$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
403 out of 403
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parma Hts
May 25, 2008

Clean Hotel in a horrible neighborhood

This hotel was very clean and nice but was located in a horrible neighborhood. Stay in West Hollywood or by the beach save yourself the headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Comedy Club downstairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cathyb615
Business
charlotte nc
Sep 15, 2014

HEART BREAK HOTEL

Nothing was like the above picture posted on line. the location is no where near universal studios it is the 5th stop on the red line. When reading what the hotel has to offer it seemed like the hotel was closed to everything, the only thing it was near was liquor stores chinese take out, laundry mats. We took a cab to some places which cost 10 - 20 dollars one way. The hotel also claimed they have a comedy show every night with comedians that have been on national shows not the case these people are just starting out, they even forgot their material. The room was ok the bathroom shower was very old, we did not want our room cleaned by the cleaning people we left a sign out side but they came inside anyway. We rented a car for one day, we were told there is a parking fee of $24.00 per day even though we were staying at the hotel and we rented the car from inside the hotel. I would not ever stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone going to california.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is not near any attractions public transportation has to be used to go everywhere or a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marc412
Business
Pittsburgh
Feb 11, 2015

Los Angeles 25th Birthday Trip

I complained to the hotel staff the that room was too cold at night and she told me not to turn on the heat because my room temperature was based on the building. The next morning and evening I complained again and a guy told me he would provide me with one in a few moments. After I haven't received one the next morning, I complained again and a lady finally provided me with one within minutes. If you need to use your laptop there (I have MacBook), their wifi is really, really, really, really, really slow. Their paid parking system is a bit annoying. Please beware, they will charge you for using the room phone!!! They do have a pool and a sauna which I did not have time to check out. But they do have a little, nice workout room and pretty good breakfast. I would stay here again if it is in the summer time and I do not have to use my laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CONCERNED CUSTOMER
Business
RAMADA HOLLYWOOD
Feb 22, 2010

THE UNFORGETABLE EXPERIENCE

Every morning I wake up very upset, the toilet bowl was wiggling when you sit, the room was hot we even request for electric fan but according to the staff they dont have, no A/C only heater was working so, we sleep naked and no blanket at all but still uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 27, 2010

Affordable, really?

This hotel does not state in advance that they charge $16.00 to park your rental car. The phone charges are at a rate of operated assisted, not just to dial out. I feel that this is hidden charges that should be stated up front. It is not a $63 room, but a $79 room, as you can not get around LA without a car. The spaces were tiny and did not allow for the car door to open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Feb 17, 2010

Juat ok

The room was just okay. Very small. Not dirty but not the cleanest. Staff was OK. BREAKFAST WAS REALLY GOOD FOR COMPLIMENTARY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 10, 2010

Disappointed

It was noisy. The room was small. The staff was not friendly. Staf was either not knowledgeable or could not be bothered. No resturant for lunch & dinner. Given the location, I did not feel safe going out after dark. Having room service or a resturant would be nice. There were ants in the bathroom. You need to look at the Guest Notebook and read what one of your employees has written about working there. I would not go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NJ Fireman
Business
Hamilton, NJ
Jan 31, 2010

Rude staff great room other then no AC

The staff was very rude and short upon checking. The room was beautiful, update and very clean. When asking a question instead of taking the time to answer it for me the staff member turned a sign my way and pointed at it acting as if it was to hard to answer. Other then the rude staff and lack of attention to details such as paying 16$ a day for parking on the premises I enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Great places to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JT4Min
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2014

Decent economy choice

If you get a room rate under $100, this is a decent value. Rooms are small but nice. If you think this hotel is in "Hollywood" think again. It's a good 4-5 miles east of the Walk of Fame area and is not in a very nice neighborhood. Parking is $20 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NeshaBoo
Business
fresno,ca
Mar 5, 2014

my hollywood hotel experiences

My overall stay was nice, my only problem was one of the guys at the front. Desk was absolutely rude for no apparent reason at all... but the rooms are nice i love the patio the beds are a little. Small but pther than that its a comfortable low key. Spot with private. Parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Its a place near by called "The kitchen" great food another little hide out in expensive comfortable delicious wine options and great customer service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top