$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Kawada Hotel

2 stars
View map of 200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
77 reviews
Perfect for short stay 1 person business trip!!

Excellent. Yes, room was small and would not work for 2 people. My business was at the courthouse... See full review

  • SoCalGD
  • Jun 28, 2014
Nice hotel

It was convenient to the court and amtrak and clean. See full review

  • shanna w.
  • Feb 4, 2015
The Kawada Hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort, convenience and value with European charm. Located within the heart of Downtown, The Kawada Hotel is central to many of L.A.'s finest venues, and is within close proximity to beach cities and attractions. The Metro provides easy access to all points of interest, including The Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels, Disney Concert Hall, Music Center, garment district, museums, shopping malls, government center, jewelry mart and financial district are a short walk or a dash ride away.

There is a valet parking fee of $20.00 plus tax per day, per car due at check out.In and out privileges included.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kawada Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5

Kawada Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
European-style rooms with one queen bed or two twin beds are thoughtfully laid out, and each features many convenient amenities including individual air-conditioning units, refrigerators and video cassette players.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.2 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.3 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.6 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.1 mi
  • University of California: 11.2 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.5 mi
  • UCLA: 11.9 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 77
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
2.9

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daisy.DD
Business
SFO, CA
Oct 13, 2014

really close metro station

Location is great for visitors, and the cashiers are really kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ju.k
Business
la
Oct 7, 2014

It was good to stay only one day.

This hotel is located in Downtown.If you want to stay a cheap room only one night, I reconmmend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Vbass
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 5, 2014

Decent for a night

The hotel and room was clean but the room was definitely in need of a renovation. It was fine for a night. It's location and pricing made this hotel appealing. If you just need a place to crash, this hotel will do just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Edison is a short walk away :)

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AwesomeSauceLiz
Business
San Diego
Aug 4, 2014

Mediocre at Best

My stay was terrible. My friend and I went to downtown LA for the weekend. This hotel was the only room available within several miles, under $300 per night. I had read some mixed reviews, but the pictures looked decent and the location seemed worth it. Was disappointed right away; there is no parking and the hotel charges $22 for valet. I didn’t recall seeing this anywhere on the website and mentioned it to the front desk staff. They weren’t necessarily rude, but were very abrupt and didn’t seem to care about my questions (I wasn’t complaining by any means, I was just wondering where exactly it says anything about parking or valet services). We ended up parking on the street for much cheaper (couldn’t go in/out, once you park, you have to leave your vehicle there until you’re ready to leave for good). Okay, fine, no big deal. We had a good evening downtown, food, drinks etc. We came back around 11pm and the club downstairs was ridiculously loud, so loud that the mirrors and items in the room were vibrating. I had my television at max volume to try and drown out some of the noise. Between my friend and I, we called the front desk 3 times to ask what was going on. There was nothing they could do and no formalized complain system. The best they could do was transfer me to the manager, who of course wasn’t there. I left a voicemail asking why there is no mention of this anywhere on their website or why the front desk hadn’t warned us (or even apologized when we called down). I didn’t sleep all night; dozed off around 5am and woke up for no reason at 6. As I was showering and getting ready, the music started up AGAIN. This time at 8am. On a SUNDAY. Seriously? All frustration aside, the place was mediocre at best. Everything in the room was old and outdated, lots of scratches on the woodwork. I wouldn’t say any of it was bad, but certainly not worth $158. There was a suggestion box at the front desk, but no pens or paper anywhere. I’m just so frustrated that I wasted so much money. So much so that I’m considering making accounts on other travel sites, just to forewarn other people. Again, it’s not an awful hotel in itself, but the management and price value definitely is! PS- did some more research and as it turns out, there policy is not viewable on mobile...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nickel Diner was great! Go with the special (constantly changing, but always great!)

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kyle Not so happy
Business
Greenville, SC
May 6, 2013

Don't waste your time

Stayed here thinking it was a great value and close to downtown. When I arrived at the hotel one thing was correct, it was close to downtown. Room was booked as two queen beds but when I walked in to the room (I say room but it was more comparable to a closet) it was a twin bed with a trundle underneath. Bathroom was tiny as well as the room. Not the cleanest looking room and the smell was unpleasant. Hotel needs a massive renovation to ever be considered for another stay. Would not recommend this place to even my worst enemy to stay here. Luckily the rest of my Los Angeles trip was good despite the bad hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Los Angeles trip
Business
portland, or
Jun 18, 2012

Los Angeles

staff were good helpful I would recommend the Hotel to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 16, 2011

Stay Away

This was easily the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Don't be fooled by the lobby, which is beautiful. There is zero parking available, so the $17.50 a night valet parking charge is mandatory. Its in a rough area. The rooms are miniscule. It's as if everything was shrunken down. My bed was small and uncomfortable. My arms and legs both hung off the edges. My foot was forced to rest on top of the heater. The bed was also not level, so when I tried to sleep, I was rewarded with a pounding headache and fighting from rolling off. It was so bad I was forced to move the mattress to the floor(which barely fit in the space left). I decided to cut my stay short and was given the run around by the desk clerk when asking for a reciept. When I asked to see the manager, she replied 'I am the manager'. Thankfully, [...]was very helpful is securing a refund for the remainder of the stay. I can't stress enough. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler looking for fun and nightlife
Business
atlanta, ga
Aug 30, 2010

good economic hotel

I took a trip to LA to visit friends and party. I love the Kawada because its only a short walk to the subway and also the rapid bus system. The hotel is definitely not a "4 star hotel," but I give it that because it is exactly what I expected for around $58/night in downtown LA. The staff was always friendly, helpful, and made me feel welcome. There are plenty of super cheap eats and shops around the area for all those of us who dont care for fancy dining. There is a cool bar a block away called "la cita" that is fun (alternative crowd). Other clubs are a distance away but very accessible using the rapid bus, subway, or both. If you have never been to LA and dont know your way around (dont want to ride buses, trains, etc) this may not be your place especially if you are looking to go out to hollywood, west hollywood, etc. Also, if you are looking for a super clean, actual 4 star hotel, this isn't a good choice either. the building is old, carpet is old, beds are small (very institutional- like it was a hospital at some point). All this however does not concern me as I used the hotel just to sleep, shower, etc. Each room has a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and some cabinets. the room also had a work desk, flat screen tv, and an alarm clock radio. the kawada is a great place for travelers on a tight budget who are not afraid to use public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are tons of restaurants around the hotel, but one of my favorite places is a market area located on hill st just a short walk towards perishing square. you will find super cheap (and very good) authentic mexican, chinese, thai, deli, and even ice cream shops all within this market. there you can also find fresh fruit, meats, veggies, and anything else you may need if you want to just use the kitchenette in the room and cook.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler looking for fun and nightlife
Business
atlanta, ga
Aug 30, 2010

good economic hotel

I took a trip to LA to visit friends and party. I love the Kawada because its only a short walk to the subway and also the rapid bus system. The hotel is definitely not a "4 star hotel," but I give it that because it is exactly what I expected for around $58/night in downtown LA. The staff was always friendly, helpful, and made me feel welcome. There are plenty of super cheap eats and shops around the area for all those of us who dont care for fancy dining. There is a cool bar a block away called "la cita" that is fun (alternative crowd). Other clubs are a distance away but very accessible using the rapid bus, subway, or both. If you have never been to LA and dont know your way around (dont want to ride buses, trains, etc) this may not be your place especially if you are looking to go out to hollywood, west hollywood, etc. Also, if you are looking for a super clean, actual 4 star hotel, this isn't a good choice either. the building is old, carpet is old, beds are small (very institutional- like it was a hospital at some point). All this however does not concern me as I used the hotel just to sleep, shower, etc. Each room has a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and some cabinets. the room also had a work desk, flat screen tv, and an alarm clock radio. the kawada is a great place for travelers on a tight budget who are not afraid to use public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are tons of restaurants around the hotel, but one of my favorite places is a market area located on hill st just a short walk towards perishing square. you will find super cheap (and very good) authentic mexican, chinese, thai, deli, and even ice cream shops all within this market. there you can also find fresh fruit, meats, veggies, and anything else you may need if you want to just use the kitchenette in the room and cook.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conne
Business
CT
May 1, 2010

I would not stay at this hotel again

The location was excelent. However the room was awful. Black and green mold in the refrigerater and black mold in the bathroom. A hair on the sheet near the pillow. I'm sure that was not from someone's head...I would not stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top