Hollywood Inn Express North

2 stars
View map of 5131 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90027

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Inn Express North

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.7
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Ogden, UT
Mar 18, 2011

What you might expect

The hotel was alright. There was nothing great about it yet there was nothing terrible either. The Hotel staff was average nothing special. Cleanliness was average. There was no remote in the room we stayed in. There was some damage on the inside of the hotel room a big dent in the main door. The bathroom door didn't latch shut. But for the price thats about what you should expect. The hotel is not in the best part of town, It is not dangerous at all, just not the best part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CNBaby
Single
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 23, 2011

Horrible experience

Despite their efforts to maintain a clean environment, the establishment could use a complete overhaul. The rug in my room was filthy and needs replacing. The TV's remote control was inoperable. The floorboards were weak and creaky. And, there was no hot water my entire long weekend there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte NC
Jan 28, 2011

Horrible

This is "Hollywood" Inn Express, not "Holiday" Inn Express. When I arrived, my heart sank. It was late, little time to find another room. Through [...], I had paid for three nights. The room was superficially clean, except for dark stain on the carpet near the door. The sheets were clean, and there is nothing else positive. The operator attempted to assure me, this was a 'family' place. It was not. There were voices into the night calling out rooms. Twice someone knocked on my door. There was not chain lock. The air conditioner blew the curtains open. The smoke-free room was not smoke free. In the morning, two prostitutes were at my door, attempting to wake up, their boss, in the room next to mine. He was so stoned he could not respond. Probably one of the worst hotel experiences of my life, right next to a Nairobi, Africa experience. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
o1 naif
Friends
san antonio
Dec 28, 2010

the bad

the hotel was bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Hammond, IN
Dec 24, 2010

Nightmare inn

Nightmare inn!!! The floor is very dirty, room is very small. A lot of noise at night. The staff is not professional, they could not find my reservation when I checked in. When I call the front desk, they kept me waiting for 5min and told me they only had 3 staff and they were busy!! I'd rather prefer days inn or motel 6. At least they are clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Canoga park
Dec 1, 2010

Nice everything pretty nearby

The hotel is pretty nice from the outside. The room was kept real clean, nice big king size bed is what I liked the most. The attendant at the check in desk was very courteous. Defenetly will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
cathedral city ca
Nov 10, 2010

good location

needs some work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
broke dad
Family
Queen Creek
Jun 22, 2010

Great location and clean rooms

The staff was great, rooms were extremely clean and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jimfromiowa
Family
Jefferson, IA
Jun 21, 2010

Good value, good location

Other reviews for this hotel were really scary and I was a little worried since I read the reviews after I booked the room. On the positive side, the room was bigger than average, everything worked, the pool was clean, free off-street parking, free breakfast, close to highway and tourist sites (we did the walk of fame and saw Sting at the Hollywood Bowl). Downside: the room was a little shabby, the hot and cold were reversed in the sink, the pool was cold, parking was tight, breakfast was cheap donuts and orange drink. Most importantly, there was a modern lock on the door, the sheets were clean, and the beds were comfortable. We (my three daughters and I) stayed two nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This is Thaitown, so enjoy all the Thai food!

Review of Hollywood Inn Express North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Jose, CA
Jun 20, 2010

Terrible place

This hotel is like in the middle of a bad neighborhood with prostitutes, etc. The building nearby had a sign saying it was closed down due to drug bust. There was all sorts of noises, screams at nighttime. We didn't get much sleep because of the street noise and also the air-con was so noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top