$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
404 out of 404
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amsterdam Holland
Nov 15, 2009

NOT room 102

To noice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
trickster559
Business
Visalia, CA
Mar 23, 2010

This hotel is HORRIBLE!

At check in the room we booked was not available and after arguing with the girl at the front desk she finally gave us a room with two beds. When we got to our room we the light switch didnt work so we had to fumble around in the dark until we found a lamp. We found trash from the previous guests in the drawers and along the bed. The spa & sauna were both out of order. We asked for our room not to be cleaned, picked up our towels from the front desk& left the do not disturb sign up when we left for the day. We returned to find our beds made, trash dumped, towels replaced & my husbands necklace & change missing from our room. We contacted the front desk & was told no manager was available until 7 am the following morning. At 8:30 we called the front desk again & were told no manager was available until 1pm, checkout is at 12. We waited for the manager & spoke with him at 3pm & were told basically that they enter all rooms to do a "visual inspection" regardless if you want them to or not & it was our fault we left valuables in the room. This was the worst stay I have ever had in my life & expected more from Ramada. I will NEVER stay in a Ramada hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Estanislao
Business
Denver, CO
Sep 10, 2007

Worst service we have ...

Worst service we have ever had in a long long time and we travel a lot. Housekeeping service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There's a nice nightclub called Vanguard like 5 minutes away driving.

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boris's mom
Business
Temecula
Feb 3, 2010

Dives, dopes, and desperation

We were there for a trip for surgery for my wife at Kaiser. It was far from ideal for the circumstances ..the handicap was not so handicap..the noise made rest difficult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aquarium is too expensive
Business
Coachella, CA
Oct 10, 2009

Horrible experience

I went here for my hollywood trip, they gave us a room. we walked in the bed cheats had stains and the carpet was real black very soiled, and the rug was loose, i could literally move it with my feet. i went to change rooms, they did, but never apologized for the inconvenience. staff was kinda rude, the second room was ok, but the area rug was still kinda dirty, i wasent to comfortable sleeping there. they charge 16.50 for parking!! way to much for a hotel like this. the only good thing was the free breakfast & free wifi. other than that, proly the worst hotel i have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

hollywood boulevard is real close

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted couple
Business
Ontario, OR
Feb 24, 2009

What a huge misrepresentation!

This place is totally misrepresented! The so-called internet access is slower than dial-up and part of the time was non-existent. The electronic door key didn't work part of the time. The bathroom has absolutely no counter space. And don't forget to factor in the $16.50 per night to park your car in the lot! The hallway carpets should have been replaced a decade ago. Someone is going to catch their toe on the open holes and end up with a lawsuit against this dump. The manager was a total jerk when there were problems. Frankly, I wouldn't stay there again unless it was the only place in all of Los Angeles!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find a hotel that doesn't charge an arm to park your car at night!

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Female Exec
Business
New York
Aug 29, 2009

Staff is cold. Breakfastroom is creepy.

Checking in late, and the desk clerk asked me if I'd like someone to park my car and take my bags upstairs. In each case, I responded yes. He laughed delightedly and told me that there wasn't anyone to help me. This was an unseemly "joke." Next day I asked for a room transfer. Room was suffocatingly small. The unfriendly desk mgr. escorted me to a room on the same very large floor - one whole block, but said I would have to wait until later. I packed my bags, and took them to the new room. The maid let me in, as she saw me earlier, while speaking Spanish loudly with the young female desk mgr. Actually, the maid was very friendly, as she was delighted to be able to communicate in Spanish. (I gathered that none of them spoke English.) Hot and tired, with 90 degree weather in L.AI went back down to the desk to get a room key. The young female mgr. sternly stated that she would "prefer" I go back upstairs to get the bags and bring them downstairs. I said it was ridiculous since the bags were already in the room! Checking out the next day, I first took all bags to the car and returned the key to the front desk. I had called down earlier to tell them to print out the bill, but they had not done so. Another young female deskclerk demanded my credit card again. After some argument (making me late for my meeting), I said to use the one they already stamped when I came in. Someone needs to rethink the policies of this hotel and hire nicer, friendlier staff who who do not bark orders to guests. The young man on desk duty the evening of 8/27/09 was the only friendly person who had the cordial tone that you expect from hotel staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AdamCali
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 2, 2009

Unfortunate experience

Two of us were staying at the Ramada Inn for the weekend. We checked in on Friday and the person at the front desk was extremely friendly and polite and displayed extremely great service. I would have given the place a five based on him but it got much worse. We arrived in the room and it was right on the main strip so our room was directly outside the main street and was very loud. In fact, it was so loud that I had trouble sleeping and I can sleep through most things. They offer complimentary breakfast from 7:00-10:30. We woke up around nine and headed down around ten. I had forgotten my wallet so I went back to the room to grab it and then my friend went ahead of me. I was not sure if the restaurant was downstairs or up so I asked the man at the front desk if the restaurant was downstairs. He was extremely rude and told me that I could not go downstairs and that they had cut the elevator off because they were no longer serving breakfast. It was 10:10 at this point. I told him my friend was down there and I needed to get downstairs. He kept telling me I could not go downstairs and the elevator woudl not take me. So I went ahead and got on the elevator and sure enough, it did work. I guess all the people from the upper level were going down too. After breakfast, I was so dissatisfied with the service that I went to complain and the man was so rude when I complained, I checked out early. No questions about my stay, was I satisfied. Nothing. I would search around if you are staying in town in the area, not worth the hassle of dealing with bad service on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

My Experience

The Hotel standard was awful, hence why I checked out after one night. The room was damp, old and in great need of some TLC. The fllor was soaking wet, a leak from somewhere.The name of the hotel does not match the location. I stay in hotels all the time as I am a flight attendant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, Georgia
Sep 30, 2009

Bad

I checked out of the hotel early as I was suppose to stay for two weeks. The location is not that close to anything. The room was dirty. I found hair that didn't belong to me in the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top