Kawada Hotel

2 stars
200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
91 reviews
Perfect for short stay 1 person business trip!!

Excellent. Yes, room was small and would not work for 2 people. My business was at the courthouse... See full review

  • SoCalGD
  • Jun 28, 2014
Great hotel

Great location. Friendly service. Walking distance to Many downtown attractions. Would stay any day... See full review

  • Auden
  • Jun 22, 2014
The Kawada Hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort, convenience and value with European charm. Located within the heart of Downtown, The Kawada Hotel is central to many of L.A.'s finest venues, and is within close proximity to beach cities and attractions. The Metro provides easy access to all points of interest, including The Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels, Disney Concert Hall, Music Center, garment district, museums, shopping malls, government center, jewelry mart and financial district are a short walk or a dash ride away.

There is a valet parking fee of $20.00 plus tax per day, per car due at check out.In and out privileges included.

Kawada Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
European-style rooms with one queen bed or two twin beds are thoughtfully laid out, and each features many convenient amenities including individual air-conditioning units, refrigerators and video cassette players.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

34.0531 -118.2477
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
Los Angeles Int'l Airport (LAX)
Area description
Located within the heart of Downtown, the Kawada Hotel is central to many of L.A.'s finest venues, and is within close proximity to beach cities and attractions. The Metro provides easy access to all points of interest, while downtown destinations including The Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels, Disney Concert Hall, Music Center, garment district, museums, shopping malls, government center, jewelry mart and financial district are a short walk or a dash ride away.

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.2 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.3 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.1 mi
  • University of California: 11.2 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.5 mi
  • UCLA: 11.9 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveloid
Business
MI
Oct 25, 2010

Very old hotel, night staff are helpful

If you like a hotel close to the LA convention center and have ran out of other choices, you could settle for this one. The hotel is obviously very old and it smells it too. I had difficulty sleeping at night since I was not sure how clean my bedsheets were or if they were clean at all. The night staff at the desk are helpful and friendly (Mike and another guy) but the lady in the morning is grouchy and unhappy. She even told me to look for another hotel if I am not happy that I could not use the business center to print from my memory card. Really ancient! The hotel is close to a subway station and was one of the official convention hotels so there was a shuttle. Mike was very honest to tell me they were only charging [...] 3 nights and not 4 since I only stayed 3, though I paid 4 nights. There is also a nice breakfast restaurant next door. Probably wont stay there again if I have another choice but certainly grateful that the night staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the Civic Center subway station is a short distance from the hotel which makes it easy to go to downtown LA to grab a bite or do a bit of shopping at Macy's or buy necessities at Walgreens.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveloid
Business
MI
Oct 25, 2010

Very old hotel, night staff are helpful

If you like a hotel close to the LA convention center and have ran out of other choices, you could settle for this one. The hotel is obviously very old and it smells it too. I had difficulty sleeping at night since I was not sure how clean my bedsheets were or if they were clean at all. The night staff at the desk are helpful and friendly (Mike and another guy) but the lady in the morning is grouchy and unhappy. She even told me to look for another hotel if I am not happy that I could not use the business center to print from my memory card. Really ancient! The hotel is close to a subway station and was one of the official convention hotels so there was a shuttle. Mike was very honest to tell me they were only charging [...] 3 nights and not 4 since I only stayed 3, though I paid 4 nights. There is also a nice breakfast restaurant next door. Probably wont stay there again if I have another choice but certainly grateful that the night staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the Civic Center subway station is a short distance from the hotel which makes it easy to go to downtown LA to grab a bite or do a bit of shopping at Macy's or buy necessities at Walgreens.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
breakfast1
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2010

pretty shabby room

staff was nice and very helpful, but the hotel itself is dismal. It is located on Skid Row, far from downtown. The room felt like a place that would get rented by the hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
breakfast1
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2010

pretty shabby room

staff was nice and very helpful, but the hotel itself is dismal. It is located on Skid Row, far from downtown. The room felt like a place that would get rented by the hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler looking for fun and nightlife
atlanta, ga
Aug 30, 2010

good economic hotel

I took a trip to LA to visit friends and party. I love the Kawada because its only a short walk to the subway and also the rapid bus system. The hotel is definitely not a "4 star hotel," but I give it that because it is exactly what I expected for around $58/night in downtown LA. The staff was always friendly, helpful, and made me feel welcome. There are plenty of super cheap eats and shops around the area for all those of us who dont care for fancy dining. There is a cool bar a block away called "la cita" that is fun (alternative crowd). Other clubs are a distance away but very accessible using the rapid bus, subway, or both. If you have never been to LA and dont know your way around (dont want to ride buses, trains, etc) this may not be your place especially if you are looking to go out to hollywood, west hollywood, etc. Also, if you are looking for a super clean, actual 4 star hotel, this isn't a good choice either. the building is old, carpet is old, beds are small (very institutional- like it was a hospital at some point). All this however does not concern me as I used the hotel just to sleep, shower, etc. Each room has a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and some cabinets. the room also had a work desk, flat screen tv, and an alarm clock radio. the kawada is a great place for travelers on a tight budget who are not afraid to use public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are tons of restaurants around the hotel, but one of my favorite places is a market area located on hill st just a short walk towards perishing square. you will find super cheap (and very good) authentic mexican, chinese, thai, deli, and even ice cream shops all within this market. there you can also find fresh fruit, meats, veggies, and anything else you may need if you want to just use the kitchenette in the room and cook.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DesWes
Palmdale, CA
Aug 16, 2010

"Bait and Switch"

very dissatisfied. No parking, we were giving a room near a very busy street. We requested a room change. We put our belongings in the room, and left for the evening. When we returned we were told we were given a room that belonged to someone else? Even though our luggage had been put in the room. We move to another room, (our third room) I think the clerk that gave us the second room, made a mistake, maybe giving us a room that should have been charged a higher price. anyway the third room was a dump, the bed was lumpy, and the floor was tilted, we had trouble keeping our balance. I will never stay or recommend Kawanda Hotel, to anyone. I even requested an Iron, but it didn't work. From now on I will stick with what I know, well known hotel chains. However the staff was friendly, and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

none

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DesWes
Palmdale, CA
Aug 16, 2010

"Bait and Switch"

very dissatisfied. No parking, we were giving a room near a very busy street. We requested a room change. We put our belongings in the room, and left for the evening. When we returned we were told we were given a room that belonged to someone else? Even though our luggage had been put in the room. We move to another room, (our third room) I think the clerk that gave us the second room, made a mistake, maybe giving us a room that should have been charged a higher price. anyway the third room was a dump, the bed was lumpy, and the floor was tilted, we had trouble keeping our balance. I will never stay or recommend Kawanda Hotel, to anyone. I even requested an Iron, but it didn't work. From now on I will stick with what I know, well known hotel chains. However the staff was friendly, and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

none

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Test-taker
Anaheim
Aug 12, 2010

Small Comfort

It's the tiniest room we'd been in a hotel, but it has all the basic necessities I needed to be close to the testing site--2 blocks walk. You just can't beat the location! The $100 range is the only middle ground I could find. I would have gotten the cheaper ones close-by if not for the shared bathroom I noticed in the review. Because it's a tiny practical room, it does not accommodate a tub...which I don't mind except for the cold shower in the early morning. It's an old hotel but clean enough. Also, the check out time of 12 pm was perfect for my schedule. I traveled with my wife and the clerk readily exchanged our 2 twin bed (default) to a 1 double bed. My wife bought the food we needed for the night, so the microwave (which my wife would readily pick over a coffee maker) and refrigerator was perfect for our needs. We noticed though that there is a cafe next to the hotel, and if you go around the block you'll find several eateries. Next street is Grand Central SQUARE where I could see an open food market...if you should call it somewhat stall-type. Could be interesting if you are an adventurous traveler. In the morning on my 2-block walk to the testing site, I noticed a lot of homeless people which I consider to be a familiar sight in big cities...not really disturbing anyone and most of them seem to know each other. Valet parking in some hotel could be as much as $40 but Kawada charged $15 plus 10% (40c) tax. Not bad for downtown LA. A word of caution...if you are traveling with children, I don't think this would be a place you will find comfort. The space is just enough to move around, but a business man will have a desk and a comfortable chair for his laptop next to a flatscreen TV the size of your huge computer monitor, which was good enough for us. Don't look for an extra dining table and chairs. Generally, we were grateful for the small comfort we found for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're adventurous enough, you'll find plenty of corner eateries. Otherwise, bring your own frozen food and fruit enough to survive a day or two.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Test-taker
Anaheim
Aug 12, 2010

Small Comfort

It's the tiniest room we'd been in a hotel, but it has all the basic necessities I needed to be close to the testing site--2 blocks walk. You just can't beat the location! The $100 range is the only middle ground I could find. I would have gotten the cheaper ones close-by if not for the shared bathroom I noticed in the review. Because it's a tiny practical room, it does not accommodate a tub...which I don't mind except for the cold shower in the early morning. It's an old hotel but clean enough. Also, the check out time of 12 pm was perfect for my schedule. I traveled with my wife and the clerk readily exchanged our 2 twin bed (default) to a 1 double bed. My wife bought the food we needed for the night, so the microwave (which my wife would readily pick over a coffee maker) and refrigerator was perfect for our needs. We noticed though that there is a cafe next to the hotel, and if you go around the block you'll find several eateries. Next street is Grand Central SQUARE where I could see an open food market...if you should call it somewhat stall-type. Could be interesting if you are an adventurous traveler. In the morning on my 2-block walk to the testing site, I noticed a lot of homeless people which I consider to be a familiar sight in big cities...not really disturbing anyone and most of them seem to know each other. Valet parking in some hotel could be as much as $40 but Kawada charged $15 plus 10% (40c) tax. Not bad for downtown LA. A word of caution...if you are traveling with children, I don't think this would be a place you will find comfort. The space is just enough to move around, but a business man will have a desk and a comfortable chair for his laptop next to a flatscreen TV the size of your huge computer monitor, which was good enough for us. Don't look for an extra dining table and chairs. Generally, we were grateful for the small comfort we found for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're adventurous enough, you'll find plenty of corner eateries. Otherwise, bring your own frozen food and fruit enough to survive a day or two.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco ,CA
Jul 26, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This was my first time in LA, and location is so great. only one block away from the metro station! Room was nice and quite clean and staff were really helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top