$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

3 stars
View map of 1160 North Vermont Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90029

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
402 out of 402
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2008

Noisy and Rude

We had a very small room that was right near the lobby. Our room was right on top of the bar, which was extremely noisy and had the band playing (on a Sunday night) the whole night. We complained and they told us that the music would stop playing in 30 minutes every time we complained. Went to talk to the bar manager, who was being an very rude and snobby. After hours of complaining, they gave us a new room. The free breakfast is disgusting. I would never go back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Docajb
Business
Palm Harbor, Fl
Dec 21, 2010

Bad Bad Bad

All rooms are supposed to be non smoking, but the smell of the room is terrible. The area is not so safe unfortunately. Small breakfast buffet but it's alright. Parking is NOT FREE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Pasadena old city and Americana plaza in Glendale are both a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 17, 2009

Horrible

Had to pay to park, pay to use the wifi. Cracks in the ceiling let in all the traffic noise on the busy street outside. Remote control didn't work. People fighting in the hall in the middle of the night. Uncomfortable bed and pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M.L.R.
Business
San Diego, Calif.
Oct 6, 2009

Cust Service & information not given.

Level 1 floor room was tile. 2 Qn bds, with only a small area rug between the beds. Cold on the feet. Parking $16.50 !! Not informed of the parking charge. Their "cab" referal OVER CHARGED us, dont take the business card on the counter. Hotel employee handed it to me. Bathtub did not drain (rm 130). Nice shower standing in 10" of dirty water. I informed the desk upon check out. The next guest will have a nicer stay. Ramada did not offer to soften my horrible stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Jan 26, 2010

change the title saying near universal

unfriendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore MD.
Mar 1, 2010

rude people

they charge me $16.45 for a movie i did not order And they charge $16.50 a day for parking it sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wenatchee, wash.
Jan 22, 2010

terrible trip

the rooms were very hot, could not adjust the tempature, asked for help twice, even asked for a fan. We finally had to sleep with the patio door open, which was not very wise in downtown LA. Also, light bulb by the bed was out, no one came to replace it. We could not use the pool, it was outside and not heated and there was not a jazzuci. Very unhappy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
set
Business
Michigan
Apr 22, 2009

Hotel is not near anything everything wa

The hotel staff were unfriendly and unapproachable the first day they didn't even clean our room I had to ask someone to come and clean it at 6:00pm the front desk girls did not know directions to the Kodak Theatre one of the main attractions she was rude and short with me this hotel is not near anything everything is at least a 10 minute drive or like us a 30.00 taxi ride the hotel was nicely decorated and clean but that is it.Breakfast was included we stayed at this hotel 4 nights and the food was exactly the same everyday

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PHoenix,Az
May 8, 2009

Blah to Hollywood

Well I did'nt like the hotel and would not recommend it to anyone. The rooms where small and the location was not good at all. The price for parking was outrageous $17 a night and the staff was very unfriendly. They have no internet available to guest and if u need it it cost extra and its not cheap. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are very out dated. The shower/bathtub is like a foot then the bathroom floor so when you get u are about 3-4 inches from the ceiling. The room had a sour odor to it and the remote control to the tv worked half the time. I would not stay there again or recommend the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If u are first ime visitor to LA/ Hollywood I would recommend a GPS becuz its a very confusing city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hollywood Hotel - The Hotel of Hollywood near Universal Studios

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester Hills, MI
Jul 25, 2009

Near is a relative term

The hotel discription states near Universal and the front desk said the hotel was the closest Ramada to universal. Our GPS said the hotel was 7.1 miles from universal. It's all relative: Chicago is near Detroit relative to L.A. The moon is near the eath relative to the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top