$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
565 reviews
Perfect for us!

We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Nice amenities for the price. Good location. See full review

  • Couple seeking cheap room
  • Mar 13, 2014
Great Value

Me and my wife visited LA in starting of December 2013. I was scared about the hotels in LA, but... See full review

  • Shivam
  • Dec 24, 2013
THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS provides affordable luxury in the heart of Hollywood. This 100% NONSMOKING hotel is near all major Los Angeles attractions and Hollywood studios and clubs. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOTEL of HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS multi-lingual staff serves a varied and colorful international clientele. Recipient of the prestigious Three Diamond AAA Award 1995-2008 from the American Automobile Association, this hotel has been recognized for demonstrating high levels of excellence in every area.

THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS centrally located with West Hollywood and Beverly Hills to the west, Burbank, Pasadena and Glendale to the northeast, Downtown Los Angeles to the south, and North Hollywood and Studio City to the north. THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS is on Vermont Ave between Santa Monica, and Sunset and Hollywood Boulevards. The hotel is just south of Los Feliz Village which boasts trendy restaurants, shops, and cinema, and is also just south of Griffith Park, Griffith Observatory and the Greek Theatre. Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Children's Hospital of Los Angeles, Hollywood Presbyterian Hospital, and Ronald McDonald House are all nearby. Church of Scientology and Self Realization Fellowship also have facilities near the hotel.

At THE HOLLYWOOD HOTEL-THE HOLLYWOOD near UNIVERSAL STUDIOS Studies all rooms feature a coffeemaker, free Wireless HSIA, microwave and refrigerator and the Sealy Posturepedic Plush Bed. Bathrooms are all equipped with the curved shower with Moen Revolution Showerhead, and Citrus Ginger Spa Amenities. In room safes are available in some rooms.

Our complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast is served daily from 6:30am - 10:30am in the Dining Room. Please note: The restaurant is closed for lunch and dinner. However, there are many fine restaurants within walking distance or short drive. 1160 Bar and Lounge open from 6:00pm - 11:00pm. Hours can vary for special events.

The sparkling New Pool Area with surrounding garden, is typically open year-round, however hours of operation or closures vary according to season, weather or maintenance. Please contact the hotel directly for updates on the pool area status.

39 channel Satellite TV, with Encore, CNN, FOX NEWS, Classic ESPN, CNBC and more. Hundreds of Pay Per View movies, music, WEB TV, HBO & Showtime series selections are available for a fee.

There is also 5000 square feet of Beautiful Banquet and Meeting space with A/V equipment and internet access. The central courtyard is adorned by a meditative atrium garden and fountain which is also available for wedding ceremonies. Concierge and Guideline Tours desk on Site, Fitness center with Nautilus Fitness Machines and Free Weights, Property Accepts Pets (Dogs and Cats only) under 50 pounds, Daily pet fee = $35.00 per day per pet, Pets must be leashed at all times in public spaces. Ample gated parking. Parking fee is $22.00 per day for guest cars; $29 per day for guest trucks and/or RV's and $59 per day for buses. Half a block from the Metro Redline Subway station. City buses stop at the corner in front of the hotel.

121 beautifully appointed guest rooms with one or two queen size beds, Six suites with King Size Beds, All beds are Sealy Posturepedic Plush, Coffeemaker in all rooms, All guest rooms are designated as Non Smoking, Smoking is permitted on guest room outdoor balconies, Wired and/or Wireless High Speed Internet access available in all Guest Rooms, WebTV is also available in Guest Rooms for a fee, Refrigerators and Microwaves in all rooms, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet for all guests, Hundreds of Hollywood latest movies available via the On Command Pay-per-view movie system, On Command also provides WebTV Music Workout Videos HBO and Showtime series and much more.

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with two queen beds, includes complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.
Standard Room
Guest room with one queen bed, includes complimentary Hot buffet breakfast. Free Wired and/or wireless Internet, On Command Pay Per View Movies, Music, WebTV, Games and much more. Coffee maker, Microwave, Refrigerator, Iron and Board, Hairdryer, Spa Amenities, Moen Revolution Massaging Showerhead.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

34.0931 -118.2913
Area served
Los Angeles, CA
Nearby airports
(LAX) Los Angeles International Airport (BUR) Burbank International Airport
Area description
Universal Studios, Grauman's Chinese Theater, Sunset Strip, Hollywood Bowl, Dodger Stadium, Farmer's Market, Barnsdall Art Park, Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Pantages Theatre, Los Angeles Convention Center, Universal Amphitheater, Getty Museum, Hollywood Walk of Fame, Downtown Los Angeles, Greek Theatre, Disneyland, Griffith Park, LA Museum of Contemporary Art, LA Music Center, Wiltern Theatre, UCLA, USC, Los Angeles Coliseum, Universal City Walk, Ford Theatre, Staples Center, Six Flags Magic Mountain, Kodak Theatre, House of Blues, Beverly Hills/Rodeo Drive, Hollywood Sign, Magic Castle, Paramount Pictures, Children's Hospital, Gene Autry Museum, Hollywood Entertainment Museum, Hollywood Wax Museum, Disney Studios, NBC Studios, Warner Bros. Studios, Egyptian Theater, El Captain Theater, Route 66, Our Lady of Angels Cathedral.

Nearby points of interest

  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Griffith Observatory: 1.8 mi
  • Monastery of the Angels: 2.1 mi
  • Holyland Exhibition: 2.1 mi
  • Amoeba Music: 2.2 mi
  • Koreatown: 2.5 mi
  • Hollywood Entertainment Museum: 2.8 mi
  • Kodak Theater: 2.9 mi
  • Graumans Chinese Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Magic Castle: 3 mi
  • Hollywood Bowl: 3 mi
  • Dodger Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Hollywood Sign: 3.3 mi
  • Music Center: 3.5 mi
  • Walt Disney Concert Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Convention Centre: 3.7 mi
  • Staples Center: 3.7 mi
  • Angels Flight Railway: 3.8 mi
  • Pershing Square: 3.8 mi
  • Los Angeles City Hall: 3.8 mi
  • Bradbury Building: 3.9 mi
  • Autry Museum Of Western Heritage: 3.9 mi
  • Museum of Neon Art: 4 mi
  • The Grove: 4 mi
  • Los Angeles Chinatown: 4.1 mi
  • Farmers Market: 4.2 mi
  • Page Museum at the La Brea Tar Pits: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese American National Museum: 4.3 mi
  • County Museum of Art: 4.3 mi
  • San Antonio Winery: 4.3 mi
  • Petersen Automotive Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Heritage Square Museum: 4.8 mi
  • Galen Center: 5 mi
  • Kitson: 5.5 mi
  • Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum: 5.5 mi
  • California Science Center: 5.5 mi
  • Simon Wiesenthal Center: 6.9 mi
  • Fowler Museum at UCLA: 8.7 mi
  • University of California: 8.7 mi
  • Westwood Memorial Park: 8.9 mi
  • Pauley Pavilion: 9 mi
  • UCLA: 9.4 mi
  • Ultrazone Laser Tag: 10 mi
  • J. Paul Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Center: 10.6 mi
  • Getty Villa: 16.1 mi

Dining

W.C. Field's Bar and 1160 Lounge
In a lounge straight out of Casablanca with wrought iron gates, the expansive, hand-carved marble bar sets a tone of relaxed elegance in the W.C. Field's Lounge. Guests and visitors make it a favorite haunt for cocktails before dinner, after-dinner aperitits and late-night nightcaps. The hospitality of our restaurant and lounge demonstrate our commitment to make each guest's stay a complete and perfect experience. Whether starting the day or winding down in the evening, guests enjoy impeccable service and delicious menu selections for breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (565)

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
565 out of 565
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston ,SC
Apr 22, 2009

Great location, great staff

The location was great, the staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was good, and I had a wonderful room the first two nights that I stayed there. I had to add a third night, and was moved to another room on the third floor. It was like night and day. The room was old and in need of repair. The A/C did not work and the noise on the street outside was deafening. I am not sure if the hotel is in the process of renovating rooms, but I would recommend that you ask for a renovated room when booking. All in all, this was an excellent hotel. The staff was very helpful and the overall experience was a good one. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel staff will help you with any attractions that you want to book and they will make arrangements for you to be picked up at the hotel. Very nice.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Nov 23, 2008

good value for money,

very clean, nice and cosy rooms, problems were fixed fast und good. Good location for Hollywood interested people. Bar too expensive for hotel category, breakfast variety was not too good, parking costs were kind of high. But overall hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rebelteacher
Newton, MS
Jun 10, 2010

Good price, GREAT stay

My family and I really liked this hotel and our stay there thanks to a very friendly staff, small but very clean rooms, and great extras. It is an older hotel that shows minor signs of wear, but it is SUPER clean. There were always members of the housekeeping staff working throughout the hotel. Our rooms were immaculately clean and we had the most comfortable beds. As I was getting into my room one day a member of the housekeeping staff, who was making some kind of final check for the day, stopped me in the hall and asked me if I was satisfied with the cleaning of my room. Wow! I've never had a member of a five-star hotel do that. Every desk clerk was super friendly, even the poor young man that had to check us in after 10 p.m. He had all the confirmation information together and got us through the check in process in less than 10 minutes, but we probably spent 20 minutes with my children chatting with him about their first trip to LA. Even the gift shop manager stayed AFTER the shop's closing time one day to help us map out a quick sightseeing trip. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best I've had. It offers a great variety of croissants, bagels, toast and fresh waffles as well as sausage, eggs and cereal. Also the breakfast space was large enough that, even at the busiest of times, my party of five could always find a place to sit together. While the pool was small I liked its gated privacy, babbling water fountain, and landscaping. It was a nice oasis in the concrete jungle surrounding it. I think the best compliment I can give the Hollywood Hotel is that I will definitely try to book there again on my next trip to LA. It's a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metro!!! It's one block from the hotel and will get you to all the sightseeing places quickly without the hassle of trying to park a car. Also, if you like to venture out on your own, you can walk to Santa Monica Blvd. and Melrose from the hotel but the staff can help you with all types and prices on tours.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hope, VA
Dec 27, 2009

ramada

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

universal studios

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
lodi,calif.
Apr 22, 2009

great place had a great time

we had a great time the gentleman that serves your happy hour was really a nice a guy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2007

Decent place to stay

The Ramada was quite comfortable and well located, although the room faced a busy street. No pool at this hotel but a small fitness room was well knept. Hotel staff were helpful making the stay worht the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Good jazz club (Catalina's) nearby.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJWAG
Bath, New York
Feb 25, 2013

Hollywood Hotel

We were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is within walking distance of so many attractions. The breakfast was GREAT!! Made to order omlets & waffles, fresh fruit, cold cereal and bakery items. The staff went out of their way to help with anything we needed. The only complaint I have is: The room was very hot & stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nezzii
Orange, NJ
May 28, 2013

First Trip to LA

The hotel was really nice and clean. The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the area where it was located. There was a homeless man who slept on the ground across the street from the hotel every night but that didn't bother me much unless I was going out on the small balcony. Nonetheless I did feel safe. And its relatively close to the metro and Hollywood Blvd. The staff is extremely nice and pleasant. The pool closed at 8pm which was kind of a downer but the free breakfast was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel refers you to a starline tour which was awesome! They pick you up from the hotel and bring you back after the 6 1/2 hour tour. Our tour guide was Bruce and he knows his stuff. The tour included the star's homes, hollywood sign, walk of fame, santa monica pier, venice & muscle beach, and downtown LA.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Feb 23, 2010

Good value but can be noisy

The good: friendly staff; free, hot breakfast; located one block away from the metro subway system; clean; gated parking; many good and cheap eats within walking distance. The not so good: parking costs $16.50/night; hotel is clean but can use updates. The bad: our room was facing Vermont Street, and was noisy because it is a busy street and a bus stop was right in front. Overall, it's a simple, clean and inexpensive place to stay. Just ask for a room that's not facing Vermont Street when you check in and you should be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to a subway station and take the train ($1.25) to all the Hollywood Blvd attractions and Universal City without worrying about parking.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tubeguy
Palo Alto
Mar 3, 2009

Good location, price.

We went to LA to see the Kodak Theatre and Graumanns, which is only a few miles away, but traffic means this is a half hours drive. Once you get there, there is really cheap parking, and a lot to see. The noise was the kids in the next room, which is a random event, but maybe more frequent at a bargain hotel... The parking was nice, a secure lot with an attendant, required in this somewhat diverse neighborhood. Breakfast very nice, good selection and quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Mann theatre and try the Johnny Rocket burgers nearby.

Back to menu Return to top