$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
403 reviews
Great Birthday Trip

Beautiful family friendly hotel. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Great amenities and very... See full review

  • New York Mama
  • Apr 6, 2015
vacation

great room not far far from Sunset and real easy to get Freeways. See full review

  • michael p.
  • Mar 17, 2015
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Universal Studios: 4.9 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 403
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.8

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed LA traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2009

Ramada Hollywood is all talk

When we booked the Ramada online, it sounded as if you could see the Hollywood sign from the hotel, which you absolutely cannot. When being dropped off by a cab driver from downtown Hollywood Blvd, the driver asked, "Why are you staying here?" He also told us not to walk outside at night where our hotel was located. The location is terrible. It is in the ghetto and there is a lot of gang violence and prostitution going on in that neighborhood according to many people we talked to. The service was terrible - they forgot to clean our room two days in a row and then did not comp us at all for forgetting. The parking fee is outrageous at sixteen dollars a night to park your car. The single queen bedroom is so small that when you open the bathroom door, you pull the curtains to the side. The only thing good about this place is that it was a place to stay during the night. I do not recommend anyone to stay here. Stay somewhere nice, like in Pasadena. Do your research, because we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2008

Noisy and Rude

We had a very small room that was right near the lobby. Our room was right on top of the bar, which was extremely noisy and had the band playing (on a Sunday night) the whole night. We complained and they told us that the music would stop playing in 30 minutes every time we complained. Went to talk to the bar manager, who was being an very rude and snobby. After hours of complaining, they gave us a new room. The free breakfast is disgusting. I would never go back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Docajb
Business
Palm Harbor, Fl
Dec 21, 2010

Bad Bad Bad

All rooms are supposed to be non smoking, but the smell of the room is terrible. The area is not so safe unfortunately. Small breakfast buffet but it's alright. Parking is NOT FREE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Pasadena old city and Americana plaza in Glendale are both a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Female Exec
Business
New York
Aug 29, 2009

Staff is cold. Breakfastroom is creepy.

Checking in late, and the desk clerk asked me if I'd like someone to park my car and take my bags upstairs. In each case, I responded yes. He laughed delightedly and told me that there wasn't anyone to help me. This was an unseemly "joke." Next day I asked for a room transfer. Room was suffocatingly small. The unfriendly desk mgr. escorted me to a room on the same very large floor - one whole block, but said I would have to wait until later. I packed my bags, and took them to the new room. The maid let me in, as she saw me earlier, while speaking Spanish loudly with the young female desk mgr. Actually, the maid was very friendly, as she was delighted to be able to communicate in Spanish. (I gathered that none of them spoke English.) Hot and tired, with 90 degree weather in L.AI went back down to the desk to get a room key. The young female mgr. sternly stated that she would "prefer" I go back upstairs to get the bags and bring them downstairs. I said it was ridiculous since the bags were already in the room! Checking out the next day, I first took all bags to the car and returned the key to the front desk. I had called down earlier to tell them to print out the bill, but they had not done so. Another young female deskclerk demanded my credit card again. After some argument (making me late for my meeting), I said to use the one they already stamped when I came in. Someone needs to rethink the policies of this hotel and hire nicer, friendlier staff who who do not bark orders to guests. The young man on desk duty the evening of 8/27/09 was the only friendly person who had the cordial tone that you expect from hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, Georgia
Sep 30, 2009

Bad

I checked out of the hotel early as I was suppose to stay for two weeks. The location is not that close to anything. The room was dirty. I found hair that didn't belong to me in the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 24, 2008

Hollywood Hotel NO GO!

The Ramada Hollywood Near Universal is a no go. First of all it does not live up to Ramada standards in any way. Our room was filthy at check in. Dust everywhere, holes in the carpet and a thick gray layer of consolidated dust on the baseboards in the bathroom. The shower head was filthy, covered in gray and reddish what I assume was mold. I know cleaning staffs have very little time to clean rooms but this was ridiculous. The towels were stained and several had holes in them. The balcony was connected to the room next doors balcony and our security separator was a piece of wooden lattice. The cleaning staff did not vacuum once during our five day stay! It seemed to me they just took the towels and put new ones, adjusted the bedcovers and left. I know I have high standards but I really felt unsafe and unclean. The man at the drug store down the street told my husband he better be careful out there. This is really sad because geographically this hotel could not have been more perfect for our travel plans. I know it seems like a deal but trust me you get what you pay for and that is NO DEAL!!!! Oh I almost forgot, our room had no closet/coat rack just a tiny little armoire with space for the ironing board. There really were no restaurants within walking distance and the kicker they don't tell you until you check in is that you can have animals at this hotel AND they charge $15 a day to park. The parking lot is NOT SECURE. There is an attendant during the day but at night NOBODY was there. Ridiculous. This place should not be a Ramada for long. AVOID!!!!!! Oh I almost forgot this hotel is also under construction and the heating/cooling system is a joke! There was a space heater and a fan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed LA traveller
Business
Portland, OR
Jun 14, 2009

Ramada Hollywood is all talk

When we booked the Ramada online, it sounded as if you could see the Hollywood sign from the hotel, which you absolutely cannot. When being dropped off by a cab driver from downtown Hollywood Blvd, the driver asked, "Why are you staying here?" He also told us not to walk outside at night where our hotel was located. The location is terrible. It is in the ghetto and there is a lot of gang violence and prostitution going on in that neighborhood according to many people we talked to. The service was terrible - they forgot to clean our room two days in a row and then did not comp us at all for forgetting. The parking fee is outrageous at sixteen dollars a night to park your car. The single queen bedroom is so small that when you open the bathroom door, you pull the curtains to the side. The only thing good about this place is that it was a place to stay during the night. I do not recommend anyone to stay here. Stay somewhere nice, like in Pasadena. Do your research, because we didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 27, 2010

Affordable, really?

This hotel does not state in advance that they charge $16.00 to park your rental car. The phone charges are at a rate of operated assisted, not just to dial out. I feel that this is hidden charges that should be stated up front. It is not a $63 room, but a $79 room, as you can not get around LA without a car. The spaces were tiny and did not allow for the car door to open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RogerC
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Very tired hotel. NOT 3 star.

I have stayed here a few times in the past, under different management. Unfortunately the new ownership hasn't invested a dime in this place; it is still 30 to 40 year old room decor and baths. Even in a "junior suite" there wasn't even a desk located where the internet jack was, so to do any computer work you have to sit on the floor. Totally NOT a 3-star property. If this hotel was $89, then you'd get what you paid for. Very much NOT worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Warrioress
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Feb 14, 2013

Not for business

Made a last minute reservation in a hurry and to my fault, didn't do homework on the location. Arriving late at night, neighborhood scared me. There is locked parking area which lets into back door of hotel so that is safe. Didn't work well for a business traveler, not comfortable. The tile floor (no carpet in room) made me think of a beach condo, not an LA hotel. Problems with internet service that were ultimately solved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top