$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Kawada Hotel

2 stars
View map of 200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sundown1
Business
Florida
Jun 1, 2013

Simple Room for Simple Person

Nothing special to write home about. The room was cramped like crazy and the TV must have been about 18 inches. The bathroom sink water barely came out but I survived. I only needed this place because it was close to work. If you are going to Los Angeles for vacation, DO NOT STAY HERE. However if you are in need of a place for a night or two then by all means its manageable, just don't hold it to high expectations. On a final note, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Very good people who do their best to help when they can. I do plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three words: Grand. Central. Market. This place has been there since 1896 and the assortment of food options is amazing. Even though I only stayed in LA for one night, I literally only ate at this location (Well, when I got back to LAX I took a shuttle to In-n-Out but thats another story). Try the tacos, they are amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jake the Disgruntled Geck
Business
Tacoma, WA
May 20, 2013

good hotel

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 days. The hotel location was good and close to metro rail station ( 3 minutes walk). it was so convenient.. The room was kinda small but there are small kitchen and fridge minus microwave. The problem was there is no hair dryer in bathroom!! other than that this place is nice to place to stay. The stuffs were very friendly and nice. There are so many place to eat in LA downtown. If you want to have good burger. we really recommend to eat at Redwood Bar right next to the hotel. They have Best burger in downtown in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kyle Not so happy
Business
Greenville, SC
May 6, 2013

Don't waste your time

Stayed here thinking it was a great value and close to downtown. When I arrived at the hotel one thing was correct, it was close to downtown. Room was booked as two queen beds but when I walked in to the room (I say room but it was more comparable to a closet) it was a twin bed with a trundle underneath. Bathroom was tiny as well as the room. Not the cleanest looking room and the smell was unpleasant. Hotel needs a massive renovation to ever be considered for another stay. Would not recommend this place to even my worst enemy to stay here. Luckily the rest of my Los Angeles trip was good despite the bad hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
discrete
Business
calgary
Mar 19, 2013

great hotel with great location and did the job for us

Awesome location. 1 block from civic center metro. will stay here again as we just go back to sleep in it and stay out all day and late night. internet cost us 5$ and local phone calls costs some money as well other than that no issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

civic center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cop in training
Business
Los Angeles, California
Feb 22, 2013

Just a business trip.

Location was horrible it was loud all day and night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't recommend it but it worked for what we had to be there for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sundown1
Business
Florida
Jan 17, 2013

Spartan Hotel

A quick background: I'm a Mid-20's single male professional who stayed here for only one night to get some stuff done in the DTLA area. I only mention this because honestly I think if you don't fit into the above category you should not stay here. The hotel is spartan at best. This literally is a minimum standard hotel in regards to everything. The room was extremely small (Basically a bed that takes up most of the room with a tiny sink and a small desk). The bathroom was tiny and the sink had no hot water at all (Shower did). The floor was uneven and the bathroom was freezing cold. One thing that really annoyed me was that the Bathroom light was on a timer. It is a little annoying to be in the shower and the lights turn off on you. This is a room for ONE person. Period. Anything more and you won't be able to breathe. The staff, while helpful when asked for service, gave off the impression that they did not want to be there. One of the elevators did not work. The location is great as it is smack down in the middle of DTLA. I was able to get a cab easily and later I walked to everywhere I needed to go. Food options in the area are there but a little limited since DTLA isn't exactly built for tourists. All in all, I only recommend this place if you are a single male (I find it hard to believe any woman would put up with this place) who only requires a bed and a hot shower. Literally. I did not enjoy my stay but I would stay here again because I am simple and can manage. I plan to stay at this hotel again when I return for future business simply because its cheap and all I really need. Again, stay here if you are a male, mid or late 20's, going alone, not picky about ANYTHING ,and not for long. Considering most of my friends are in this group, I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you coming to DTLA for some short term business then you can walk everywhere like I did. The only time I did not walk was at 2am when I wanted to get some food and not many places were open thus forcing me to cab it there but even then it was still affordable. Plus LA was experiencing record cold temperatures.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
From nearby
Business
San Diego
Oct 1, 2012

The bare necessities

If you expect four walls, a TV, a bed and bathroom, and not much else, then this is it. It was clean but not exactly comfortable since it was very basic. There is a computer in the lobby with internet but otherwise, no WiFi. There was no hotel parking but there were numerous places nearby. It is very centrally located so you can just catch a cab or walk to where you need to go in the Downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MightyMike
Business
Las Vegas NV
Sep 13, 2012

Perfect place to stay downtown

Besides the bed being a bit stiff, the staff was very friendly! We like the valet guy a lot! There's a stove in there! The hotel was walking distance to all the attractions in downtown LA!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Our Lady of the Angels Cathedral

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bethie Ann
Business
Milwaukee
Aug 12, 2012

Uncomfortable and unfriendly

The pictures they show on the page is quite different than the actual room. The room is completely crammed and so small the bed was almost to the door an it blocked the mirrors even. We came in and there was used empty water bottles on the floor and it had a gross stench to it. We asked for non smoking and got smoking. The elevator literally smelled like someone urined in it and no one cleaned it up. The front staff man was rude and totally unfriendly like we were almost inconveniencing him. I wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
usatraveller
Business
california
Aug 2, 2012

not a good place to stay

room is small, beds are not clean. really not a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top