Hollywood Inn Express South

2 stars
141 North Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
85 reviews
greattttt

Loved it great staff great breakfast nice clean room See full review

  • lee saa l.a.
  • Mar 1, 2014
Convenient Location

This is our second time coming here. The neighborhood isn't too bad. Staff was very friendly and... See full review

  • Spock fan
  • Mar 17, 2014
Located in Los Angeles near Highway 101, the Hollywood Inn South provides modest accommodations close to many area attractions. Within a few miles of the hotel is downtown Los Angeles, Chinatown, the Staples Center, Dodgers Stadium, Sunset Strip, Universal Studios and the Hollywood Walk of Fame. This two story hotel provides 74 guestrooms, each with complimentary high- speed Internet access, refrigerator, and cable TV with premium channels. A complimentary continental breakfast is provided each morning. Several dining options are available within the surrounding area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Inn Express South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hollywood Inn Express South Rooms

Non-Smoking King
One king bed. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).
Non-Smoking Queen
Two queendouble beds. 400 square feet, Complimentary high-speed Internet access, Refrigerator, Cable TV with premium channel(s), Hair dryer, Iron and ironing board (on request).

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 1.5 mi
  • Music Center: 1.5 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 1.7 mi
  • Pershing Square: 1.7 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 1.7 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 1.8 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 1.8 mi
  • Koreatown: 1.8 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 1.9 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 2.4 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 2.7 mi
  • Galen Center: 3.3 mi
  • California Science Center: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 3.9 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 3.9 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 3.9 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 4.1 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 4.6 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Magic Castle: 4.8 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.9 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 5 mi
  • The Grove: 5 mi
  • Farmers Market: 5.2 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 5.4 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 5.6 mi
  • Kitson: 6.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 7.6 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 9.8 mi
  • University of California: 9.8 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 9.8 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 10.1 mi
  • UCLA: 10.5 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Getty Center: 11.7 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 11.9 mi
  • Getty Villa: 17 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
The hotel does not have its own restaurant, but there are several dining options within the surrounding area: Sizzler Denny’s El Pollo Loco

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express South

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.1

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 21, 2009

Not so good

Pretty ify location, and not very clean. I looks like the mold in the bathroom had been painted over. The shower rod was falling off. I asked at the front desk about local museums because there was no phone book in the room; they were not award of local museums. I also asked for a plastic fork, assuming they had one from the "continental breakfast" (which amounted to a box of donuts and coffee), and was told they had none. That is when I walked to a nearby market, and got to discover the scary neighborhood. It was okay for a big guy like me, but I would not let my kids or wife outside the hotel area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 20, 2009

Nice looking, but filthy dirty

The room looked nice and was spacious, but was filthy dirty. The carpet was so filthy that we were afraid to walk around in barefeet. The furniture was so filthy that we didn't dare sit on it. The shower had hair in it that wasn't ours. I went to use a washcloth on my face and it had a long, black hair on it which wasn't ours. That just about put me over the edge. We went to sit at the pool and ended up with dirt on our skin from leaning up against the edge of the pool. It was filthy. Besides all this, the tv has hardcore adult movies on it that doesn't need to be ordered. Our daughter was flipping through the channels and there it was. That is completely inappropriate. The accent of the gentleman who checked us in was so thick that I could hardly understand a word he was saying. I wouldn't stay at this place ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Eww. NOT what we paid for!

We reserved 2 queens and got 2 doubles. The room smelled bad and the plaster was peeling off of the bathroom wall. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
May 20, 2009

It is very nice, but no internet

It is a very nice Inn. It closes to downtown. The only problem is no internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milton
Sep 28, 2008

Good to sleep at, but

The rooms are large enough, but they have been in need of updating for a long time. The internet service is painfully slow and the nieighborhood after dark is a little intimidating. Pollo Loco up the street has good grilled chicken, but it's still just fast food within walking distance. To call it Hollywood is a stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arden Hills
Aug 26, 2008

Overall Review

The continental breakfast needs much improvement (only gooey donuts and rolls were provided along with coffee and powdered orange juice). Even though the hotel was not at full capacity, the hotel staff initially denied our request for additional towels and pillows. They DID fulfill our request late in the evening that first day. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well as did the shower, sink etc.. I beleive that with some minor, inexpensive changes and perhaps more attentive and cordial staff, this hotel would easily receive higher scores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions are close by - China Town is one and it was amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

LA weekend

The people at the front desk wore really rude and hard to understand the room are OK nothing spercial about them i try to get internet for 2 days and never got it working i think they wore pulling my leg everytime i went to the front office and tols them about it the were like ohhh my friend will have it running in 1hr well that one hr became 2 days so i just gave up... what ever the room service are really slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Khamille
Business
USA
Apr 22, 2008

DIRTY INSIDE & OUT!!

This Hotel was ABSOLUTELY disgusting! I'm so glad we only stayed one nite. THe blankets were OBVIOUSLY unwashed, there was a bloody band-aide in the restroom on the floor, and the trash cans were not emptied. Our nite was spent trying to avoid getting diseases or infection from the room. It is very close to Highway 101, but that didn't make up for the awful time we had. And, there were terrible donuts in the morning. The pool was ABSOLUTELY FILTHY! I wasn't planning to swim anyways, but seeing the pool made me GLAD i didn't bring my suit! THE WHOLE PLACE IS FOUL! Invest a little more in a HALFWAY DECENT place! DON't WASTE YOUR MOEY OR TIME HERE!!!!! I IMPLORE YOU!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 25, 2008

Very comfortable

This hotel was very clean. The staff there were polite. The room was very big and had enough space for the two of us. The closet space was well oraganized. most of the things you can shove in a suitcase were there iron,ironing table, hair dryer etc. Theres so many cars but then it could have been the holiday traffic. overall my stay here was very well enjoyed and i would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel was close to the high way to all the attractions in that area not rididcoulously close to ware you could here all the trucks at night but a comfortable distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 7, 2008

Not A Bad Place

I stayed at the Hollywood Express Inn South for 7 days and 8 nights while on vacation in LA. If you have a lot of money and want something more luxurious with restaurants/bars, then don't stay here. Also, if you want to be closer to the main attractions of LA like Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, then don't stay here. If you're looking for a decent, plain motel in LA without paying a lot of money, then stay here. The location isn't too bad. I didn't have any problems with safety. It's in a central area, between downtown LA and Hollywood. It's better to have an automobile while staying at this hotel, because the buses by the hotel don't run too rapidly and are very slow at times. There aren't any nice restaurants nearby either. The motel had a nice, large room. The bed was comfortable. There weren't many channels on the TV, but why come to LA just to watch TV? The bathroom was clean. The heat worked well. Everything was neat for the most part. I didn't use the pool, but it appeared to be clean, yet small. The staff was friendly. Overall it's not a bad place to camp out while exploring the City of Angels. It's not luxury, but it's not a dump either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top