Hollywood Inn Express South

2 stars
141 North Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
130 reviews
greattttt

Loved it great staff great breakfast nice clean room See full review

  • lee saa l.a.
  • Mar 1, 2014
Convenient Location

This is our second time coming here. The neighborhood isn't too bad. Staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Spock fan
  • Mar 17, 2014
Located in Los Angeles near Highway 101, the Hollywood Inn South provides modest accommodations close to many area attractions. Within a few miles of the hotel is downtown Los Angeles, Chinatown, the Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Sunset Strip, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. This two story hotel provides 74 guestrooms, each with complimentary high- speed Internet access, refrigerator, and cable TV with premium channels. A complimentary continental breakfast is provided each morning. Several dining options are available within the surrounding area.

Hollywood Inn Express South Rooms

Non-Smoking King
One king bed. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).
Non-Smoking Queen
Two queendouble beds. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Inn Express South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0681 -118.2704
Area served
Los Angeles
Nearby airports
Los Angeles International Airport: Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 8 miles
Area description
West of Downtown. Within a few miles of the hotel is downtown Los Angeles, Chinatown, the Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Sunset Strip, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Nearby points of interest

  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 4.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 4.6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Magic Castle: 4.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 5 mi
  • The Grove: 5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 5.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 5.4 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.6 mi
  • Kitson: 6.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 7.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 9.8 mi
  • University of California: 9.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 9.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.1 mi
  • UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 11.9 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there are several dining options within the surrounding area: Sizzler Denny’s El Pollo Loco

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express South

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shortywuzhere
Business
San Francisco
Dec 15, 2011

Horrible stay

1st when we got there the power was out til 7pmish. The room was pretty dirty. Carpet was dirty. The pillows were yellow. The bathroom was small. The soap they gave us was so hard to lather. I wouldn't recommended this place to anyone at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
May 19, 2010

My Hotel Stay

This hotel was the worst! It is VERY unclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WaR
Business
san Jose
Oct 12, 2009

bad

The motel was charging $100+ per night which was not really worth it. The phone was from holiday Inn and I thought that is their number and gave it to people than later found out it was wrong. The beds are old and smell TV is old. not worth $100+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 30, 2007

checking in

Room was not ready until after 4:30 in the afternoon. I had to keep calling down to the lobby for someone to come clean the room. Finally after 4-5 calls I tracked down a maid and bribed her with 10 dollars to please clean the room. The management seemed to care less about my situation, even when I asked for a different room he just kept saying my room was goint to be cleaned within 10 to 20 minutes, which never happened. I am very dissatisfied with this hotel and will never NEVER stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jul 20, 2009

Nice looking, but filthy dirty

The room looked nice and was spacious, but was filthy dirty. The carpet was so filthy that we were afraid to walk around in barefeet. The furniture was so filthy that we didn't dare sit on it. The shower had hair in it that wasn't ours. I went to use a washcloth on my face and it had a long, black hair on it which wasn't ours. That just about put me over the edge. We went to sit at the pool and ended up with dirt on our skin from leaning up against the edge of the pool. It was filthy. Besides all this, the tv has hardcore adult movies on it that doesn't need to be ordered. Our daughter was flipping through the channels and there it was. That is completely inappropriate. The accent of the gentleman who checked us in was so thick that I could hardly understand a word he was saying. I wouldn't stay at this place ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pxpx
Business
Sacramento
Feb 22, 2014

Never again

Terrible place to stay. No one in the office when we got there. People hanging out outside. Parking was cramped. Room is beat up. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. Pretty scary neighborhood. Never going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Mar 31, 2011

THE WORST EXPERIENCE

The hotel was falling apart, dirty and the staff was rude and unfriendly. If you decide to go, take your bedsheets, towels and bring your own soap, shampoo and toilette paper. Bring house slippers to walk inside because the carpets are filthy. Everything used in this hotel is cheap. The breakfast is the worst, stale doughnuts and plain corn flakes ONLY, orange tang, watered down coffee. The internet falls every five minutes and a new password is needed every day. No microwave in the rooms they have a mini microwave sitting in a corner closet in the hallway for guest use. The ice machine was broken. I will never go back to this hotel. The picture posted looks good. Don't trust it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mabz
Business
san jose, costa rica
Mar 25, 2010

The true about the cleanness on a hotel.

Hi, My name is Monica Barbosa, my travel was a business trip and i have been traveling a lot for a while. I have to say about this hotel that the location is veru bad because nathing is close and is imposible to walk around this area pass six, all the local people warining us about the unsafe zone that we was. We move from room because there was a lot of noise in the first one, when we move to the other roomm we forgot a ipod device and when we ask for it it was already stole. The room looks unclean and the proof of that is that i have now a skin problem...we dont know what happen, we chek if was an allergy but not, son now im taking pills for akaros and making an appointment with the doctor. THAT IS REALLY BAD!! I travel a lot to many places but never was sick for anything..look me now... i will never come back to that place. On my trip i visit Universal studios and some malls plus my business locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Benjoe
clovis, ca.
May 8, 2011

3 words

Good location, reasonable, spacious. Downside: smelly, moldy, broken toilet paper holder, towels are hand-towel sized. I would have ignored the downside but the front desk staff were rude and indifferent. The guy when we checked out is the only one with manners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Mar 31, 2011

THE WORST EXPERIENCE

The hotel was falling apart, dirty and the staff was rude and unfriendly. If you decide to go, take your bedsheets, towels and bring your own soap, shampoo and toilette paper. Bring house slippers to walk inside because the carpets are filthy. Everything used in this hotel is cheap. The breakfast is the worst, stale doughnuts and plain corn flakes ONLY, orange tang, watered down coffee. The internet falls every five minutes and a new password is needed every day. No microwave in the rooms they have a mini microwave sitting in a corner closet in the hallway for guest use. The ice machine was broken. I will never go back to this hotel. The picture posted looks good. Don't trust it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top