$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Kawada Hotel

2 stars
200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
68 reviews
Perfect for short stay 1 person business trip!!

Excellent. Yes, room was small and would not work for 2 people. My business was at the courthouse... See full review

  • SoCalGD
  • Jun 28, 2014
Great hotel

Great location. Friendly service. Walking distance to Many downtown attractions. Would stay any day... See full review

  • Auden
  • Jun 22, 2014
The Kawada Hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort, convenience and value with European charm. Located within the heart of Downtown, The Kawada Hotel is central to many of L.A.'s finest venues, and is within close proximity to beach cities and attractions. The Metro provides easy access to all points of interest, including The Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels, Disney Concert Hall, Music Center, garment district, museums, shopping malls, government center, jewelry mart and financial district are a short walk or a dash ride away.

There is a valet parking fee of $20.00 plus tax per day, per car due at check out.In and out privileges included.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kawada Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Kawada Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
European-style rooms with one queen bed or two twin beds are thoughtfully laid out, and each features many convenient amenities including individual air-conditioning units, refrigerators and video cassette players.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.2 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.3 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.1 mi
  • University of California: 11.2 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.5 mi
  • UCLA: 11.9 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.5 mi
  • Getty Villa: 18.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 16, 2011

Stay Away

This was easily the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Don't be fooled by the lobby, which is beautiful. There is zero parking available, so the $17.50 a night valet parking charge is mandatory. Its in a rough area. The rooms are miniscule. It's as if everything was shrunken down. My bed was small and uncomfortable. My arms and legs both hung off the edges. My foot was forced to rest on top of the heater. The bed was also not level, so when I tried to sleep, I was rewarded with a pounding headache and fighting from rolling off. It was so bad I was forced to move the mattress to the floor(which barely fit in the space left). I decided to cut my stay short and was given the run around by the desk clerk when asking for a reciept. When I asked to see the manager, she replied 'I am the manager'. Thankfully, [...]was very helpful is securing a refund for the remainder of the stay. I can't stress enough. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glass Travelers
Business
Springfield, MO
May 26, 2011

Kawada L.A.

The hotel room was very small but this is not what threw us off. The bed itself was VERY uncomfortable and hard as a rock while the pillows were extremely flat. I awoke with a pain in my neck and shoulders everyday so that it made my stay somewhat uncomfortable. The staff on the other hand were very friendly and accommodating, from the lady at the front desk to the house cleaner to the valet. As I said the lack of space could have been compensated for had the bed been in the least comfortable. While I enjoyed the trip to L.A., I could have done without the pain and the waking up every morning feeling like I had gotten no sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great open market south down the block, with a wide variety of restaurants as well as fresh food if you choose to cook your own back at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Apr 29, 2011

Not worth the trouble

Barely a one star hotel. Tried to force valet parking on me when I could park by myself very close by. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 23, 2011

Decent hotel for price and location

No-frills hotel that's a good value considering its location downtown, especially Disney Hall, the Music Center, and Little Tokyo. While the surrounding area still looks forlorn, it's relatively safe. Not recommended if you like amenities like cable, coffee maker in your room, etc (though there is a fridge). Also cost to park a car is expensive, but you can get to many places by using the Metro system (including Staples Center). Best for the budget-minded traveler who doesn't mind walking or using mass transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best options for dining are a couple of blocks East in Little Tokyo,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 16, 2010

Wonderful Location

Location is perfect, subway stop just across the street, Museum of Contemporary Art and the Music Center are a very short walk. Room small, but for the price this place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2010

Inexpensive Downtown Hotel

The Kawada Hotel is great if you're looking for an inexpensive hotel in downtown LA. Sure, the rooms are really small, and you might pass some homeless people if you walk down the street, but that's to be expected staying in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveloid
Business
MI
Oct 25, 2010

Very old hotel, night staff are helpful

If you like a hotel close to the LA convention center and have ran out of other choices, you could settle for this one. The hotel is obviously very old and it smells it too. I had difficulty sleeping at night since I was not sure how clean my bedsheets were or if they were clean at all. The night staff at the desk are helpful and friendly (Mike and another guy) but the lady in the morning is grouchy and unhappy. She even told me to look for another hotel if I am not happy that I could not use the business center to print from my memory card. Really ancient! The hotel is close to a subway station and was one of the official convention hotels so there was a shuttle. Mike was very honest to tell me they were only charging [...] 3 nights and not 4 since I only stayed 3, though I paid 4 nights. There is also a nice breakfast restaurant next door. Probably wont stay there again if I have another choice but certainly grateful that the night staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the Civic Center subway station is a short distance from the hotel which makes it easy to go to downtown LA to grab a bite or do a bit of shopping at Macy's or buy necessities at Walgreens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
breakfast1
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2010

pretty shabby room

staff was nice and very helpful, but the hotel itself is dismal. It is located on Skid Row, far from downtown. The room felt like a place that would get rented by the hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler looking for fun and nightlife
Business
atlanta, ga
Aug 30, 2010

good economic hotel

I took a trip to LA to visit friends and party. I love the Kawada because its only a short walk to the subway and also the rapid bus system. The hotel is definitely not a "4 star hotel," but I give it that because it is exactly what I expected for around $58/night in downtown LA. The staff was always friendly, helpful, and made me feel welcome. There are plenty of super cheap eats and shops around the area for all those of us who dont care for fancy dining. There is a cool bar a block away called "la cita" that is fun (alternative crowd). Other clubs are a distance away but very accessible using the rapid bus, subway, or both. If you have never been to LA and dont know your way around (dont want to ride buses, trains, etc) this may not be your place especially if you are looking to go out to hollywood, west hollywood, etc. Also, if you are looking for a super clean, actual 4 star hotel, this isn't a good choice either. the building is old, carpet is old, beds are small (very institutional- like it was a hospital at some point). All this however does not concern me as I used the hotel just to sleep, shower, etc. Each room has a kitchenette with a stove, sink, and some cabinets. the room also had a work desk, flat screen tv, and an alarm clock radio. the kawada is a great place for travelers on a tight budget who are not afraid to use public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are tons of restaurants around the hotel, but one of my favorite places is a market area located on hill st just a short walk towards perishing square. you will find super cheap (and very good) authentic mexican, chinese, thai, deli, and even ice cream shops all within this market. there you can also find fresh fruit, meats, veggies, and anything else you may need if you want to just use the kitchenette in the room and cook.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DesWes
Business
Palmdale, CA
Aug 16, 2010

"Bait and Switch"

very dissatisfied. No parking, we were giving a room near a very busy street. We requested a room change. We put our belongings in the room, and left for the evening. When we returned we were told we were given a room that belonged to someone else? Even though our luggage had been put in the room. We move to another room, (our third room) I think the clerk that gave us the second room, made a mistake, maybe giving us a room that should have been charged a higher price. anyway the third room was a dump, the bed was lumpy, and the floor was tilted, we had trouble keeping our balance. I will never stay or recommend Kawanda Hotel, to anyone. I even requested an Iron, but it didn't work. From now on I will stick with what I know, well known hotel chains. However the staff was friendly, and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top