$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 1, 2015

Kawada Hotel

2 stars
View map of 200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Opera Mom
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 23, 2011

No distractions - Bare bones

This hotel was bare bones as far as hotels come, but that was exactly what I needed. I didn't want distractions with internet and TV. I wanted a quiet room, close to Disney Hall where I could eat, work and sleep. That's what it was. I was happy to have a fridge and microwave so I could buy fresh produce at the Grand Central Market, or heat up left overs. The staff is extremely friendly and the cleaning crew was great! It's an old building that is in desperate need of renovation, however, the cleaning staff took great pride in making it the best that they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Central Market has it all from fresh produce and meat to all different types of ready made food.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VitalityCo
Business
Gainesville, FL, USA
Aug 20, 2011

Wow, what an experience (Not a Good one)

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The reviews and the star rating for this hotel were WAY, WAY offbase. This is at best a 1 or 2 star, old run-down hotel, that looks like it was converted from a halfway house. Everything about the experience was terrible. They had to change my room because the keys wouldn't work, the floor was damp like there was a leak, and the neighborhood was a little sketch. If my wife was with me, this would have been a major problem. I would advise them to shut down the hotel and sell the property. STAY AWAY!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 16, 2011

Stay Away

This was easily the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Don't be fooled by the lobby, which is beautiful. There is zero parking available, so the $17.50 a night valet parking charge is mandatory. Its in a rough area. The rooms are miniscule. It's as if everything was shrunken down. My bed was small and uncomfortable. My arms and legs both hung off the edges. My foot was forced to rest on top of the heater. The bed was also not level, so when I tried to sleep, I was rewarded with a pounding headache and fighting from rolling off. It was so bad I was forced to move the mattress to the floor(which barely fit in the space left). I decided to cut my stay short and was given the run around by the desk clerk when asking for a reciept. When I asked to see the manager, she replied 'I am the manager'. Thankfully, [...]was very helpful is securing a refund for the remainder of the stay. I can't stress enough. Don't stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glass Travelers
Business
Springfield, MO
May 26, 2011

Kawada L.A.

The hotel room was very small but this is not what threw us off. The bed itself was VERY uncomfortable and hard as a rock while the pillows were extremely flat. I awoke with a pain in my neck and shoulders everyday so that it made my stay somewhat uncomfortable. The staff on the other hand were very friendly and accommodating, from the lady at the front desk to the house cleaner to the valet. As I said the lack of space could have been compensated for had the bed been in the least comfortable. While I enjoyed the trip to L.A., I could have done without the pain and the waking up every morning feeling like I had gotten no sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great open market south down the block, with a wide variety of restaurants as well as fresh food if you choose to cook your own back at the hotel.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redding, CA
Apr 29, 2011

Not worth the trouble

Barely a one star hotel. Tried to force valet parking on me when I could park by myself very close by. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jan 23, 2011

Decent hotel for price and location

No-frills hotel that's a good value considering its location downtown, especially Disney Hall, the Music Center, and Little Tokyo. While the surrounding area still looks forlorn, it's relatively safe. Not recommended if you like amenities like cable, coffee maker in your room, etc (though there is a fridge). Also cost to park a car is expensive, but you can get to many places by using the Metro system (including Staples Center). Best for the budget-minded traveler who doesn't mind walking or using mass transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best options for dining are a couple of blocks East in Little Tokyo,

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 16, 2010

Wonderful Location

Location is perfect, subway stop just across the street, Museum of Contemporary Art and the Music Center are a very short walk. Room small, but for the price this place is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 2, 2010

Inexpensive Downtown Hotel

The Kawada Hotel is great if you're looking for an inexpensive hotel in downtown LA. Sure, the rooms are really small, and you might pass some homeless people if you walk down the street, but that's to be expected staying in a city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveloid
Business
MI
Oct 25, 2010

Very old hotel, night staff are helpful

If you like a hotel close to the LA convention center and have ran out of other choices, you could settle for this one. The hotel is obviously very old and it smells it too. I had difficulty sleeping at night since I was not sure how clean my bedsheets were or if they were clean at all. The night staff at the desk are helpful and friendly (Mike and another guy) but the lady in the morning is grouchy and unhappy. She even told me to look for another hotel if I am not happy that I could not use the business center to print from my memory card. Really ancient! The hotel is close to a subway station and was one of the official convention hotels so there was a shuttle. Mike was very honest to tell me they were only charging [...] 3 nights and not 4 since I only stayed 3, though I paid 4 nights. There is also a nice breakfast restaurant next door. Probably wont stay there again if I have another choice but certainly grateful that the night staff are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the Civic Center subway station is a short distance from the hotel which makes it easy to go to downtown LA to grab a bite or do a bit of shopping at Macy's or buy necessities at Walgreens.

Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
breakfast1
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2010

pretty shabby room

staff was nice and very helpful, but the hotel itself is dismal. It is located on Skid Row, far from downtown. The room felt like a place that would get rented by the hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top