Hollywood Inn Express North

2 stars
View map of 5131 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express North

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Geo of SSF
Business
South San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 20, 2012

You get what you pay for

We were looking for a cheap place to stay close by to Universal Studios, and this is it. Its pretty beat up, but it did just fine for our 2 nights. We just needed the room to shower and sleep. If your looking for a cheap place to just crash at night, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 11, 2007

Hairs on my pillow

Although the room was large, with a table and desk, and there was a big dressing area with full mirror separated from the bathroom, the bed had a huge dip in the middle, was very uncomfortable, and there were long black hairs on my pillow. I made a ball out of clothes and put my head on that instead. In retrospect, I would've gladly spent $30 - $50 more and had a much cleaner, more comfortable, friendlier experience. Make sure you take everything with you when you leave! This hotel has no lost and found. They throw everything away when they clean your room, so don't leave anything important behind like I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a Domino's pizza 2 blocks down.

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 21, 2007

Nothing special

The Hollywood Inn Express North was just a generic, nothing special hotel. There was next to no parking, The bed spread had what appeared to be a blood stain on it, and the fridge was faulty. the pool looked decent, and it was in a little Thai district so there was plenty of Thai food around. It was in a decent location as far as sites go but again, It was Nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It is on Hollywood Blvd and one street up from Sunset blvd. a short trip off of the freeway.

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hardrockmom
Business
bakersfield, ca
Jan 20, 2010

Average

I was only there one night so it was good for the stay we had. Liked that there was a fridge did not like that there was not a working ice machine plenty of places to visit in walking distance. When I went to check out that was when I discovered that there had been coffee n pastries otherwise I had no knowledge. Found a hair on the towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Mar 16, 2011

Weirdness at the Inn

I was in LA for a couple of interviews on a shoestring budget. You get what you pay for: shady characters and college-aged 20 somethings lurking around. The owner was not very friendly and spoke to me behind double-paned glass, the rooms lacked decent sound proofing from Hollywood Blvd. and private conversations, and my toilet ran for hours after flushing. On a positive note, great room service and friendly staff as well as a courtyard pool, jumpable from the terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to Sunset and Hollywood Blvd.'s, Beverly Hills, and South Central.

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jose Alfredo
Business
Merced, CA
Mar 8, 2008

No comment

The hotel parking space very small, we had to park on the street. The continental breakfast not good. Donuts, coffe and orange juice. Bed covers too old. Bathroom walls moldy. Very unpleasent odor in rooms. Lobby staff didn't know how to give directions to restaurants, they said they had no idea. This was a very upleaseant stay in this hotel specially because we had small kids traveling with us and as parents we want the best accomodations for our families when you go on vacation. 15 minutes away from this hotel we found a better hotel for $20.00 more and it was great. I would never recommned this hotel to any one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Geo of SSF
Business
South San Francisco, CA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

You get what you pay for

Good location but very cheap, good thing we used it only to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
linchi
Business
san jose, ca
Jul 9, 2012

worst experience ever!!!!!!!!

There was a towels, a chair, cookies (oreo cookies) from previous guest. We slept on top of the cover, did bother to get in the sheet. It was dirty we did bother to take a shower there never again. Bad location..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 17, 2007

Smoked

The office was creapy, but the exterior of the hotel looked OK and it was late at night (due to a diverted flight), so we decided to take the room. When we walked into the room the smell of smoke was incredible! We turned the air conditioner fan on high, hoping fresh air would help. About 2 hours later we both had head-aches and decided to see if we could find a hotel with a non-smoking room. The next morning we returned to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CalifroniaDreams
Business
Utah
Apr 12, 2011

Not good

Internet never work in my room/ Sometimes we got just hot water or cold water but we never were able to mix it to get the appropriate temperature. I will never stay there again -- No heater at room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top