$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Kawada Hotel

2 stars
200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
68 reviews
Perfect for short stay 1 person business trip!!

Excellent. Yes, room was small and would not work for 2 people. My business was at the courthouse... See full review

  • SoCalGD
  • Jun 28, 2014
Great hotel

Great location. Friendly service. Walking distance to Many downtown attractions. Would stay any day... See full review

  • Auden
  • Jun 22, 2014
The Kawada Hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort, convenience and value with European charm. Located within the heart of Downtown, The Kawada Hotel is central to many of L.A.'s finest venues, and is within close proximity to beach cities and attractions. The Metro provides easy access to all points of interest, including The Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels, Disney Concert Hall, Music Center, garment district, museums, shopping malls, government center, jewelry mart and financial district are a short walk or a dash ride away.

There is a valet parking fee of $20.00 plus tax per day, per car due at check out.In and out privileges included.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kawada Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Kawada Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
European-style rooms with one queen bed or two twin beds are thoughtfully laid out, and each features many convenient amenities including individual air-conditioning units, refrigerators and video cassette players.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.2 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.3 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.1 mi
  • University of California: 11.2 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.5 mi
  • UCLA: 11.9 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Test-taker
Business
Anaheim
Aug 12, 2010

Small Comfort

It's the tiniest room we'd been in a hotel, but it has all the basic necessities I needed to be close to the testing site--2 blocks walk. You just can't beat the location! The $100 range is the only middle ground I could find. I would have gotten the cheaper ones close-by if not for the shared bathroom I noticed in the review. Because it's a tiny practical room, it does not accommodate a tub...which I don't mind except for the cold shower in the early morning. It's an old hotel but clean enough. Also, the check out time of 12 pm was perfect for my schedule. I traveled with my wife and the clerk readily exchanged our 2 twin bed (default) to a 1 double bed. My wife bought the food we needed for the night, so the microwave (which my wife would readily pick over a coffee maker) and refrigerator was perfect for our needs. We noticed though that there is a cafe next to the hotel, and if you go around the block you'll find several eateries. Next street is Grand Central SQUARE where I could see an open food market...if you should call it somewhat stall-type. Could be interesting if you are an adventurous traveler. In the morning on my 2-block walk to the testing site, I noticed a lot of homeless people which I consider to be a familiar sight in big cities...not really disturbing anyone and most of them seem to know each other. Valet parking in some hotel could be as much as $40 but Kawada charged $15 plus 10% (40c) tax. Not bad for downtown LA. A word of caution...if you are traveling with children, I don't think this would be a place you will find comfort. The space is just enough to move around, but a business man will have a desk and a comfortable chair for his laptop next to a flatscreen TV the size of your huge computer monitor, which was good enough for us. Don't look for an extra dining table and chairs. Generally, we were grateful for the small comfort we found for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're adventurous enough, you'll find plenty of corner eateries. Otherwise, bring your own frozen food and fruit enough to survive a day or two.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco ,CA
Jul 26, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This was my first time in LA, and location is so great. only one block away from the metro station! Room was nice and quite clean and staff were really helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, CA
Jul 21, 2010

Nice Location, but rooms are small

Nice Location, but rooms are small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san bruno
Jun 28, 2010

downtown la hotel

great location but small rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

fashion district a short drive and short walk to grand central market to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
May 13, 2010

Kawada

This place was fine. Nothing too fancy, and a little drab, the place seemed like it was still moving in or something. I did enjoy the proximity to Little Tokyo (awesome sushi) and the Walt Disney Hall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little Tokyo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Conne
Business
CT
May 1, 2010

I would not stay at this hotel again

The location was excelent. However the room was awful. Black and green mold in the refrigerater and black mold in the bathroom. A hair on the sheet near the pillow. I'm sure that was not from someone's head...I would not stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach CA
Apr 16, 2010

great downtown location

It is within walking distance of garmet district, chinatown, flower market, theatre district, etc and that is what we wanted. We were there on the weekend and found that there was very little in the way of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel to eat after 9 at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring snacks, etc as they do have a fridge, stove & sink in the room. Also ask for a corner room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CANCUN MEXICO
Mar 16, 2010

GREAT DEAL

WELL WHEN WE FIRST ARRIVED LATE THE FRONT DESK ATTENDENT WAS VERY NICE PERSON SEVICE GREAT UNFURTIONLY FOR HIM HE DID NOT HAD OUR ROOM 2 BEDS SO HE GAVE US 2 ROOMS INSTED OF ONE THAT WAS BETTER MY FRIEND SNORES ALOT HAHAHAAH ,,ROOMS CLEAN TV WAS NOT WORKING SO GOOD BUT DID NOT CARE THE VIE WAS MAGNIFICENT ROOM 424 CIVIC CENTER AND DISNEY HALL I WILL STAY HERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
verna mae
Business
san jacinto ca
Feb 8, 2010

You get what you pay for

Tried to get internet to work. No coffee. Cheap bed spreads stained need to be in trash

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Keep looking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYE Party Goer
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 4, 2010

Pretty much what we expected

My friend and I found this place last minute for a place to crash so that we would not have to drive home on New Year's Eve. The room was relatively clean and functional and sufficient for the reasonable price. The front desk staff and valet guy were all nice. If you just need a place to sleep then you might consider here, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone vacationing in Los Angeles. The lighting in the room was quite dim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top