$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Oct 26, 2008

Avoid Room 309

I had room 309 which was awful! Peeling wall paper, broken bedside lamp, desk ceiling light, and coffee maker (they did replace the coffee maker!). The carpet was starting to look a little warn. The room had a terrible view of the hotel's roof and it's venting/mechanical systems. We did spend quite a bit of time in the room so this was particularly bad. I called the front desk and the person on duty said there were no other rooms available to switch. The room was clean and the cleaning staff very nice. We asked for an extra coffee packet and we got it everyday after we asked which made the coffee satisfactory. The location is great. My family lives about a mile away so I had a quick commute. Similarly, there are tons of Sushi restaurants, two museums, shopping and freeways. If my room wasn't so awful, I would have given a better review. I hope your stay is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants. Pinkberry is close as well and open late. Japanese American Museum is across the street and down the block as well as the Geffen Contemporary which is part of the LA MOCA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Japan
Jun 25, 2009

So so・・・

That room was stinky. so We'd like to cheange a room but We could not change! I don't wanna stay. Never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lakewood, WA
Jul 14, 2009

The good, the bad, and the correctable.

It was an nice hotel centered down town Los Angels, (Little Tokyo). The staff was friendly and the food in that area is very good. The added price if $17 a day for unlimited parking really caught me off guard. That pushed the price to over $100 a night. It was not mentioned during booking or on the web sight. Next time I will definately check into parking fees and any other unmentioned fees prior to booking the room. Oh yeah, I almost forgot, this is the first hotel I've ever been to that DID NOT have a microwave in the room. Not to mention, I was on the back side of the hotel facing the garage and it wasn't that busy. This could very well be a 4 or 5 star stay if certain things are corrected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaze
Business
Chicago
Mar 18, 2014

Best location, however...

The location is perfect. It's in the center of all the Japanese restaurants, and is right next to the Little Tokyo train station so it is extremely convenient. The room is clean and is quite a big room. However, you really need to try your very best to avoid corner rooms. My room faces right to a huge multi-level car park, so there is no view at all. In addition, the network is EXTREMELY TERRIBLE. My laptop was disconnected to the internet time to time and the top speed is around 100kb/s (both wireless AND wired, yes even wired connection won't help at all), usually staying at around 16kb/s. Basically it can't quite load pictures, not to mention videos and stuff. So bottom line, avoid corner room. P.S. I went to the exact same hotel in Oct 2013 and it was completely fine. Maybe it was just bad luck for me to stay in a corner room this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2009

It's ok....

It is really old fashion. But you can live very comfortably there. Anyway, location is good for me and with the price I paid, I think it's reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Room good

Room was clean and interior was good. Internet speed was also fast enough. But in the coffee maker pod, there was a hair, is it cleaned everyday?? I didn't use other facilities, restaurant, spa. The imminent environment is not safe area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elle m.
Business
honolulu
Nov 5, 2011

Good for convenience to downtown and good eating in Little Tokyo

If you just need a place to stay that is close to downtown and the Fashion District this is a good place. The staff is great. Pretty average accommodations. A bit old but clean. And the location is superb. Close to little Tokyo, arts district and downtown. Daikokuya is right across the street. Lots of smaller shops and restaurants close by. Good find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chow H
Business
California, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Good location

Location close to subway and a lot of Japanese restaurants around..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BonnieDee
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Los Angeles

The hotel was clean, the location was fantastic, I did not like the fact that they didont offer room services like wine and dine 24/7 I asked for a wine glass and they gave me little coffe cups. Also I don't know if it's an LA thing, but I had to pay 230 dollars for valet parking because they don't offer parking.another day I asked for two towels and the cleaning lady asked me to bring out the towels and garbesh I couldn't believe it . Other than that the rooms are clean except the smoking room those look like seaside hotels gross. But everything else was great the staff was really friendly and the valet guys were great. I made the best of the hotel. We overall had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down a few blocks towards the standard hotel you will find more nightlife;) or you can go to Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland, ca
Sep 21, 2012

Good deal for the location

Had a pleasant stay, nice to be close to everything and not have to pay an arm and a leg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top