$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Millennium Biltmore Hotel

4 stars
506 South Grand Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90071
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
473 reviews
Posh experience in Downtown LA

We knew we wanted this hotel. It was a last minute decision. Your website had the cheapest rate, we... See full review

  • BikeLover
  • May 26, 2014
A classy hotel

Welcoming staff. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Bar a pleasant place to spend time. See full review

  • nicknamenever
  • Jan 21, 2014
Enjoy Old-World elegance at this famed downtown L.A. landmark

Built in 1923 and designed along Continental motifs, Millennium Biltmore Hotel's gilded, ornate architecture is an immersion into a classic, bygone era. From the stately guest rooms and the elegant Rendezvous Court to the landmark Gallery Bar and Cognac Room, the hotel speaks to Los Angeles heritage by way of Old European charm. A Roman-style pool and health club adds to the allure of the hotel.

Highlights
  • Historic venue that's hosted kings, presidents and celebrities
  • Exceptional nightlife and dining options include Gallery Bar and La Bisteca Italian steakhouse
  • Roman-style pool and health club
Location

The Millennium Biltmore Hotel's downtown location means L.A.'s vibrant cultural and financial districts are just blocks away. Nearby freeway access puts major business and tourist destinations within easy reach.

Rooms

Tones of warm gold, ivory and cream, accented by rich woods and plush drapery highlight each room. The stately furnishings, plantation shutters and marbled bathrooms complete the rooms' impeccable European decor. Each of the hotel's 683 guest rooms come either with a king bed or two double beds, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and satellite TV with on-demand movies. Upgraded business-class rooms include 42-inch flat screen TVs, radios with MP3 docking stations and wider work desks and credenzas.

Features

All Millennium Biltmore Hotel guests have complimentary access to the Roman-style indoor pool and health club. For lively Continental dining, try the acclaimed Smeraldi's, and for succulent Italian-style steaks and fresh seafood, La Bisteca is hard to resist. Sai Sai offers exceptional Asian cuisine.

 

Take a seat at the legendary Gallery Bar or retire to the Cognac Room, with its lovingly preserved early-20th century memorabilia, for world-class cocktails. Groove to terrific jazz and blues standards on Friday and Saturday nights.

Transportation
  • Closest Metro Station: Pershing Square (2 blocks)
  • Union Station (9 minutes)
  • Bob Hope Airport (23 minutes)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (23 minutes)
Attractions
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (less than 1 mi/1 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (10 mi/17 km)
  • Grauman's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (8 mi/13 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (11 mi/18 km)
  • Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade (15 mi/25 km)
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park (10 mi/17 km)
Business
  • 24-hour full-service business center
  • 70,000 square feet of flexible meeting space
  • Five ballrooms, nine breakout rooms, exhibit hall and executive boardroom
  • On-site audio-visual specialists

Hotel Map

34.0493 -118.2537
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport - 18 miles Northeast. Ground transportation services are available at the airport 24 hours a day: Super Shuttle - $15USD one way; taxi - $42.00USD one way.
Area description
Hotel close to popular leisure destinations such as Museum of Contemporary Art, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Music Center, Ahmanson Theater, Shrine Auditorium, Staples Center, Dodger Stadium, Universal Studios, Fashion and Jewelry Districts, and a short ride to shopping in Beverly Hills, sightseeing in Hollywood and relaxing at the beaches (Santa Monica, Malibu, etc.); golf courses and spas within 15 minutes; concierge happy to make arrangements for tours, restaurant, etc.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Millennium Biltmore Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Millennium Biltmore Hotel Rooms

Standard King - 1 king bed
Elegantly furnished standard king room with Standard accommodations feature color schemes of warm gold, cream and ivory accented by rich woods, plush drapery, stately furnishings, plantation shutters, and marbled bathrooms. Room features High speed internet access at a charge, air conditioning, satellite TV, pay movies, work desk, iron and board, hairdryer and tea and coffeemaker. Complimentary use of full-service Health Club.
Double - 2 double bed
Elegantly furnished standard double room with 2 full size beds. Standard double accommodations feature color schemes of warm gold, cream and ivory accented by rich woods, plush drapery, stately furnishings, plantation shutters, and marbled bathrooms. Room features High speed internet access at a charge, air conditioning, satellite TV, pay movies, work desk, iron and board, hairdryer and tea and coffeemaker. Complimentary use of full-service Health Club.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Pershing Square: 0.1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.1 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Music Center: 0.7 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Staples Center: 0.9 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.5 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.7 mi
  • California Science Center: 3 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3.3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.7 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 5.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6 mi
  • The Grove: 6.1 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.2 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.3 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 7 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 7.7 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.5 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 10.8 mi
  • University of California: 10.8 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 10.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.2 mi
  • UCLA: 11.6 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 12.8 mi
  • Getty Center: 12.8 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.4 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17.9 mi

Dining

Full Service Restaurant
Casual dining in a relaxed Mediterranean ambiance featuring California Cuisine. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Sai Sai
Sai Sai Modern Asian Cuisine and Sushi Bar uses fresh ingredients to create modern, innovative cuisine. Our extensive menus feature light, vibrant dishes that are tasteful, clean and simple, including our popular series of perfectly proportioned lunchtime bento boxes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (473)

Ratings and reviews for Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
473 out of 473
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tharanath
Los Angeles, California
Jan 2, 2014

Poor Amenities and cleanliness

Hotel entrance is very grand that is only one thing I can say good. Room was not clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SandyKAugust2012
Business
Jakarta, Indonesia
Aug 28, 2012

Theft of personal items

I typically do not write reviews, however, due to the theft / hotel staff's feigned inability to find my iPad, iPod and associated charger, and a MacBook charger, I felt compelled to write this review. I stayed at the Biltmore on the nights of the 21st and 22nd of August for work purposes. I was rushed as I was checking out on the 23rd and I mistakenly left those items charging on the floor next to the bed. I admit that leaving the items behind was my fault, however, in the past week, I have been repeatedly calling about these missing items and on multiple occasions, the security staff have acted as if they had never heard of my case, failed to return phone calls, claim that names of supervisors that I had been given do not actually work at the hotel, and in one call, put me on hold a minimum of 6 times in order to take calls from other people also complaining about missing items. Their security staff have done very little, if anything at all, to investigate the missing items when it is clear that someone from the cleaning or valet staff must have stolen my things. Usually, the Millennium chain of hotels is a respected and reputable chain. However, in my case, their staff have stolen close to $1000 worth of my property and the security and management staff have done little more than tell me that it is not in their lost and found. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber and I urge you not to stay here if this is how the management treats its guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stuetel
San Antonio
Jun 16, 2014

An honest negative review.

This way overpriced hotel was an awful experience. The room smelled horrible and there were roaches in it. You could hear everything coming from the streets, literally no sound proofing. Staff was unfriendly and acted as if you were just lucky to stay in their hotel. This website will forget to mention that it costs 42$ a night to park your vehicle! They try to price gouge you on everything, ie 3$ water bottles in the vending machines. Overall I ask that you do NOT stay here, please don't give this awful hotel your hard earned money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for a tour of LA look into a helicopter tour! It was a very great time.

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Good
Business
Tucson, AZ
Apr 2, 2012

Old, Stinky, and Drab

This hotel is a dive. The carpets are held together with duct tape, the hallways smell like old cigarettes, and the rooms smell of mold and are drafty. The noise from the street is like living next to a 24 hour construction site. The photos on the website definetely do not match the rooms offeres unless you upgrade from pressure from the front desk at check-in. Don't check in wearing casual clothing or the front desk personnel will treat you as a transcient! I would not recommend this to my worse enemy!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacalyn M.
San Francisco, California
Jun 17, 2013

Necklace stolen from riin

A staff stole my necklace from the 7th floor on the morning of June 16, 2013 between 9 - 11 am. Security has refused to share the list of people who have entered my room. I'm currently working with LAPD to see what can be done. I know there's little chance of getting the necklace back (it's a wedding gift with a lot of meaning) but I think it's important to get this on the record.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nhcstewart
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Classic hotel in need of updates

This beautiful and historic hotel has a gorgeous lobby and lower level meeting rooms, but once one enters the elevator and ascends to their room, the charm of yesteryear soon fades away. I should have known I was in trouble when I left the elevator and found the corridor carpet was held together with red duct tape, but I kept my spirits high until I reached my room. Large but Spartan, the room could have still met my needs had it been in good repair. However, in my particular room, I had peeling paint on the bathroom walls, a tub that had chips and gouges to the enamel, a noisy and dirty heating unit and an absolutely disgusting old single service coffee pot. When you add to this to the TV with a volume control that could not be turned lower than a preset volume, lack of free Wi-Fi in the room and no continental breakfast included with the room stay, I would have to say this was one of the worst hotel experiences I have had. If I were staying in some fleabag joint on the side of the highway, I would have expected such amenities, but what makes this all that more disappointing is that this was once the height of luxury. What a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
THE PORTERS
Los Angeles, California
Jul 15, 2012

Horrible getaway

This hotel is horrible the staff was great in friendly , but the overall hotel itself HORRIBLE!!!!! I don't even write reviews but this I had to tell. First thing we checked in and our room was on the fourth floor as we were walking towards the room in I notice the carpet is burgundy with burgundy tape to match then we get to our room is basically in the dungeon no nice view or nothing so I call down in ask can our room be switched and they said yes. So I'm thinking ok this should be better by looking at the carpet in the new room on the third floor. But no it wasn't so once in the room we look around of course until I find a lifestyle (condom) behind the desk area then the remote batteries hadn't been changed in ages if ur looking for ammenties their aren't any the bath tub and the bathroom sink takes water forever to go down the hotel need to be updated it's still stuck in the 1920's I will never stay there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A chef in Napa who found the best!
Caribbean
Dec 28, 2010

Horrible dont stay here

This hotel is old, not taken care and somewhat dirty. Maybe it was nice at some point in time but not any longer. Service is extremely bad. We called the concierge (from our room) at least 4 times with no luck. We ended up walking down to the front desk and one of the front desk employees had to help us. He was very nice (the only one who could really provide any correct info). It seems that besides this person (a dark skin very good looking man in his 30's) no one else could could give you the right information. Where told (by one of the front desk employees as the concierge was never available) that the metro was good to ride, but in fact it was the worst. Homeless people call it home and you have to ride with them. We felt very unsafe at all times while staying there. Simply, location is horrendous, specially if you are in a vacation as we where. its far from all of the tourists attractions and its almost impossible if you dont have a car. Taxis are $25-$30 each way to where the action is. We could not wait for our 3 days to be over. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to Spago's in Beverly Hill. Best service, ultimate food and the most beautiful ambiance in the World. It will be the highlight of your trip. They strive for perfection and they will prove that perfect is not good enough for them. I am a chef and a culinary consultant and its simply extremely hard to impress, at Spago's they did. It's impossible for a dinner or lunch to be better.

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2009

Horrible. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!

PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE! First and foremost parking is $40 a night, even if you are staying at the hotel, and it took 45 minutes for the valet to pull my car out front. I made a reservation for this hotel because it had a very good price (of $100 a night). I was suppose to stay Friday night and Saturday, however there was a change to my business meetings and I had to come in on Thursday. The rate for Thursday, however changed, and I was charged $220. When I asked to talk to a manager about this price jump they told me that I would receive parking for free as a gift. Figuring I had no other choice, I regretfully accepted. Their mood was very different upon arrival because I was still charged $40 for parking and when I told them I was suppose to receive it for free the manager laughed in my face (literally, which was one of the rudest experiences of my life). Secondly, I had a late meeting Friday night and came home around 12:30, and wanted to order from their "24 hour" room service. But sometimes when they are slow, they decide to let their staff go early and close down their room service without notice. I hadn't eaten since lunch and asked what I could do, which I got a response of "There's a Taco Bell and a Subway about a mile away." I then asked if I could pre-order breakfast to my room so I could just go to bed and have it there when I wake, and she told me that "was against hotel policy." I then called down the front desk and asked if I could use the hotel car to take me to a late night deli to get a bite to eat and was told that again "was against hotel policy" and was told again that there is a 24 hour Subway about a mile from the hotel!!! They literally wanted me to walk alone in a strange downtown at 1 am to get food! And they call this a 4 star hotel?!!?!?!?! PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Millennium Biltmore Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 15, 2007

very unfriendly

The Millenium Biltmore Hotel was not such as good experience than i hoped it would be. It seemed like that the staff did not know a lot about their job. That evening I asked the concierge if he could expain me how to get to a specific club, which he couldn't. Therefore I requested if he could look it up on the internet. Again, i would expect a concierge to do so without asking him. The room was very small, and it seemed like it hasn't been renovated for a long time. I also could see dry blood on the carpet, which I thought was very ugly. Room service was ok, thery brought the food pretty quickly and warm. My friend paid for the room service and the parking $112, when we checked out. Unfortunalty at the next day we could see on her account statement, that the hotel has charged $460 instead of $112. I beieve that the front office agent should have noticed that they have charged too much at the end of her/his shift, which he/she hasn't. Therefore we had to call the hotel and sort things out. The worst of all is, that nobody felt responsible nor did anyone apologise for what happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

the freeway is right next to the hotel, which is very convinient.

Back to menu Return to top