Hollywood Inn Express South

2 stars
View map of 141 North Alvarado Street, Los Angeles, CA 90026

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express South

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raver
Business
oakland, ca
Nov 1, 2009

what you expecr

what you would expect for the price. but the room made me a little uncomfortable as it wasnt very clean. stains here and there on the walls and doors... and some burn holes on the blanket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WaR
Business
san Jose
Oct 12, 2009

bad

The motel was charging $100+ per night which was not really worth it. The phone was from holiday Inn and I thought that is their number and gave it to people than later found out it was wrong. The beds are old and smell TV is old. not worth $100+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
jimena Spain
Oct 3, 2009

a lot of money for what it was

Not to bad a location for getting around on public transport. Misguide on breakfast. just a doughnut (very good) and watery coffee. Pool really small and univiting. However, room clean and linen changed daily, manager VERY bored but helped where he could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

bus service is very good. only 25cents if you are over 62 (we lied) sadly they believed us. Thought the warner brothers tour very expensive and not worth it.

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
high desert, ca
Aug 11, 2009

Great location!

only spent one night it was safe, quite, not too pretty inside but you get your money's worth

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

went to pantages theater, very closed to hollywood and la business district

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jul 25, 2009

Terrible location.. I didnt even stay

I didnt even go in. The neighborhood was not very nice and the hotel looked rather shakey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 21, 2009

Not so good

Pretty ify location, and not very clean. I looks like the mold in the bathroom had been painted over. The shower rod was falling off. I asked at the front desk about local museums because there was no phone book in the room; they were not award of local museums. I also asked for a plastic fork, assuming they had one from the "continental breakfast" (which amounted to a box of donuts and coffee), and was told they had none. That is when I walked to a nearby market, and got to discover the scary neighborhood. It was okay for a big guy like me, but I would not let my kids or wife outside the hotel area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
Jul 20, 2009

Nice looking, but filthy dirty

The room looked nice and was spacious, but was filthy dirty. The carpet was so filthy that we were afraid to walk around in barefeet. The furniture was so filthy that we didn't dare sit on it. The shower had hair in it that wasn't ours. I went to use a washcloth on my face and it had a long, black hair on it which wasn't ours. That just about put me over the edge. We went to sit at the pool and ended up with dirt on our skin from leaning up against the edge of the pool. It was filthy. Besides all this, the tv has hardcore adult movies on it that doesn't need to be ordered. Our daughter was flipping through the channels and there it was. That is completely inappropriate. The accent of the gentleman who checked us in was so thick that I could hardly understand a word he was saying. I wouldn't stay at this place ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Eww. NOT what we paid for!

We reserved 2 queens and got 2 doubles. The room smelled bad and the plaster was peeling off of the bathroom wall. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milton
Sep 28, 2008

Good to sleep at, but

The rooms are large enough, but they have been in need of updating for a long time. The internet service is painfully slow and the nieighborhood after dark is a little intimidating. Pollo Loco up the street has good grilled chicken, but it's still just fast food within walking distance. To call it Hollywood is a stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonald's.

Review of Hollywood Inn Express South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arden Hills
Aug 26, 2008

Overall Review

The continental breakfast needs much improvement (only gooey donuts and rolls were provided along with coffee and powdered orange juice). Even though the hotel was not at full capacity, the hotel staff initially denied our request for additional towels and pillows. They DID fulfill our request late in the evening that first day. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The air conditioning worked very well as did the shower, sink etc.. I beleive that with some minor, inexpensive changes and perhaps more attentive and cordial staff, this hotel would easily receive higher scores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions are close by - China Town is one and it was amazing.

Back to menu Return to top