$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundown1
Business
Florida
Oct 22, 2012

Decent for what it is

This is a pretty simple hotel in the heart of Little Tokyo. Everyone who works here is Japanese and the overall vibe is representative of the area its in. I found this hotel on here cause it was within walking distance to City Hall. The Staff was not rude but they were not necessarily helpful. They seemed indifferent to everything. When I asked about sights and what to do, they drew a blank stare and gave me an old piece of paper that had a directory of what surrounded the hotel in that one block that is Little Tokyo. The room was nothing special and honestly I didn't need it to be. The toilet was definitely an interesting experience to say the least! Like I said, very Japanese. Bottom line: Would I stay here again? Only if I have to go to LA to take care of work related stuff in DTLA, other than that no. Don't get me wrong its a decent hotel (probably great if you are Japanese) but the location is nothing special and the staff just didn't seem to care. I will be coming back to LA for vacation and will not stay in DTLA again. I would recommend if in LA for work in DTLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DTLA is said not to be LA true party scene but they did had some decent spots/clubs that were within walking distance. Not many overall but enough if you are looking for something afterhours near by. The food in the area is on point if you like Japanese Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrPA
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 26, 2012

Ordinary Accomodations

Nothing special distinguishes the Miyako Hotel as Japanese in terms of service or flair. Many staff did not speak Japanese. Room was average. Surface items such as lobby and shower have been upgraded, but overall flavor is old and in need of refurbishing. In terms of cost -- overpriced. Its redeeming virtue is being next to the Little Tokyo neighborhood, but that has faded and much of Japanese culture has migrated to other parts of Los Angeles. We will choose a motel, or something, in one of these other areas next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angela Mann
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Nov 30, 2012

My experience with Miyako

Staying in Miyako was very different from the lobby. However, the room design was exactly same as any other hotel. The bed was clean and I loved biden that installed in the bathroom. However, there is no fan in the bathroom. Plus I was very unhappy with a fact that I have to pay $14.00 for each day for parking. Hotel staff said there is no wave for hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Location is perfect to go around the attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
choo bravo
Business
Tulsa, OK
Mar 13, 2013

convention

Pros; Good location, accessibility, courtesy staff, room is clean and comfortable Cons: Parking fee of $19 per day. I should have opted to park next door (City Parking), $14/day Loud noise in the room when heat comes on Safe deposit box did not work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RahulK
Business
Cumming, GA
May 7, 2013

Good but a little overpriced.

Hotel Miyako is well located right in the middle of Little Tokyo and close to the Union station. Although advertised as a Japanese hotel nothing really stands out except for a Japanese themed spa on the 3rd floor. The rooms are clean and well maintained but surprisingly the bathrooms had no exhaust fans and the Wi-Fi was spotty. Overall a good place to stay but a little overpriced for what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
first time in MB
Business
SF, CA
Nov 18, 2013

smoking floors smell lke ashtrays

stay away from the smoking rooms/floors. the smell is pervasive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lalo travels
Business
Texas
Jun 1, 2014

Miyako Hotel stay 5/30/14

Hotel staff and cleanliness are top notch. Decent hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lolo88
Business
san jose, ca
May 27, 2014

Interesting location with Great Sushi spots

The hotel is located above the Little Tokyo mall which provides a lot of sushi and korean bbq spots. However there is no hotel parking except valet which is $20 per day. There is a parking garage for the mall behind the hotel but that costs $10 per day. It is conveniently located near the 110 and I-5 freeways and less than 2 miles from Santee Alleys. Be prepared to walk though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fresh Mintz
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 20, 2010

Umm....

Well lets see, where should I start? The lobby looked nice. There was a small coffee shop and a convenience store in the lobby. The room was ok. The view was terrible from the third floor. The wi-fi was very very VERY slow. There were bums walking around the area causing a ruckus. If I had a list of 10 hotels, this one would probably be number 6 or 7.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some nice shops in the area, as well as the little tokyo mall right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 27, 2008

Great Value

The Miyako Hotel Los Angeles was quite comfortable, the room was pretty spacious with free internet. Location wise the hotel is suitable for people seeking business in downtown LA. The best part I liked, the bidet toilets, reminded of my stay in Japan, quite comfortable :).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quite a lot of Japanese Ramen restaurant just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top