$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
350 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (350)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 350
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danamo
Business
mesa az
Sep 8, 2014

Hollywood

freindly staff, secure parking at 25 a day, close to sunset strip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaniLuxa
Business
Boulder CO
Mar 23, 2014

Great location

Perfect place to stay if you want to be close to Los Felix, Silver Lake, or Echo Park. Very nice breakfast, great pool, and comfortable rooms. My room had a small balcony that faced an open patio area with fountain -- charming! I come to LA often, and I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JT4Min
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2014

Decent economy choice

If you get a room rate under $100, this is a decent value. Rooms are small but nice. If you think this hotel is in "Hollywood" think again. It's a good 4-5 miles east of the Walk of Fame area and is not in a very nice neighborhood. Parking is $20 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cspencer Styles
Business
Marina Del Rey
Nov 18, 2013

Misleading

I was really mislead about where i was staying based off the website. I even attempted to leave when i got there but since i prepurchased i was obgliated to stay with no refund. The website said that there was a heated pool, steam room sauna, hot tub and non of those were available. My intent was to reach out to the company the next morning but I was sick all weekend and just stayed in the bed. I am hoping that I can get a credit for another room or some type of compensation for my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Grumpy
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Meh.

The hotel was near where I had to be, but not really in a location that most tourists would choose. It was clean enough, but I didn't like the dim hall lights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M.J.V.
Business
* * * * * * *
Apr 9, 2013

Unwelcome to the Hotel California

Actually, the hotel is called "Hollywood Hotel" and I would NOT recommend it to any one. Why? >>> - <<< 1. Bad location. I would not stay at this hotel again. 2. I was made to pay for parking. When booking the room, there was no indication that parking must be paid for. ($22.00 per night) 3. Breakfast was, at most, fair. You were asked for your room number to receive a single small omelet and/or waffles. Breads were either stale and/or editable. Coffee? The coffee was horrible, no cream and or half-and-half. 4. The front desk staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. (However, the maids were great) 5. Automobile street noise was excessive - including police & rescue sirens every night. 6. Computer WiFi ? ? ? The signal is so weak that it is not an effective amenities. 7. The front desk (lobby) computer is better but you are NOT able to print boarding passes, etc. 8. This hotel is NOT in North Hollywood as directed in my computer search. (My recommendation is find your next hotel by zip code only. 9. This hotel is, at most, worth $50.00 to $75.00 per night. 10. All of these things combined amounted to a less than comfortable stay at the "Unwelcome to the Hotel California" (Hollywood Hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Before booking your hotel, make sure you are in the zip code you want to be in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leonia
Business
Glendale, California
Feb 11, 2013

ok

I paid average $$ for a queen bed room + $20 parking fee per a day. If I need to pay $$$, I would not choose. Location is good. but, bathroom walls were dirty with lots of black mold spots and mattress springs made creaking sound. Shared balcony with next rooms seems little weird. My room was in a corner so I can see a next room when its curtain was open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jstuck
Business
Fort Worth, TX, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Nice Hotel in slightly rough neighborhood

I don't ever travel, so it's hard for me to compare my hotel with others, but I'll try. This hotel is really pretty nice in spite of the neighborhood it's in. I arrived to a real shock when I was informed they charge $20 per day (after taxes) for parking, but you need to have it due to the slightly rough neighborhood. As the desk clerk put it, "you can park on the street, but I wouldn't". And he's right ! I got a really good deal on a rental car from FOX rental, so I didn't mind paying this added fee. The location is pretty good - near Universal Studios, Kodak Theater, Jimmy Kimmel Live, Sunset & Vine, Hollywood Blvd, Griffith Observatory, Burbank, Studio City, etc. Clean rooms (and Hotel) with a nice breakfast. I'd recommend it to friends, but warn them about the parking situation and to not wander after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Bombastic
Business
Seattle
Nov 13, 2011

A decent place to stay

I was traveling to LA for the USC-UW game and spent Thursday and Friday night (Nov. 10-11) at this hotel. The check-in was smooth and there were no problems with my reservation. The woman at the front desk was friendly and helpful. My room was 103, just off the entry lobby. This was a convenient location for coming and going, and also to take the elevator down to the complimentary breakfast each morning. It was somewhat noisy, as I could easily hear louder voices in the lobby (partly because of the tile floor in the lobby and hallway), but it quieted down at night, so it was never a nuisance. The surrounding neighborhood is not the greatest, but the hotel is on a main thoroughfare and there are plenty of people out and about, so I walked around both days- including at night - and never feared for my personal safety. There is a Metro station just a couple blocks down Vermont, which is handy. There is also a huge neighborhood flea market on weekends (which appeared to be 100% Latino; having a little Spanish-speaking ability comes in handy), just a couple blocks south of the Metro station. The complimentary breakfast at the hotel was excellent. The people serving you are very friendly and attentive. The maid stafff was also very accommodating. The room itself was clean and comfortable. It's a 3-star type hotel; it's older and shows its age here and there (VERY slow elevator, among other things). The guy who checked me out in the morning was not friendly at all, but he was the only person on the hotel staff I dealt with who was not. Overall a good value for the price I paid ($96 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Paul's is one of the best little local finds you could encounter anywhere. It's run by a real "mom & pop" (Paul is the "pop") who have been operating it for 46 years. The food is delicious (fresh ingredients), the pizza is thin crust (unless you ask for it differently) and made to perfection. They have more than just pizza, too. Excellent pasta dishes, sandwiches, and more. Go south from the hotel down Vermont past LA City College to Melrose Ave., turn right (west) and go 2-1/2 blocks and Pizza Paul's is on your left. You'll be glad you did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
no nickname thanks.
Business
Portland, OR
Jan 14, 2011

Hollywood Hotel has no wifi

The hotel was clean, quiet, comfortable and centrally located. The price was right and the linens were nice, cotton duvets and not shiny polyester bedspreads. The wifi was very very slow however, practically useless for anything other than checking email and not even very good at that. Technical support was no help either. I would probably recommend, but with the caveat that you will get no business done while there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top