$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
351 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
Stylish comfort close to key sights and trendy Hollywood action

Relaxing room amenities and state-of-the-art facilities give this Hollywood hotel its reputation for quality, comfort and convenience. Located in the heart of Los Angeles's dynamic east side, the hotel gives guests easy access to many of the city's best attractions as well as to trendy Hollywood shopping and dining options.

Highlights
  • Central Hollywood location near prime shopping and dining
  • Creature comforts such as Moen Revolution Massaging and Sealy Posturepedic plush beds in each room
  • Nearby premium attractions such as Universal Studios Park, Griffith Park and Grauman's Chinese Theater
Location

The nearby Metro Red Line stations offer rapid access to Hollywood, Miracle Mile, downtown and Burbank/Universal Studios Park. Griffith Park is also minutes away by car or Metro bus. For guests who prefer to drive, the 101 and 5 freeways afford connections to all points in the city and beyond.

Rooms

Tasteful mahogany or cherry furnishings adorn the hotel's 121 deluxe guest rooms, including six suites. Standard rooms offer one or two queen beds, while suites each come with a king bed. All guests enjoy Sealy Posturepedic plush beds, Moen Revolution showerheads and Poggesi bath amenities. Services include free Internet, Wi-Fi and satellite TV, as well as on-demand movies and Web TV (fees apply). Dogs and cats under 50 pounds are permitted for a fee.

Features

Elegant European decor with classic Hollywood accents adorn this AAA Three Diamond Award Winner. The hotel's 1160 Bar & Lounge evokes memories of vintage Hollywood. Chic yet casual Italian dining is what you'll find at Valentino's (the restaurant is currently open only for breakfast while undergoing renovation; call hotel in advance for updates).

Re-charge with the fitness center's Nautilus and Quantum equipment before unwinding at the heated outdoor pool and sundeck (open year-round).

Ample gated parking is also available for all size vehicles (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Metro Red Line Stations (2-4 blocks)
  • Los Angeles International Airport (21.5 miles)
  • Bob Hope Airport (10 miles)
Attractions
  • Universal Studios Hollywood Theme Park & Universal City Walk (4.6 mi/7.5 km)
  • Griffith Park & Observatory (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Mann's Chinese Theater and Hollywood Walk of Fame (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Rodeo Drive/Beverly Hills (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • 30 business-class guest rooms with added services, including free desktops and laptops
  • Five event rooms
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Mar 15, 2010

average at best

The rooms were outdated and poorly arranged. They said they were pet friendly, it's just that you can't leave your pet in the room if you're not there....which is not logical when going out to dinner or a show. The halls of the hotel were incessantly noisy too. Parking was an outrageous $16 per day to park in their small surface lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Parma Hts
May 25, 2008

Clean Hotel in a horrible neighborhood

This hotel was very clean and nice but was located in a horrible neighborhood. Stay in West Hollywood or by the beach save yourself the headache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Comedy Club downstairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arizona
Oct 8, 2009

?

I believe when you make a reservetion thru an agency, they treat you diffently, and they give you the worst room available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PAKOGERTE
Business
MEXICO
Apr 11, 2010

Ramada Holywood

IS AN OLD HOTEL BAD ELEVATORS BAD BREAKFAST

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. Hollywood
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 13, 2009

Ramada Hollywood

This hotel is NOT real close to Universal. One of the receptionists was smug and rude. The rest were good. Falsely advertised free HBO on your website. Nice pool. Decent workout room. Not the best location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of restaurants up and down Sunset and Hollywood Blvds. Not too much within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
one night guest
Business
san diego, ca
Sep 14, 2009

Nothing great to Say

Nothing was great about our stay. The location isn't near Universal which is part of this Ramada's name. We did not get the room we paid for. The rooms are small and the amenities are dated. The pillows are not comfy. There were ants. We were there for one night and the house keeping staff woke us by walking in without even so much as a knock. I would have expected them to wait to clean our room after check out, so this shows me it's not managed well. The food was not very good, except the waffles. And I would expect free parking for guests, if I knew I'd have to pay for parking I wouldn't have chosen this hotel because for the money it's not worth it with parking. And they explain it's clearly stated on the orbitz website in the smallest fine print ever that they charge for parking. Overall I would give this place 2 stars instead of 3.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 30, 2009

A very mixed picture here

This review system requires that I say I would or would not recommend this Ramada. So I said yes, but the best answer is ... maybe. Here's why: The neighborhood's really blah. For an out-of-the-way Ramada, parking's kind of high: $15 a night. The room (a junior suite) was plenty spacious, although could have been cleaner (it saw only occasional vacuuming). Limited air flow control in the room. Balconies on the inside plaza aren't private, believe it or not (they're shared), which raises security concerns if you leave your door open to increase the air flow. The breakfast buffet is limited: no omelets or pancakes or hot cereal. Instead: waffles or cold cereal and bread or canned peaches and pears or a strange egg-like thing. The staff was nice enough. International clientele, which is kind of interesting. Not sure if we'd go back; it's definitely cheaper than its (nicer) competition. You pay for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrance, ca
Nov 1, 2010

Not so great of a stay

The hotel charges $18 just to park in the parking lot, which i didnt know that until i got there. When i first waked in my room the lights didnt work, finally i got one lamp to turn on. The bed was as hard as a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield CT
Jul 23, 2009

Dissapointing

The location was great as was the pool but I resented the $16.50/day parking fee and $10/day internet access fee. I don't like being nickle and dimed. At breakfast I reached for fruit and it was plastic. Canned peaches and pears in California right in the middle of the peach season! Inexcusable. Breakfast choices (inedible eggs and sausage, Wonder bread and fruit loops) were the same every day. The Coffee tasted like dishwater. Only the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shar bear
Business
Seattle, wa
Mar 24, 2011

A ridiculous experience

A group of friends and I stayed here during the Pac-10 tournament. It was semi-close to Staples Center. It was in an okay location with a couple of bars, restaurants, and grocery stores around. However, it is 40 minutes away from the airport. So if you are not willing to pay $80 for a cab ride, find other transportation. The staff was non-informative from check-in to check-out. The lady at the desk took our money and gave us our keys. She did not inform us about the pool hours, sauna, fitness center, or breakfast. Nothing. Our hotel keys took at least 10 swipes to enter in our room, so we had to get new keys. And the same lady gave a big stink about it. The wi-fi. . . forget it, don't expect to connect and stay on for very long. Not great tv channels (maybe 30 channels) with a bad, fuzzy picture (even on a flatscreen tv). Overall, customer service was horrible. However, the room was clean enough and the free, continental breakfast was a plus. Also, the room had a fridge and a microwave. If this hotel wasn't clean, I would want my money back and find another hotel. So if you are looking for great customer service, this hotel is not the place for you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Affordable, you get what you pay for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top