$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Kawada Hotel

2 stars
View map of 200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PLAGE
Washington DC
Nov 3, 2011

Nice location

Very convenient place especially when you go to a concert at Walt Disney Hall etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 16, 2010

Wonderful Location

Location is perfect, subway stop just across the street, Museum of Contemporary Art and the Music Center are a very short walk. Room small, but for the price this place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2010

Inexpensive Downtown Hotel

The Kawada Hotel is great if you're looking for an inexpensive hotel in downtown LA. Sure, the rooms are really small, and you might pass some homeless people if you walk down the street, but that's to be expected staying in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveloid
Business
MI
Oct 25, 2010

Very old hotel, night staff are helpful

If you like a hotel close to the LA convention center and have ran out of other choices, you could settle for this one. The hotel is obviously very old and it smells it too. I had difficulty sleeping at night since I was not sure how clean my bedsheets were or if they were clean at all. The night staff at the desk are helpful and friendly (Mike and another guy) but the lady in the morning is grouchy and unhappy. She even told me to look for another hotel if I am not happy that I could not use the business center to print from my memory card. Really ancient! The hotel is close to a subway station and was one of the official convention hotels so there was a shuttle. Mike was very honest to tell me they were only charging [...] 3 nights and not 4 since I only stayed 3, though I paid 4 nights. There is also a nice breakfast restaurant next door. Probably wont stay there again if I have another choice but certainly grateful that the night staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the Civic Center subway station is a short distance from the hotel which makes it easy to go to downtown LA to grab a bite or do a bit of shopping at Macy's or buy necessities at Walgreens.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
breakfast1
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2010

pretty shabby room

staff was nice and very helpful, but the hotel itself is dismal. It is located on Skid Row, far from downtown. The room felt like a place that would get rented by the hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler looking for fun and nightlife
Business
atlanta, ga
Aug 30, 2010

good economic hotel

I took a trip to LA to visit friends and party. I love the Kawada because its only a short walk to the subway and also the rapid bus system. The hotel is definitely not a "4 star hotel," but I give it that because it is exactly what I expected for around $58/night in downtown LA. The staff was always friendly, helpful, and made me feel welcome. There are plenty of super cheap eats and shops around the area for all those of us who dont care for fancy dining. There is a cool bar a block away called "la cita" that is fun (alternative crowd). Other clubs are a distance away but very accessible using the rapid bus, subway, or both. If you have never been to LA and dont know your way around (dont want to ride buses, trains, etc) this may not be your place especially if you are looking to go out to hollywood, west hollywood, etc. Also, if you are looking for a super clean, actual 4 star hotel, this isn't a good choice either. the building is old, carpet is old, beds are small (very institutional- like it was a hospital at some point). All this however does not concern me as I used the hotel just to sleep, shower, etc. Each room has a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and some cabinets. the room also had a work desk, flat screen tv, and an alarm clock radio. the kawada is a great place for travelers on a tight budget who are not afraid to use public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are tons of restaurants around the hotel, but one of my favorite places is a market area located on hill st just a short walk towards perishing square. you will find super cheap (and very good) authentic mexican, chinese, thai, deli, and even ice cream shops all within this market. there you can also find fresh fruit, meats, veggies, and anything else you may need if you want to just use the kitchenette in the room and cook.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler looking for fun and nightlife
Business
atlanta, ga
Aug 30, 2010

good economic hotel

I took a trip to LA to visit friends and party. I love the Kawada because its only a short walk to the subway and also the rapid bus system. The hotel is definitely not a "4 star hotel," but I give it that because it is exactly what I expected for around $58/night in downtown LA. The staff was always friendly, helpful, and made me feel welcome. There are plenty of super cheap eats and shops around the area for all those of us who dont care for fancy dining. There is a cool bar a block away called "la cita" that is fun (alternative crowd). Other clubs are a distance away but very accessible using the rapid bus, subway, or both. If you have never been to LA and dont know your way around (dont want to ride buses, trains, etc) this may not be your place especially if you are looking to go out to hollywood, west hollywood, etc. Also, if you are looking for a super clean, actual 4 star hotel, this isn't a good choice either. the building is old, carpet is old, beds are small (very institutional- like it was a hospital at some point). All this however does not concern me as I used the hotel just to sleep, shower, etc. Each room has a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and some cabinets. the room also had a work desk, flat screen tv, and an alarm clock radio. the kawada is a great place for travelers on a tight budget who are not afraid to use public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are tons of restaurants around the hotel, but one of my favorite places is a market area located on hill st just a short walk towards perishing square. you will find super cheap (and very good) authentic mexican, chinese, thai, deli, and even ice cream shops all within this market. there you can also find fresh fruit, meats, veggies, and anything else you may need if you want to just use the kitchenette in the room and cook.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DesWes
Business
Palmdale, CA
Aug 16, 2010

"Bait and Switch"

very dissatisfied. No parking, we were giving a room near a very busy street. We requested a room change. We put our belongings in the room, and left for the evening. When we returned we were told we were given a room that belonged to someone else? Even though our luggage had been put in the room. We move to another room, (our third room) I think the clerk that gave us the second room, made a mistake, maybe giving us a room that should have been charged a higher price. anyway the third room was a dump, the bed was lumpy, and the floor was tilted, we had trouble keeping our balance. I will never stay or recommend Kawanda Hotel, to anyone. I even requested an Iron, but it didn't work. From now on I will stick with what I know, well known hotel chains. However the staff was friendly, and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

none

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Test-taker
Business
Anaheim
Aug 12, 2010

Small Comfort

It's the tiniest room we'd been in a hotel, but it has all the basic necessities I needed to be close to the testing site--2 blocks walk. You just can't beat the location! The $100 range is the only middle ground I could find. I would have gotten the cheaper ones close-by if not for the shared bathroom I noticed in the review. Because it's a tiny practical room, it does not accommodate a tub...which I don't mind except for the cold shower in the early morning. It's an old hotel but clean enough. Also, the check out time of 12 pm was perfect for my schedule. I traveled with my wife and the clerk readily exchanged our 2 twin bed (default) to a 1 double bed. My wife bought the food we needed for the night, so the microwave (which my wife would readily pick over a coffee maker) and refrigerator was perfect for our needs. We noticed though that there is a cafe next to the hotel, and if you go around the block you'll find several eateries. Next street is Grand Central SQUARE where I could see an open food market...if you should call it somewhat stall-type. Could be interesting if you are an adventurous traveler. In the morning on my 2-block walk to the testing site, I noticed a lot of homeless people which I consider to be a familiar sight in big cities...not really disturbing anyone and most of them seem to know each other. Valet parking in some hotel could be as much as $40 but Kawada charged $15 plus 10% (40c) tax. Not bad for downtown LA. A word of caution...if you are traveling with children, I don't think this would be a place you will find comfort. The space is just enough to move around, but a business man will have a desk and a comfortable chair for his laptop next to a flatscreen TV the size of your huge computer monitor, which was good enough for us. Don't look for an extra dining table and chairs. Generally, we were grateful for the small comfort we found for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're adventurous enough, you'll find plenty of corner eateries. Otherwise, bring your own frozen food and fruit enough to survive a day or two.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco ,CA
Jul 26, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This was my first time in LA, and location is so great. only one block away from the metro station! Room was nice and quite clean and staff were really helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, CA
Jul 21, 2010

Nice Location, but rooms are small

Nice Location, but rooms are small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top