$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Millennium Biltmore Hotel

4 stars
506 South Grand Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
474 reviews
Posh experience in Downtown LA

We knew we wanted this hotel. It was a last minute decision. Your website had the cheapest rate, we... See full review

  • BikeLover
  • May 26, 2014
A classy hotel

Welcoming staff. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Bar a pleasant place to spend time. See full review

  • nicknamenever
  • Jan 21, 2014
Enjoy Old-World elegance at this famed downtown L.A. landmark

Built in 1923 and designed along Continental motifs, Millennium Biltmore Hotel's gilded, ornate architecture is an immersion into a classic, bygone era. From the stately guest rooms and the elegant Rendezvous Court to the landmark Gallery Bar and Cognac Room, the hotel speaks to Los Angeles heritage by way of Old European charm. A Roman-style pool and health club adds to the allure of the hotel.

Highlights
  • Historic venue that's hosted kings, presidents and celebrities
  • Exceptional nightlife and dining options include Gallery Bar and La Bisteca Italian steakhouse
  • Roman-style pool and health club
Location

The Millennium Biltmore Hotel's downtown location means L.A.'s vibrant cultural and financial districts are just blocks away. Nearby freeway access puts major business and tourist destinations within easy reach.

Rooms

Tones of warm gold, ivory and cream, accented by rich woods and plush drapery highlight each room. The stately furnishings, plantation shutters and marbled bathrooms complete the rooms' impeccable European decor. Each of the hotel's 683 guest rooms come either with a king bed or two double beds, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and satellite TV with on-demand movies. Upgraded business-class rooms include 42-inch flat screen TVs, radios with MP3 docking stations and wider work desks and credenzas.

Features

All Millennium Biltmore Hotel guests have complimentary access to the Roman-style indoor pool and health club. For lively Continental dining, try the acclaimed Smeraldi's, and for succulent Italian-style steaks and fresh seafood, La Bisteca is hard to resist. Sai Sai offers exceptional Asian cuisine.

 

Take a seat at the legendary Gallery Bar or retire to the Cognac Room, with its lovingly preserved early-20th century memorabilia, for world-class cocktails. Groove to terrific jazz and blues standards on Friday and Saturday nights.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Station: Pershing Square (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (9 minutes)
  • Bob Hope Airport (23 minutes)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 minutes)
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (10 mi/17 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/17 km)
Business
  • 24-hour full-service business center
  • 70,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Five ballrooms, nine breakout rooms, exhibit hall and executive boardroom
  • On-site audio-visual specialists

Hotel Map

34.0493 -118.2537
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport - 18 miles Northeast. Ground transportation services are available at the airport 24 hours a day: Super Shuttle - $15USD one way; taxi - $42.00USD one way.
Area description
Hotel close to popular leisure destinations such as Museum of Contemporary Art, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Music Center, Ahmanson Theater, Shrine Auditorium, Staples Center, Dodger Stadium, Universal Studios, Fashion and Jewelry Districts, and a short ride to shopping in Beverly Hills, sightseeing in Hollywood and relaxing at the beaches (Santa Monica, Malibu, etc.); golf courses and spas within 15 minutes; concierge happy to make arrangements for tours, restaurant, etc.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Biltmore Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Millennium Biltmore Hotel Rooms

Standard King - 1 king bed
Elegantly furnished standard king room with Standard accommodations feature color schemes of warm gold, cream and ivory accented by rich woods, plush drapery, stately furnishings, plantation shutters, and marbled bathrooms. Room features High speed internet access at a charge, air conditioning, satellite TV, pay movies, work desk, iron and board, hairdryer and tea and coffeemaker. Complimentary use of full-service Health Club.
Double - 2 double bed
Elegantly furnished standard double room with 2 full size beds. Standard double accommodations feature color schemes of warm gold, cream and ivory accented by rich woods, plush drapery, stately furnishings, plantation shutters, and marbled bathrooms. Room features High speed internet access at a charge, air conditioning, satellite TV, pay movies, work desk, iron and board, hairdryer and tea and coffeemaker. Complimentary use of full-service Health Club.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • The Grove: 6.1 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.3 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 7.7 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.5 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.8 mi
  • University of California: 10.8 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.2 mi
  • UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.8 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.9 mi

Dining

Full Service Restaurant
Casual dining in a relaxed Mediterranean ambiance featuring California Cuisine. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sai Sai
Sai Sai Modern Asian Cuisine and Sushi Bar uses fresh ingredients to create modern, innovative cuisine. Our extensive menus feature light, vibrant dishes that are tasteful, clean and simple, including our popular series of perfectly proportioned lunchtime bento boxes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (474)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
474 out of 474
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Gonz
Long Beach
Jun 30, 2014

Terrible Service

First they gave my fiance a hard time checking in. I was arriving a few hours after her, but had given her my credit card and ID because I made the reservation (and pre-paid). Despite her offering to get me on the phone if they had an issue, they would not let her check in until I called and complained to a manager. Their bellhop was embarrassingly slow and completely rude. They left us waiting with bags without even acknowledging our existence for about 10 minutes, at which point they made US carry the bags into their back room for them. Upon return for our bags after some food, they had "lost" them. It took another 20 minutes of waiting in the lobby before they returned with a *shrug*. We had to go into their back room to find our luggage for them and carry it out ourselves. The room, location, and cleanliness were fine. But, for the money you pay to book a room at the Biltmore, you just expect the service to be better than a Motel 6. Not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pamelat
Firenze, ITALY
May 2, 2011

Old hotel with noisy rooms

This is the hotel where was filmed Ghostbuster and I think since then it has never been renewed!! The hotel is old style, outside is beautiful, but the structure is old, the windows have no curtains so the early morning sun lights up the rooms. Rooms on the lower floors that have windows on the square are very noisy: we were in a room at 3rd floor so we asked the staff to change the room for the 2nd night. They did it and we could sleep again. The hotel staff was nice, but I can't recommend this hotel because I think it's time to renewal!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Feb 18, 2008

not family friendly

Not a family hotel. I would not stay there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Yu
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 17, 2007

Doesn't worth the money I paid.

I paid 10$ for the Internet everyday and I could never access wireless although they told me they had wireless. The parking cost me 32$ a day and only valet parking is available which means probably you'd pay more for tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brian in PDX
Business
Portand, OR
Jan 28, 2014

Lobby is amazing. Room was not.

Bathroom had a good amount of mold. Shower arm broke when I tried to adjust it. 6 AM wake up calls that I did not order. Requested king room, instead got two queens in handicapped room. They wouldn't give me another room. No fridge in room. Ice not on every floor. Vending machine steals money. Room occupancy tax added $200 to my stay. I don't know what that is(probably not their issue, but still it was unclear about charges) Really - do not stay here. It need a 20 million dollar room renovation to get anywhere near a Marriott. Just go to the lobby bar, enjoy its beauty, then head to your hotel and rest well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to SUGARFISH on 7th. It's the best sushi in the world.

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Our Weekend Stay

The Millennium Biltmore was nicely decorated. The hotel room itself was very small but it was nicely decorated and most importantly clean. The hotel bar was a nice, lively lounge. The location was good (not a bad area) but we found the hotel seemed farther away from touristy attractions than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Montecristo
San Diego, CA
Apr 13, 2014

Tired Hotel

The Biltmore needs some TLC. Rooms are tired looking and common spaces feel cold. Looks like a lot of group business is keeping their weekend business up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tinkerfry
PA
Jun 27, 2012

Razor blade in my bed

I stayed here once before and loved it I never had a single problem. This stay however was very different and I don't think I would like to return. The first night I was there I made sure as to check in early. This was because I knew I wasn't going to get back until late and wanted to go straight up to my room. I went up to my room to find out that the room was occupied by another person and the keys didn't work. I wasn't to mad so I went back to the lobby to advise the staff of the mistake. They insisted I had a guest there when I was traveling alone so I was weary. Finally after an hour of checking in for the second time, they made a mistake because the other guest had same last name as me. Thinking to my self the verified my name had my license and my credit card all with my full name and still made this mistake. Anyway I was very tired and not in the mood for arguing so I took the sencond room and went up to the hotel to sleep. The next day I went out earily and room service had fixed up my room. When I climbed into the bed to lay down as crazy as it sounds there was a razor blade in the bed. I was shocked I picked it up and put it on the end table next to the bed. I checked all around for where it could have come from and i could not find the source. My only explaination was that during cleaning it came from some equipment they used. Just be forwarnd about this hotel there service is very spotty to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
judithg
Seattle
Feb 26, 2011

Millenium Biltmore needs some love

This once elegant hotel sorely needs some attention. The rooms were poorly appointed, the windows dirty, the cupboards missing hardware. It's sad to see the grand dame of downtown Los Angeles so tawdry and unkempt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Upset stomach
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 3, 2014

Not what I had imagined

This place is dusty and dank. When we arrived they told us there would be no hot water for the first 4+ hours of our stay. We didn't have the option of waiting for it to come on as we had a meeting and had to take COLD showers. There was no discount offered for this, just an apology. Also, be warned. Parking at this place is $40 a night. You can park in the public lot across the street for less than that. The elevators take FOREVER. We literally waiting 10 minutes on our last day there for the elevator to come, and when it did it was so full of people we couldn't get on, so had to wait another 4 minutes for a new one. This is a really dated hotel, I would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top