Hollywood Inn Express South

2 stars
View map of 141 North Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
85 reviews
greattttt

Loved it great staff great breakfast nice clean room See full review

  • lee saa l.a.
  • Mar 1, 2014
Convenient Location

This is our second time coming here. The neighborhood isn't too bad. Staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Spock fan
  • Mar 17, 2014
Located in Los Angeles near Highway 101, the Hollywood Inn South provides modest accommodations close to many area attractions. Within a few miles of the hotel is downtown Los Angeles, Chinatown, the Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Sunset Strip, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. This two story hotel provides 74 guestrooms, each with complimentary high- speed Internet access, refrigerator, and cable TV with premium channels. A complimentary continental breakfast is provided each morning. Several dining options are available within the surrounding area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Inn Express South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hollywood Inn Express South Rooms

Non-Smoking King
One king bed. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).
Non-Smoking Queen
Two queendouble beds. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 4.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 4.6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Magic Castle: 4.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 5 mi
  • The Grove: 5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 5.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 5.4 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.6 mi
  • Kitson: 6.5 mi
  • Universal Studios: 6.9 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 7.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 9.8 mi
  • University of California: 9.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 9.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.1 mi
  • UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 11.9 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there are several dining options within the surrounding area: Sizzler Denny’s El Pollo Loco

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express South

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ratsoda
Business
Springfield, IL
Aug 3, 2007

Not so friendly hotel

This hotel was absolutely horrible. We we first check into our hotel room, it was a complete mess. The room smelled horrible, the comforter and bed sheets were all over the bed and there were used towels laying on the sink. We called to notify the manager about this problem and it took over a hour for the maids to come clean up our room. Later towards the middle of the night we had strangers knocking at hotel door, screaming and yelling. It was really creepy. It maybe a cheap place but it is difinitely not worth spending your money on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an El Pollo Loco and a Mcdonald's at the intersection near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
remond
Business
ca
Dec 30, 2009

the rooms is too derty and there is no

the room is not that clean and there is no internet at all ,i stay there 5 days and i ask them where is the high speed internet and they are lairs each day tel me some thing new. i tried to call [...] but i did not see any number to contact with !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mabz
Business
san jose, costa rica
Mar 25, 2010

The true about the cleanness on a hotel.

Hi, My name is Monica Barbosa, my travel was a business trip and i have been traveling a lot for a while. I have to say about this hotel that the location is veru bad because nathing is close and is imposible to walk around this area pass six, all the local people warining us about the unsafe zone that we was. We move from room because there was a lot of noise in the first one, when we move to the other roomm we forgot a ipod device and when we ask for it it was already stole. The room looks unclean and the proof of that is that i have now a skin problem...we dont know what happen, we chek if was an allergy but not, son now im taking pills for akaros and making an appointment with the doctor. THAT IS REALLY BAD!! I travel a lot to many places but never was sick for anything..look me now... i will never come back to that place. On my trip i visit Universal studios and some malls plus my business locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ElZorro
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Horrible

There was as leak in the bathroom and I was given a smoking room. When I asked for a new room, the front desk person was appeared up set.The cable just had a few channels. The worst part was that the Channel 2 News was an adult channel. There were fleas in the bed. The breakfast was cereal, OJ, milk, dounuts, and coffee. I would not stay at that place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shortywuzhere
Business
San Francisco
Dec 15, 2011

Horrible stay

1st when we got there the power was out til 7pmish. The room was pretty dirty. Carpet was dirty. The pillows were yellow. The bathroom was small. The soap they gave us was so hard to lather. I wouldn't recommended this place to anyone at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
beegirl
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 10, 2014

avoid!

I booked this in a hurry and misread the property’s name (thinking the first word was 'Holiday'), which is a far cry from the reality of this property. It is not in a good part of town, there are vagrants and questionable random folks loitering outside rooms at all times of day, there is not enough parking, the building is very run-down, the beds are VERY HARD and uncomfortable, only 1 thin blanket is provided, the heater did not work, the wi-fi is very slow and unstable, the walls are paper-thin, the manager attempted to double-charge me (didn’t seem to understand I'd prepaid on the site..), the phone in the room did not work… and it was generally overpriced for slum that was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pxpx
Business
Sacramento
Feb 22, 2014

Never again

Terrible place to stay. No one in the office when we got there. People hanging out outside. Parking was cramped. Room is beat up. Bed was extremely uncomfortable. Pretty scary neighborhood. Never going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

Not so worth it

I chose to stay here based on room cost and location, but after experiencing the rock hard beds, dingy bathroom and razor wire surrounding the property, I won't be a returning customer. On a high note, they have HBO and excellent water pressure in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is right off the 101 and only 15-20 minutes from Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
May 19, 2010

My Hotel Stay

This hotel was the worst! It is VERY unclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Mar 31, 2011

THE WORST EXPERIENCE

The hotel was falling apart, dirty and the staff was rude and unfriendly. If you decide to go, take your bedsheets, towels and bring your own soap, shampoo and toilette paper. Bring house slippers to walk inside because the carpets are filthy. Everything used in this hotel is cheap. The breakfast is the worst, stale doughnuts and plain corn flakes ONLY, orange tang, watered down coffee. The internet falls every five minutes and a new password is needed every day. No microwave in the rooms they have a mini microwave sitting in a corner closet in the hallway for guest use. The ice machine was broken. I will never go back to this hotel. The picture posted looks good. Don't trust it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top