$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

3 stars
View map of 328 East First Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Oct 26, 2008

Avoid Room 309

I had room 309 which was awful! Peeling wall paper, broken bedside lamp, desk ceiling light, and coffee maker (they did replace the coffee maker!). The carpet was starting to look a little warn. The room had a terrible view of the hotel's roof and it's venting/mechanical systems. We did spend quite a bit of time in the room so this was particularly bad. I called the front desk and the person on duty said there were no other rooms available to switch. The room was clean and the cleaning staff very nice. We asked for an extra coffee packet and we got it everyday after we asked which made the coffee satisfactory. The location is great. My family lives about a mile away so I had a quick commute. Similarly, there are tons of Sushi restaurants, two museums, shopping and freeways. If my room wasn't so awful, I would have given a better review. I hope your stay is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants. Pinkberry is close as well and open late. Japanese American Museum is across the street and down the block as well as the Geffen Contemporary which is part of the LA MOCA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Japan
Jun 25, 2009

So so・・・

That room was stinky. so We'd like to cheange a room but We could not change! I don't wanna stay. Never.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 22, 2009

It's ok....

It is really old fashion. But you can live very comfortably there. Anyway, location is good for me and with the price I paid, I think it's reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvine, CA
Apr 24, 2011

Room good

Room was clean and interior was good. Internet speed was also fast enough. But in the coffee maker pod, there was a hair, is it cleaned everyday?? I didn't use other facilities, restaurant, spa. The imminent environment is not safe area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elle m.
Business
honolulu
Nov 5, 2011

Good for convenience to downtown and good eating in Little Tokyo

If you just need a place to stay that is close to downtown and the Fashion District this is a good place. The staff is great. Pretty average accommodations. A bit old but clean. And the location is superb. Close to little Tokyo, arts district and downtown. Daikokuya is right across the street. Lots of smaller shops and restaurants close by. Good find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chow H
Business
California, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Good location

Location close to subway and a lot of Japanese restaurants around..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BonnieDee
Business
New York, NY
Jul 30, 2012

Los Angeles

The hotel was clean, the location was fantastic, I did not like the fact that they didont offer room services like wine and dine 24/7 I asked for a wine glass and they gave me little coffe cups. Also I don't know if it's an LA thing, but I had to pay 230 dollars for valet parking because they don't offer parking.another day I asked for two towels and the cleaning lady asked me to bring out the towels and garbesh I couldn't believe it . Other than that the rooms are clean except the smoking room those look like seaside hotels gross. But everything else was great the staff was really friendly and the valet guys were great. I made the best of the hotel. We overall had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go down a few blocks towards the standard hotel you will find more nightlife;) or you can go to Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oakland, ca
Sep 21, 2012

Good deal for the location

Had a pleasant stay, nice to be close to everything and not have to pay an arm and a leg.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kevin0123
Business
Oakland, CA
Oct 17, 2012

Good location; Basic accomodations.

If you're looking for a decent, clean bed to sleep on in a this part of downtown LA, this place is a good fit for you. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bed was very comfortable with clean, quality sheets. Wifi was very spotty, TV was from the 1990s. Operable windows was nice for fresh air; air conditioning worked good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best ramen place in area is across the street: Daikokoya. The line outside speaks for itself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Miyako Hotel Los Angeles

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sundown1
Business
Florida
Oct 22, 2012

Decent for what it is

This is a pretty simple hotel in the heart of Little Tokyo. Everyone who works here is Japanese and the overall vibe is representative of the area its in. I found this hotel on here cause it was within walking distance to City Hall. The Staff was not rude but they were not necessarily helpful. They seemed indifferent to everything. When I asked about sights and what to do, they drew a blank stare and gave me an old piece of paper that had a directory of what surrounded the hotel in that one block that is Little Tokyo. The room was nothing special and honestly I didn't need it to be. The toilet was definitely an interesting experience to say the least! Like I said, very Japanese. Bottom line: Would I stay here again? Only if I have to go to LA to take care of work related stuff in DTLA, other than that no. Don't get me wrong its a decent hotel (probably great if you are Japanese) but the location is nothing special and the staff just didn't seem to care. I will be coming back to LA for vacation and will not stay in DTLA again. I would recommend if in LA for work in DTLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

DTLA is said not to be LA true party scene but they did had some decent spots/clubs that were within walking distance. Not many overall but enough if you are looking for something afterhours near by. The food in the area is on point if you like Japanese Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top