Hollywood Inn Express South

2 stars
141 North Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
85 reviews
greattttt

Loved it great staff great breakfast nice clean room See full review

  • lee saa l.a.
  • Mar 1, 2014
Convenient Location

This is our second time coming here. The neighborhood isn't too bad. Staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Spock fan
  • Mar 17, 2014
Located in Los Angeles near Highway 101, the Hollywood Inn South provides modest accommodations close to many area attractions. Within a few miles of the hotel is downtown Los Angeles, Chinatown, the Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Sunset Strip, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. This two story hotel provides 74 guestrooms, each with complimentary high- speed Internet access, refrigerator, and cable TV with premium channels. A complimentary continental breakfast is provided each morning. Several dining options are available within the surrounding area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Inn Express South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hollywood Inn Express South Rooms

Non-Smoking King
One king bed. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).
Non-Smoking Queen
Two queendouble beds. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 4.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 4.6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Magic Castle: 4.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 5 mi
  • The Grove: 5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 5.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 5.4 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.6 mi
  • Kitson: 6.5 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6.9 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 7.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 9.8 mi
  • University of California: 9.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 9.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.1 mi
  • UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 11.9 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there are several dining options within the surrounding area: Sizzler Denny’s El Pollo Loco

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express South

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 85
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.5
Value:
2.7

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
van007
Business
california
Mar 18, 2014

business travel

Great price. Location. Is good if visiting California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DonaldK
Business
Binghamton, NY
Feb 23, 2014

Convenient to downtown LA

Quiet, clean, some dowdiness, just blocks away from downtown; BUT, the TV is very dated and does not receive many channels or have an accurate clock which management would not correct in five days! Bring your own alarm clock or remain sleepless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pxpx
Business
Sacramento
Feb 22, 2014

Never again

Terrible place to stay. No one in the office when we got there. People hanging out outside. Parking was cramped. Room is beat up. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. Pretty scary neighborhood. Never going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shortywuzhere
Business
San Francisco
Dec 15, 2011

Horrible stay

1st when we got there the power was out til 7pmish. The room was pretty dirty. Carpet was dirty. The pillows were yellow. The bathroom was small. The soap they gave us was so hard to lather. I wouldn't recommended this place to anyone at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElZorro
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Horrible

There was as leak in the bathroom and I was given a smoking room. When I asked for a new room, the front desk person was appeared up set.The cable just had a few channels. The worst part was that the Channel 2 News was an adult channel. There were fleas in the bed. The breakfast was cereal, OJ, milk, dounuts, and coffee. I would not stay at that place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler1222222
Business
USA
Aug 23, 2011

Business

I was happy to have a hotel near where I had to be. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Fro
Business
Portland, OR.
Jun 1, 2011

Okay get away but you will hear sirens!

Business trip, room has 4 TV channels that worked, walls are paper thin, but close to Hollywood and other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Oct 13, 2010

excellent stay

very satisfying in every aspects.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mabz
Business
san jose, costa rica
Mar 25, 2010

The true about the cleanness on a hotel.

Hi, My name is Monica Barbosa, my travel was a business trip and i have been traveling a lot for a while. I have to say about this hotel that the location is veru bad because nathing is close and is imposible to walk around this area pass six, all the local people warining us about the unsafe zone that we was. We move from room because there was a lot of noise in the first one, when we move to the other roomm we forgot a ipod device and when we ask for it it was already stole. The room looks unclean and the proof of that is that i have now a skin problem...we dont know what happen, we chek if was an allergy but not, son now im taking pills for akaros and making an appointment with the doctor. THAT IS REALLY BAD!! I travel a lot to many places but never was sick for anything..look me now... i will never come back to that place. On my trip i visit Universal studios and some malls plus my business locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WaR
Business
san Jose
Oct 12, 2009

bad

The motel was charging $100+ per night which was not really worth it. The phone was from holiday Inn and I thought that is their number and gave it to people than later found out it was wrong. The beds are old and smell TV is old. not worth $100+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top