$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Kawada Hotel

2 stars
View map of 200 South Hill Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
73 reviews
Perfect for short stay 1 person business trip!!

Excellent. Yes, room was small and would not work for 2 people. My business was at the courthouse... See full review

  • SoCalGD
  • Jun 28, 2014
Nice hotel

It was convenient to the court and amtrak and clean. See full review

  • shanna w.
  • Feb 4, 2015
The Kawada Hotel offers business and leisure travelers comfort, convenience and value with European charm. Located within the heart of Downtown, The Kawada Hotel is central to many of L.A.'s finest venues, and is within close proximity to beach cities and attractions. The Metro provides easy access to all points of interest, including The Cathedral of Our Lady of the Angels, Disney Concert Hall, Music Center, garment district, museums, shopping malls, government center, jewelry mart and financial district are a short walk or a dash ride away.

There is a valet parking fee of $20.00 plus tax per day, per car due at check out.In and out privileges included.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Kawada Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Kawada Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
European-style rooms with one queen bed or two twin beds are thoughtfully laid out, and each features many convenient amenities including individual air-conditioning units, refrigerators and video cassette players.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 0.2 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 0.2 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 0.3 mi
  • Music Center: 0.3 mi
  • Pershing Square: 0.4 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.3 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 1.5 mi
  • Galen Center: 2.9 mi
  • Koreatown: 3 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 3 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.4 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.4 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.5 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 5.5 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 5.6 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 5.7 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 5.9 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 6.2 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 6.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 6.3 mi
  • The Grove: 6.4 mi
  • Magic Castle: 6.5 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 6.5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 6.6 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 6.6 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 6.9 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 7 mi
  • Kitson: 8 mi
  • Universal Studios: 8.6 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 8.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 11.1 mi
  • University of California: 11.2 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 11.2 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 11.5 mi
  • UCLA: 11.9 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Getty Center: 13.1 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 13.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Kawada Hotel

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shanna w.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Nice hotel

It was convenient to the court and amtrak and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 26, 2015

Overnight stay

The location of this hotel was pretty nice besides the fact that you have to pay for parking. Another this was that the room was somewhat clean, but it did have a cigarrette smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jh.765
Business
ulsan
Jan 15, 2015

Business trip in los angeles

Short layover in la. Hotel is not close to korean downtown or la downtwon. Bad location small room. Some smell. Not recommended. Not worth at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bat4477
Business
Middletown
Jan 15, 2015

Reunion

Old not undated interior. Room small with 1950s amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daisy.DD
Business
SFO, CA
Oct 13, 2014

really close metro station

Location is great for visitors, and the cashiers are really kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ju.k
Business
la
Oct 7, 2014

It was good to stay only one day.

This hotel is located in Downtown.If you want to stay a cheap room only one night, I reconmmend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler Vbass
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 5, 2014

Decent for a night

The hotel and room was clean but the room was definitely in need of a renovation. It was fine for a night. It's location and pricing made this hotel appealing. If you just need a place to crash, this hotel will do just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Edison is a short walk away :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AwesomeSauceLiz
Business
San Diego
Aug 4, 2014

Mediocre at Best

My stay was terrible. My friend and I went to downtown LA for the weekend. This hotel was the only room available within several miles, under $300 per night. I had read some mixed reviews, but the pictures looked decent and the location seemed worth it. Was disappointed right away; there is no parking and the hotel charges $22 for valet. I didn’t recall seeing this anywhere on the website and mentioned it to the front desk staff. They weren’t necessarily rude, but were very abrupt and didn’t seem to care about my questions (I wasn’t complaining by any means, I was just wondering where exactly it says anything about parking or valet services). We ended up parking on the street for much cheaper (couldn’t go in/out, once you park, you have to leave your vehicle there until you’re ready to leave for good). Okay, fine, no big deal. We had a good evening downtown, food, drinks etc. We came back around 11pm and the club downstairs was ridiculously loud, so loud that the mirrors and items in the room were vibrating. I had my television at max volume to try and drown out some of the noise. Between my friend and I, we called the front desk 3 times to ask what was going on. There was nothing they could do and no formalized complain system. The best they could do was transfer me to the manager, who of course wasn’t there. I left a voicemail asking why there is no mention of this anywhere on their website or why the front desk hadn’t warned us (or even apologized when we called down). I didn’t sleep all night; dozed off around 5am and woke up for no reason at 6. As I was showering and getting ready, the music started up AGAIN. This time at 8am. On a SUNDAY. Seriously? All frustration aside, the place was mediocre at best. Everything in the room was old and outdated, lots of scratches on the woodwork. I wouldn’t say any of it was bad, but certainly not worth $158. There was a suggestion box at the front desk, but no pens or paper anywhere. I’m just so frustrated that I wasted so much money. So much so that I’m considering making accounts on other travel sites, just to forewarn other people. Again, it’s not an awful hotel in itself, but the management and price value definitely is! PS- did some more research and as it turns out, there policy is not viewable on mobile...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nickel Diner was great! Go with the special (constantly changing, but always great!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SoCalGD
Business
Lake Arrowhead, CA
Jun 28, 2014

Perfect for short stay 1 person business trip!!

Excellent. Yes, room was small and would not work for 2 people. My business was at the courthouse so Kawada was very close and convenient. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. With travel broker discount it was also a great value! Note: use valet if you are going and out often for $20 fee but use parking garage if not for only $8.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Kawada Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chaaaser
Business
Northridge, CA
Jun 24, 2014

My Stay

It wasnt bad. Just wasnt anything special. I needed somewhere to stay that was somewhat local, and cheap and this was it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top