Hollywood Inn Express South

2 stars
View map of 141 North Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
64 reviews
greattttt

Loved it great staff great breakfast nice clean room See full review

  • lee saa l.a.
  • Mar 1, 2014
Convenient Location

This is our second time coming here. The neighborhood isn't too bad. Staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Spock fan
  • Mar 17, 2014
Located in Los Angeles near Highway 101, the Hollywood Inn South provides modest accommodations close to many area attractions. Within a few miles of the hotel is downtown Los Angeles, Chinatown, the Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Sunset Strip, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. This two story hotel provides 74 guestrooms, each with complimentary high- speed Internet access, refrigerator, and cable TV with premium channels. A complimentary continental breakfast is provided each morning. Several dining options are available within the surrounding area.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Inn Express South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hollywood Inn Express South Rooms

Non-Smoking Queen
Two queendouble beds. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).
Non-Smoking King
One king bed. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 4.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 4.6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Magic Castle: 4.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 5 mi
  • The Grove: 5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 5.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 5.4 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.6 mi
  • Kitson: 6.5 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6.9 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 7.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 9.8 mi
  • University of California: 9.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 9.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.1 mi
  • UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 11.9 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there are several dining options within the surrounding area: Sizzler Denny’s El Pollo Loco

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express South

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 64
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beegirl
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 10, 2014

avoid!

I booked this in a hurry and misread the property’s name (thinking the first word was 'Holiday'), which is a far cry from the reality of this property. It is not in a good part of town, there are vagrants and questionable random folks loitering outside rooms at all times of day, there is not enough parking, the building is very run-down, the beds are VERY HARD and uncomfortable, only 1 thin blanket is provided, the heater did not work, the wi-fi is very slow and unstable, the walls are paper-thin, the manager attempted to double-charge me (didn’t seem to understand I'd prepaid on the site..), the phone in the room did not work… and it was generally overpriced for slum that was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cyn Superwoman
Business
Rialto, California
Feb 4, 2014

Good hotel

This hotels is clean, the service is good and is an a good location. Great for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Strip

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs florida
Business
florida
Feb 26, 2013

good parking lot

Clean but kinda old tv without controller, one refrigerator good. Clothes drawers, table, Big parking lot. Good to reach every place in la with a car. We stayed for 5 nights in this hotel, we got a rental car so used the parking lot very well here. Big parking lot for free. Breakfast... waffle machine was poor and only two machines so it took so long time. Good area to stay. Not loud. But sometimes drunk people loud outside of hotel behind the hotel street. One rerefrigerator in a room was good for fruits and drinks. Many restaurants are near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Taco bell, mc Donald

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria virginia
Jan 12, 2011

Very good lacation great price clean roo

Really nice people good service And the best, clean room and cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La chapina restaurant , very good Hispanic food at very good prices

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Monte , CA
Nov 28, 2010

Good stay.

Me and my boyfriend went out to a near by club so it was convenient to stay at the hotel. The staff was friendly. Overall we booked the hotel to party not for luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent Cheap Hotel

We stayed at this hotel on vacation over the Memorial Day Weekend. It is an excellent hotel for the price and its conveniently located between Hollywood and downtown. It is clean and the service is very friendly. For the price, you probably won't be able to get anything better in LA. The only downside is that their wi-fi did not reach our room even though they advertised internet service; therefore, we had to use the i-phone for internet. Other than that, it is a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raver
Business
oakland, ca
Nov 1, 2009

what you expecr

what you would expect for the price. but the room made me a little uncomfortable as it wasnt very clean. stains here and there on the walls and doors... and some burn holes on the blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 25, 2008

Very comfortable

This hotel was very clean. The staff there were polite. The room was very big and had enough space for the two of us. The closet space was well oraganized. most of the things you can shove in a suitcase were there iron,ironing table, hair dryer etc. Theres so many cars but then it could have been the holiday traffic. overall my stay here was very well enjoyed and i would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel was close to the high way to all the attractions in that area not rididcoulously close to ware you could here all the trucks at night but a comfortable distance.

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Nov 27, 2007

Reasonable Price, but some confusion

Our stay was a mixed bag. The check in was friendly and last minute due to a mix-up at another motel. The room needed some cleaning (light switches and doors were grimy). My wife bought some cleaner for that. The beds are a little hard. Some confusion when we extended our stay. They acidentally rented the room to someone else who walked in on my wife in bed. i got home later, and was awoken in the middle of the night to come down to the front desk to straighten it out. We got it straight, but it was a little upsetting. At least this staff was friendly. At the other motel they wer very uncooperative and rude. I would recommend this place for someone looking for simple accomodations. Nothing fancy here, but friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Sep 15, 2007

Very bad services

I do not recommande this hotel at my worst ennemy, we have continental for breakfast donut with a very bad coffe, no milk just milk in powder, the wife of my friend ask for a supplementary pillow, my friens as to disput to have it, they know that we AR 4 PERSONS, but they give us only 2 0r 3 towel, they close air conditionning during the day, so when we arrive it is so hot, we ask for a good restaurant, they send us at the MCDONALD It is so bad like service with a service like that i will close door in my business so i hope that client that they want to lease a motel choose an other place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top