Hollywood Inn Express South

2 stars
141 North Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
85 reviews
greattttt

Loved it great staff great breakfast nice clean room See full review

  • lee saa l.a.
  • Mar 1, 2014
Convenient Location

This is our second time coming here. The neighborhood isn't too bad. Staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Spock fan
  • Mar 17, 2014
Located in Los Angeles near Highway 101, the Hollywood Inn South provides modest accommodations close to many area attractions. Within a few miles of the hotel is downtown Los Angeles, Chinatown, the Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Sunset Strip, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. This two story hotel provides 74 guestrooms, each with complimentary high- speed Internet access, refrigerator, and cable TV with premium channels. A complimentary continental breakfast is provided each morning. Several dining options are available within the surrounding area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Inn Express South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hollywood Inn Express South Rooms

Non-Smoking King
One king bed. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).
Non-Smoking Queen
Two queendouble beds. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 4.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 4.6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Magic Castle: 4.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 5 mi
  • The Grove: 5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 5.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 5.4 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.6 mi
  • Kitson: 6.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 7.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 9.8 mi
  • University of California: 9.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 9.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.1 mi
  • UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 11.9 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there are several dining options within the surrounding area: Sizzler Denny’s El Pollo Loco

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express South

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Nov 27, 2007

Reasonable Price, but some confusion

Our stay was a mixed bag. The check in was friendly and last minute due to a mix-up at another motel. The room needed some cleaning (light switches and doors were grimy). My wife bought some cleaner for that. The beds are a little hard. Some confusion when we extended our stay. They acidentally rented the room to someone else who walked in on my wife in bed. i got home later, and was awoken in the middle of the night to come down to the front desk to straighten it out. We got it straight, but it was a little upsetting. At least this staff was friendly. At the other motel they wer very uncooperative and rude. I would recommend this place for someone looking for simple accomodations. Nothing fancy here, but friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Nov 12, 2007

Great place for the price

Hollywood Express Inn is in a great area and very accessible to the freeway. The room was clean and comfortable with two queen size beds. There are plenty of eating places in the area. We were on the 1st floor which was more convenient for the amount of bags we had. The hallway on the 1st floor needs more lighting and the carpet could be cleaned better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 30, 2007

checking in

Room was not ready until after 4:30 in the afternoon. I had to keep calling down to the lobby for someone to come clean the room. Finally after 4-5 calls I tracked down a maid and bribed her with 10 dollars to please clean the room. The management seemed to care less about my situation, even when I asked for a different room he just kept saying my room was goint to be cleaned within 10 to 20 minutes, which never happened. I am very dissatisfied with this hotel and will never NEVER stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, QC
Sep 15, 2007

Very bad services

I do not recommande this hotel at my worst ennemy, we have continental for breakfast donut with a very bad coffe, no milk just milk in powder, the wife of my friend ask for a supplementary pillow, my friens as to disput to have it, they know that we AR 4 PERSONS, but they give us only 2 0r 3 towel, they close air conditionning during the day, so when we arrive it is so hot, we ask for a good restaurant, they send us at the MCDONALD It is so bad like service with a service like that i will close door in my business so i hope that client that they want to lease a motel choose an other place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jose antonio
Business
Mexico City
Aug 15, 2007

no amenities

the hollywood express inn its a hotel with nothing just rooms to sleep but you dont have food, no transportation, nothing i prefer other options on my next trip to LA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

nothing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ratsoda
Business
Springfield, IL
Aug 3, 2007

Not so friendly hotel

This hotel was absolutely horrible. We we first check into our hotel room, it was a complete mess. The room smelled horrible, the comforter and bed sheets were all over the bed and there were used towels laying on the sink. We called to notify the manager about this problem and it took over a hour for the maids to come clean up our room. Later towards the middle of the night we had strangers knocking at hotel door, screaming and yelling. It was really creepy. It maybe a cheap place but it is difinitely not worth spending your money on it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is an El Pollo Loco and a Mcdonald's at the intersection near the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 27, 2007

VERY POOR

HOTEL ROOMS VERY NASTY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 25, 2007

Filthy stye

Dirty and old, bad neigborhood. You get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

is right off wilshire

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 20, 2007

Not so worth it

I chose to stay here based on room cost and location, but after experiencing the rock hard beds, dingy bathroom and razor wire surrounding the property, I won't be a returning customer. On a high note, they have HBO and excellent water pressure in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is right off the 101 and only 15-20 minutes from Hollywood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 15, 2007

good location

the location was very good we were only minutes away from anywhere we wanted to go.after a long day sight seeing is very nice to know we dont have to drive far to relax and call it a day . we liked the fact that the vanity area had two sinks .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

hollywood blvd was only a few minutes away and also universal studios was also a few minutes away .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top