$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
150 out of 150
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Japan
Jun 25, 2009

So so・・・

That room was stinky. so We'd like to cheange a room but We could not change! I don't wanna stay. Never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kaze
Business
Chicago
Mar 18, 2014

Best location, however...

The location is perfect. It's in the center of all the Japanese restaurants, and is right next to the Little Tokyo train station so it is extremely convenient. The room is clean and is quite a big room. However, you really need to try your very best to avoid corner rooms. My room faces right to a huge multi-level car park, so there is no view at all. In addition, the network is EXTREMELY TERRIBLE. My laptop was disconnected to the internet time to time and the top speed is around 100kb/s (both wireless AND wired, yes even wired connection won't help at all), usually staying at around 16kb/s. Basically it can't quite load pictures, not to mention videos and stuff. So bottom line, avoid corner room. P.S. I went to the exact same hotel in Oct 2013 and it was completely fine. Maybe it was just bad luck for me to stay in a corner room this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elle m.
Business
honolulu
Nov 5, 2011

Good for convenience to downtown and good eating in Little Tokyo

If you just need a place to stay that is close to downtown and the Fashion District this is a good place. The staff is great. Pretty average accommodations. A bit old but clean. And the location is superb. Close to little Tokyo, arts district and downtown. Daikokuya is right across the street. Lots of smaller shops and restaurants close by. Good find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chow H
Business
California, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Good location

Location close to subway and a lot of Japanese restaurants around..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BonnieDee
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Los Angeles

The hotel was clean, the location was fantastic, I did not like the fact that they didont offer room services like wine and dine 24/7 I asked for a wine glass and they gave me little coffe cups. Also I don't know if it's an LA thing, but I had to pay 230 dollars for valet parking because they don't offer parking.another day I asked for two towels and the cleaning lady asked me to bring out the towels and garbesh I couldn't believe it . Other than that the rooms are clean except the smoking room those look like seaside hotels gross. But everything else was great the staff was really friendly and the valet guys were great. I made the best of the hotel. We overall had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down a few blocks towards the standard hotel you will find more nightlife;) or you can go to Hollywood.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland, ca
Sep 21, 2012

Good deal for the location

Had a pleasant stay, nice to be close to everything and not have to pay an arm and a leg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevin0123
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 17, 2012

Good location; Basic accomodations.

If you're looking for a decent, clean bed to sleep on in a this part of downtown LA, this place is a good fit for you. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable with clean, quality sheets. Wifi was very spotty, TV was from the 1990s. Operable windows was nice for fresh air; air conditioning worked good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best ramen place in area is across the street: Daikokoya. The line outside speaks for itself.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundown1
Business
Florida
Oct 22, 2012

Decent for what it is

This is a pretty simple hotel in the heart of Little Tokyo. Everyone who works here is Japanese and the overall vibe is representative of the area its in. I found this hotel on here cause it was within walking distance to City Hall. The Staff was not rude but they were not necessarily helpful. They seemed indifferent to everything. When I asked about sights and what to do, they drew a blank stare and gave me an old piece of paper that had a directory of what surrounded the hotel in that one block that is Little Tokyo. The room was nothing special and honestly I didn't need it to be. The toilet was definitely an interesting experience to say the least! Like I said, very Japanese. Bottom line: Would I stay here again? Only if I have to go to LA to take care of work related stuff in DTLA, other than that no. Don't get me wrong its a decent hotel (probably great if you are Japanese) but the location is nothing special and the staff just didn't seem to care. I will be coming back to LA for vacation and will not stay in DTLA again. I would recommend if in LA for work in DTLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DTLA is said not to be LA true party scene but they did had some decent spots/clubs that were within walking distance. Not many overall but enough if you are looking for something afterhours near by. The food in the area is on point if you like Japanese Food.

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DrPA
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 26, 2012

Ordinary Accomodations

Nothing special distinguishes the Miyako Hotel as Japanese in terms of service or flair. Many staff did not speak Japanese. Room was average. Surface items such as lobby and shower have been upgraded, but overall flavor is old and in need of refurbishing. In terms of cost -- overpriced. Its redeeming virtue is being next to the Little Tokyo neighborhood, but that has faded and much of Japanese culture has migrated to other parts of Los Angeles. We will choose a motel, or something, in one of these other areas next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Angela Mann
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Nov 30, 2012

My experience with Miyako

Staying in Miyako was very different from the lobby. However, the room design was exactly same as any other hotel. The bed was clean and I loved biden that installed in the bathroom. However, there is no fan in the bathroom. Plus I was very unhappy with a fact that I have to pay $14.00 for each day for parking. Hotel staff said there is no wave for hotel guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Location is perfect to go around the attractions.

Back to menu Return to top