaper shop and a small cafe that served coffee, donuts, etc. There is a restaurant/bar upstairs, though we did not go inside. The prices are good, but I highly recommend trying the bakeries and other options outside! Our room was absolutely wonderful! It was clean, well-stocked, roomy, and had no foul odor what-so-ever. The bathroom was a good size with a heated toilet seat, there was a large flat-screen tv that actually caught normal cable, A/C unit you controlled, night stand, breakfastish table, frig, large mirrored closet, ironing board and hair dryer. We didn't use any of the room service, though all numbers were readily available. Maid service cleaned daily, but we went the first two without cleaning (we kept our room tidy and just asked for fresh towels). However, they slipped us a note under the door stating that they needed to clean the room on the third day for sanitary reasons. Safety deposit boxes are available downstairs free of charge, so pick up one of those if you're paranoid about thieving house maids. The beds were comfortable, the pillows cushy and the blanket big and soft! I loved it! There was even a nicely sized lounge chair with two pillows that was equally comfy to sleep on. It wasn't far from the convention center and wonderful Japanese dining! Overall, I loved it and I would recommend it to anyone. I will definitely be staying there again. A+++++++ for good service, cleanliness, and comfort! *Also a nice side note. If you want fresh towels/bed sheets when you first check in, just ask. No trouble at all to them. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yamazaki Bakery, Cafe Dolce, and Japanese Curry from Mr. Ramen!

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 28, 2011

Great place

Very friendly staff. Queit location. Will visit again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top