$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bekzod
Business
LA, California
Apr 25, 2014

Awsome place

I love the hotel. Location is good and it is in good location. If you love asian food stay here. It is right next to Little Tokyo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Tokyo village is right one block away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Live to eat and travel
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2014

A bit pricey but overall worth it

The location of this hotel is great if you want to explore Japantown or Koreatown or Downtown LA. Parking is of course pricey, but anywhere you stay in this area, it's going to be and Miyako was on the slightly more affordable side for valet. Staff is very friendly, helpful, and responsive right away for requests. The little Tokyo Village behind the hotel is great for shopping for knick knacks or getting a snack. Rooms are clean and a good size. One downside is the tour guide info desk was not that helpful. We inquired about a couple things: LA garment district, and bus tours. The desk agent didn't speak much english so we guessed it was mainly for Japanese tourists...so that was a downer that they couldn't answer anything for us. If you have a rough plan or idea of what you want to do, and a map (or phone w/ GPS) you'll be just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For Japanese (or other Asian cuisine) there are a lot of options within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Topher
Business
Chapala, Mexico
Mar 22, 2014

I WANTED TO TAKE THE MATTRESS HOME WITH ME!

The air conditioner really worked. The bed was sooo comfortable and I slept "like a log". I was right in downtown LA and, though the blocks are long, I was able to walk to public transportation. The staff helped me to park at a different garage near the hotel to save me $10.00 a day. The TV had CNN as well as local LA stations and other cable channels. I had breakfast every morning at the Japanese mall just steps from the hotel. Prices in LA are outrageous--$4.00 for a cup of coffee in many places!!--but the deal I was able to snag was great. The room regularly cost around $190.00 a night--I tried to get a second room while I was there for a friend and couldn't get it because they were sold out. I'd definitely use Cheap Tickets again and if I was in LA I'd stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Metro. It beats traffic, it's fast but it costs $1.50 each ride. You need a "TAP CARD" to use it and that will cost a one time fee of $1.00. It's available in the Metro at one of the machines at each station. A week's pass--unlimited rides--is only $20.00. Just add money to the "TAP CARD" at the other station machines if you need to, so don't throw the card away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaze
Business
Chicago
Mar 18, 2014

Best location, however...

The location is perfect. It's in the center of all the Japanese restaurants, and is right next to the Little Tokyo train station so it is extremely convenient. The room is clean and is quite a big room. However, you really need to try your very best to avoid corner rooms. My room faces right to a huge multi-level car park, so there is no view at all. In addition, the network is EXTREMELY TERRIBLE. My laptop was disconnected to the internet time to time and the top speed is around 100kb/s (both wireless AND wired, yes even wired connection won't help at all), usually staying at around 16kb/s. Basically it can't quite load pictures, not to mention videos and stuff. So bottom line, avoid corner room. P.S. I went to the exact same hotel in Oct 2013 and it was completely fine. Maybe it was just bad luck for me to stay in a corner room this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelingstylist
Business
Norfolk, VA
Mar 16, 2014

No complaints

Japanese hotel with spa services until 11pm! Quiet and comfortable. I would stay again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hernannaranjo
Business
florida
Jan 14, 2014

Great for business

Good as usual, a little expensive for the quality of the room, overall good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex Z
Business
Dearborn, MI
Dec 17, 2013

Visit LA for Christmas

We visited LA for Christmas and had very pleasant experience staying in the hotel. The room was decorated in Japanese style and stuff was very responsive to all our request. Also little Tokyo area around added to Christmas charm. The hotel is close to downtown and highway, so it was easy to travel to Hollywood, Universal and Beverly Hills to enjoy holiday spirit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time in MB
Business
SF, CA
Nov 18, 2013

smoking floors smell lke ashtrays

stay away from the smoking rooms/floors. the smell is pervasive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RevUltraBlue
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 1, 2013

Wise Choice

The location of this hotel is in a very good location that is about within 30mins of so many places to visit in CA. Everyone that I dealt with on their staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was exactly as described and expected. Overall, it was a very nice experience and is recommended for anyone looking to stay in the Little Tokyo area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Drive into the shopping districts in the heart of L.A. rather than walking. The parking is around $5, but you get to be exactly where you want to be rather than walking around aimlessly through the lesser appealing areas of L.A.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snowytropics
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 26, 2013

Fun in the heart of Little Tokyo

We loved being able to step out of the Miyako Hotel and walk to museums (Disney Hall, Japanese American National Museum, Geffen Museum of Contemporary Art), unique restaurants (watch your noodles being rolled and cut at Monzo) and great shopping. Not far from an Urth Cafe in a suprisingly industrial neighborhood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top